2016 Proton Perdana teased again ahead of launch

Proton_Perdana-3

The long-awaited 2016 Proton Perdana has been teased for a second time ahead of its launch – the unveiling should be happening soon, given that bookings are already open. The national carmaker has revealed just the front and rear corners of the car, but we can already see a number of changes from when we last saw the car at the media preview earlier in the year.

This is the first public outing of the production Perdana, and the first time it has appeared on this site undisguised. We are aware that leaked photos have circulated on the Internet, showing the entire car uncovered, but those were shot inside Proton’s own compound. We make it a point not to publish pictures that were leaked internally, as that would not be legal, strictly speaking.

Its appearance here at the Mines International Exhibition and Convention Centre (MIECC) is also the first time the public will be able to see several key design details of the flagship D-segment sedan, including as the xenon projector headlights with LED daytime running lights, as well as the L-shaped full-LED tail lights and tall rear spoiler on this 2.4 litre model.

Also visible here are the front splitter and rear diffuser, but these are now in full body colour, as opposed to the contrasting grey – like the Iriz 1.6 and Saga FLX SE – that was displayed on a pre-production model at the Alami Proton open day last year. This means that the fake integrated exhaust tips in the rear bumper are also painted in the same colour as the body – an odd choice indeed.

The new Perdana will retain the engines and gearbox from the car it’s based on, the previous-generation Honda Accord. These include the 154 hp/189 Nm R20A3 2.0 and 177 hp/222 Nm K24Z2 2.4 litre DOHC i-VTEC engines, both mated to a five-speed automatic transmission with paddle shifters.

Proton_Perdana-9

Measuring a massive 5,020 mm long, 1,845 mm wide and 1,475 mm tall, with a wheelbase of 2,800 mm, the Perdana is a lot longer that the 4,849 mm Accord, which was already quite a big car. To compare, the current Honda Accord is 4,870 mm long while the Toyota Camry is 4,850 mm long. The Mazda 6, which is visually the largest among Japanese D-segment sedans, is 4,865 mm long.

The list of kit that will be offered on the range topping 2.4L includes front and rear sensors, a touchscreen head unit with navigation (two colour screens in the Proton vs single monochrome screen in the Honda), dual-zone auto air-conditioning with rear vents and an eight-way power-adjustable driver’s seat.

AD: Drive the Proton model of your dreams. Submit your details and Proton PJ will get in touch with you.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• AI-generated Summary ✨

Comments on the blog post about the 2016 Proton Perdana mainly express frustration with the long teasing period and delays in launch, feeling the buildup has become tiresome and diminishing excitement. Many point out the design flaws, such as fake exhaust tips painted body color, overly busy rear diffuser, and plastic quality issues that have historically affected Proton models, raising concerns about long-term durability and perceived value. Some speculate the model is a rebadged Honda Accord based on spyshots and teasers, which has garnered mixed reactions—some appreciate the familiarity, others see it as a lack of innovation. Overall, sentiments range from anticipation and hope for a quality product to disappointment and skepticism over the delays and design choices.

• *yawn*

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 120 Thumb down 9
    • Sack designer on May 20, 2016 at 11:24 am

Sack the designer!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 24
      • Much better and detail than VW headlamps!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 63 Thumb down 20
        • Hassan Amir on May 20, 2016 at 1:19 pm

Tease so long already, people have become fed up. Anyway, good luck to those buying Perdana. The last Perdana had worst RV. Within 2 years, your Perdana becomes half the price.

Assuming this Perdana is RM120,000, after 2 years, to sell for even RM60,000 also will be a big task. That is when the Proton owner will start crying.

Then you are stuck. To sell but have to top up loan about RM20k or to keep the car. You keep also, 5 years later, the Perdana becomes RM20k. You wait more than 7 years, Perdana becoes Rm5000. Like sitting duck….you cry.

At least you buy your Honda Accord, Nissan Teana or Toyota Camry for RM140,000, 2 years later, still can sell for over RM100k.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 48
          • Got 2013 Camry sold for less than 100k, how?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 2
        • Same L00 on May 20, 2016 at 3:09 pm

Design is never Proton’s problem but the QUALITY CONTROL!!! That’s why ppl rather buy Axia rather than your “beautiful” Iriz.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 15
          • Cakapcoxk on May 20, 2016 at 3:37 pm

Your son also pakai saga, explain please Sam

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 6
          • 1.5l Vios FC loss ady to more frugal more powerful 1.6l Iriz

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 9
      • Jimmy on May 20, 2016 at 12:38 pm

When you see your beautiful wife repetitively everyday for three years, she becomes less and less beautiful, because you are so used to her face.
        Same thing happens if she is ugly.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 15
        • hahaha on May 20, 2016 at 1:21 pm

massive fail trying to copy apple in their product launch to gather excitement.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 10
          • damacai on May 20, 2016 at 4:07 pm

Ok what number will win tomorrow since you can see future

• brozax on May 20, 2016 at 2:07 pm

Hahah

• Alson P on May 20, 2016 at 2:25 pm

This is not about less beautiful of your wife.. It is about how many wives do you have.. Wakakaka..

Off topic

• Clever Plan by Proton on May 20, 2016 at 2:28 pm

this is a tactic, the longer they wait to launch, the more of the RM1.5 billion they can freely use. Then, they will go to the Government and say, we need another RM1.5 billion to launch the NEW Perdana.

Gomen will sure give another RM1.5 billion

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 29
          • Slander

• GT3 (Member) on May 20, 2016 at 6:27 pm

According to Proton PR, they are waiting when Najib is available to launch it, as he was busy before this for the Sarawak election.
            This is what happen when a car company need a PM to launch LOL.

• Andas on May 20, 2016 at 6:45 pm

Yes, they can freely use it to build 6.1b factory in china..

• nosushi on May 20, 2016 at 2:31 pm

Much better than Teana Camry and other hideuos jepunis cars

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 7
          • *Yawn* Proton supporters can only talk. When the car eventually fails in term of sales and quality offered, they’ll all shut their mouths and return to their caves.
            Say what ever you want about Japanese cars, their sales numbers is something Proton can only dream of.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 13
          • Movingcoffin on May 22, 2016 at 11:21 am

So Vios when got VSC? In year 4040?

• messi on May 20, 2016 at 2:21 pm

Enough tits! Show us the real thing pls

• baru nampak lampu dah suruh sack. kah!

• Ah Meng on May 26, 2016 at 8:05 am

Celaka proton! Dah booking lama dah.,. kereta tak launch lagi.. Baik aku booking Honda Accord, dah dapat dah kereta nya.. Celaka sekali lagi Proton! Lambat betul! Tu la berhutang dengan vendor! Vendor dah nak mampus korang kerjakan!

• Ah Beng ProtonFan on May 20, 2016 at 11:31 am

No taste Proton Perdana will win car of the year and even you will regret not buying one !!! Come I offer discounts more then RM5000 (shh don’t believe other salesman said no discount) all lies !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 27
    • Every1canTalk on May 20, 2016 at 11:59 am

Potong go go go…
      REEV on exora and saga prototype already on track since 2010.
      Full hybrid car in market end of 2014.
      Full EV car in market end of 2015.
      Way to go! lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 4
    • Albert on May 20, 2016 at 1:31 pm

Datuk Yawn,
      If u have a budget of over 100k to 13ok, would u choose a rebadge Hondana?
      The coming CIVIC is so much more tempting.From 120-150K,there are also so many choices from Sylphy,Teana,Camry to the also coming soon Accord.
      I think they cant launch,cos their QC is still suspect.
      The other day,I overheard a bank officer telling off a proton fanboy for asking tons of questions when his loan was rejected.
      You see,in these bad economic conditions,Proton fanboys cant get easy loans.Their days are numbered.I forsee this Hondana will be pushed to more gomen depts .Private car sales will be just a trickle.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 11
    • Same L0rr on May 20, 2016 at 3:00 pm

Proton fan, this model u can buy.. Honda engine & gear box.. No Camporn & CVT bising Punch Powertrain gearbox.. Sure good RV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 5
      • TGDI ftw

• Albert on May 20, 2016 at 5:44 pm

sAME lORR, WAH LIAO…..tOYOTA and UMW investing rm1.1 B to set up 50,000 unit capacity plant in Malaysia.
        How is your 5th Lexus? My friend,Senior Manager at Lexus called me and said it has not been delivered to your doorstep yet.
        Nothing to hide….sales every where downhill now.Wish u ,your sales will pick up soonest
        with Raya coming.
        Why is the Hondana delayed? Any insider info?
        I heard their QC still suspect.

• no nor on May 20, 2016 at 10:24 am

can someone just pull off the cover? sick of waiting.. hahahaa

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 75 Thumb down 2
    • autoblogind on May 20, 2016 at 2:34 pm

Becoz you just wanted to bash, not having faith interest

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
    • Ah Beng on May 20, 2016 at 3:03 pm

Oh no, Volkwagen influence lamp..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 10
    • Waiter on May 20, 2016 at 3:09 pm

My thoughts exactly. It’s been waaaaay too long. Plus it’s only a rebadge. Not sure what’s the hold up.. lol

• barrista on May 24, 2016 at 2:13 pm

it is not a rebadge . =,=
        the reabadge on is currently use by minister and government officer ..
        this is a new model that use accord’s platform aka chassis . . . .

• That fake exhaust though….

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 64 Thumb down 0
    • Agree, the ugliest rear diffuser ive ever seen, atlest make it black! The pervious one is much better(the first rear tease)

• civicx on May 20, 2016 at 10:32 am

omg..the exhaust lips………..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 0
  • Old Accord. Same recipe as Proton Wira

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 10
  • Them Proton…. doing the same thing over and over again and expect a different result.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 1
    • Myvi facelift reaches 100 times ady

• But myvi still selling after 100 times facelift. Proton apa ada? Still not launched after 100 times ‘spyshots’…. kang dah kena.

• TopsyBoXyTurvy on May 20, 2016 at 10:38 am

Tease and tease, tease, tease, tease… A rebadge car takes so long tolaunch, what an achievement.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 86 Thumb down 6
    • reeve on May 20, 2016 at 2:35 pm

Toyota also rebadges Mazda, so what?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 10
    • GT3 (Member) on May 20, 2016 at 6:28 pm

According to Proton PR, they are waiting when Najib is available to launch it, as he was busy before this for the Sarawak election.

• Ah Beng ProtonFan on May 20, 2016 at 10:40 am

So proud of Proton. Come order from me extra discount RM 2500. Proton the car of the year and Tun DrM promise totally different interior from Accord !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 13
  • Veneno on May 20, 2016 at 10:42 am

That fake exhaust really fail.. they should integrate the real exhaust tips into the bumper.. flagship sedan with fake exhaust tips, like WTF..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 5
    • loveyou on May 20, 2016 at 11:29 am

current c-class,e class oso got these fake tailpipes bro.its like a trend in auto industry nowadays

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 5
      • baron on May 20, 2016 at 12:00 pm

at least they design the tail pipe nice to look very real nit like this plastic looking rubbish proton came up with,

• Jonn Dol on May 20, 2016 at 12:14 pm

You can do fake exhaust, except that the ones on the New Perdana looks so awfully obviously fake. No effort at all to make it look like a real exhaust even from afar (unlike most of the other OEMs who practice similar design). At least paint it silver or black. Maybe some retrofit job is needed here..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
        • logic on May 20, 2016 at 2:37 pm

If it is fake why have to make it looks like real?

• Jonn Dol on May 20, 2016 at 4:35 pm

Current practice of fake exhaust outlets is to make it look like a real exhaust at the first glance,(e.g models Citroen DS5 ).

• Logic on May 20, 2016 at 8:12 pm

Later you find out it is fake you bash again. Sigh.

• Venenono on May 20, 2016 at 4:48 pm

The issue is the difficulty to include the exhaust tip to the bumper. The quality control to fix the exhaust after the bumper fitted will take time and qc to make sure no vibration or gap clearance. So the issue goes back to the designer. If they approved the design at least stick to it. Or redesign the bumper without the fake plastic exhaust tips. Inilah proton.

• This whole teasing thing since late last year is getting tiresome and irksome. I’m not a Proton basher as my very first car was a Saga megavalve and it served me very well. But this tease is really a bit too much and has taken the excitement out of the reveal and leaves a bad taste in the mouth.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 6
    • Wrong, there are many SPYSHOTS, but just few teases

• fanofthisite on May 20, 2016 at 8:17 pm

Not all public follows the news and teaser campaign nor ‘spyshots’ as perhaps some folks do. So I dont see how the awareness / teaser campaigns ‘kills us”. It isnt like the final product has been teased from day 1

• Proton Oh Proton on May 20, 2016 at 10:50 am

Proton enough sucks people money…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 9
  • Cannot stand on May 20, 2016 at 10:55 am

Tease again ?
    Adoi! Up then down, up then down…. bawah penat tau?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
  • Shut Up and just launch your countless times teased car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 4
    • GT3 (Member) on May 20, 2016 at 6:29 pm

• ProTongkat on May 20, 2016 at 11:01 am

With the power of tongkat, look no further, the most awaiting D segment in the market. Even 5er & E Class can’t even match with all new perdana. The Power of 1.5b Tongkat, impossible is nothing.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 7
    • Protongkat on May 21, 2016 at 6:36 am

Protektion in china caused Lotus to be exploted freely. Poor proton

• Stripe on May 20, 2016 at 11:02 am

Tease tease tease. It’s turning into a bad joke.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
  • Damn1212 on May 20, 2016 at 11:07 am

Perdana buka skirt

• The design for me just too messy

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 6
  • while the headlight looks OK. I believe I know where they got the headlight from. I saw the same on a Taiwanese company website. Also the rear bumper bottom section with fake decorations. It is so artificial and ugly. look at the pant and gaps. also the chrome garnish at the rear tail light… Is this what they call Luxury? RM150K for this???? DRB marketing is always wrong and they think Rakyat are stupid??? it is an old outdated Honda car so what is so special? this is all wrong and a total failure…people who buy actual Toyota Camry, Honda Accord, Mazda 6 and Kia K5 and rest know what they want… this is whay you get when you get a Fiber shop to do R&D for Proton….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 8
    • Chrome garnish, jaguar also got, fake deco at bottom bumper, sigh. You look around many luxury cars also got

• Proton is really desperate for attention now. They’re probably just stalling by giving all the teasers

• autodriver (Member) on May 20, 2016 at 11:12 am

Proton still thinking the tease will make impact to market. Please wake up and see how you make the teases for your preve, suprima s and iriz, these models turn out big disappointment and not well accepted by public. People has tired with your stupid advertisement and it makes no impact if it launched now or later. But keep teases will make negative impact, the fishing strategy is not working anymore. Anywhere it is honda engine and gearbox, should we take it as national car or imitate car? it is a joke man

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 5
  • john is otak batu on May 20, 2016 at 11:18 am

John & Kancil Hybrid, Whers’s the Potong using TGDi Engine????!!!

• Org dah kata 2018, ini tahun berape? Tu lah, dah kata pegi skolah belajar tak nak dengar. Skarang dah kata 2018, pun tak nak dengar.

• noread on May 20, 2016 at 2:57 pm

No this year, tarak baca ka?

• Tak ada cakap takda ler! Launch & tease lagi! Sudah lah.. fanboy continue mimpikan

• BOYRACER on May 20, 2016 at 11:20 am

I saw the car in the flesh.Actually it looks quite good.I cannot take photos because i may lose my job..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 9
  • Jeffrey Chew on May 20, 2016 at 11:26 am

Rear tail lights shape design not very though, but I seen they put a lot of efforts on the lamps setting, looks class, great job.

• gaviny on May 20, 2016 at 11:33 am

bloody full blown pics already out, different colors also revealed, tease what ?

anyways pricing 110k and 130k , good luck lah.

then spare parts follow honda pricing. LOLOL

• Perdana yawn on May 20, 2016 at 11:40 am

Seriously Proton, this Perdana teasing is doing more harm than good to Proton’s image itself. It makes people fed up and irked. They might as well don’t bring this thing to Mines this coming weekend.

Yawn ~

• gonggok on May 20, 2016 at 11:41 am

Cant judge the car yet but my goodness those body coloured fake exhaust tips are ridiculous.

• Wiwiwiwiw on May 20, 2016 at 11:43 am

Wah Saga just got more luxurious!
    In reality this car will be used as chauffeur car
    Senior Govt, airport taxi etc.

• i just went to the showroom and ask the sales girl to notify immediately once the booking is opened for public. I want to be the first person in Johor Bahru to own this car. Number plate will the the new “F1” from Putrajaya. I am serious.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
    • cendol (Member) on May 20, 2016 at 2:02 pm

I am sorry to tell you, But I believe the Sultan of Johor will buy that F 1.

• malaysian on May 20, 2016 at 5:55 pm

Already open for booking. Launching not yet

• i think this looks much better and detailed design than some other cars like teana or even camry. No doubt the engine or material quality may affect buyer’s decision but let’s wait and make fair judgment until it’s launch.

• HAHAHA on May 20, 2016 at 11:54 am

Last perdana – 6A12TT or 4G63T
    latest Perdana -K20A type R

• sohai on May 20, 2016 at 12:00 pm

Sudah lah… Just launch the damn thing already.

• (Don’t wait for Matt Damon comingback from Mars)
      As blind basher said. Pls copy paste to all under developing car article.

• Pondan on May 20, 2016 at 12:02 pm

After teasing for so long, the car is already stale. Other car company already launch face lift.

• What’s the big deal – go look at an old Accord!

• anonymous on May 20, 2016 at 12:06 pm

Is everyone or just me think that the rear exhaust design is an absolute failure. While the fake exhaust is painted in red, the real exhaust pipe can be seen beneath the rear bumper… what’s point of doing it? #sackthedesigner

• nabill (Member) on May 20, 2016 at 12:10 pm

is it me or that red paint is the glossiest shiniest red color ive seen…looks like there layers and layers of clear coat to get that shine..

• Rear lights is Preve Ver2.0?

• Ex Perdan owner on May 20, 2016 at 12:14 pm

It’s been teased for so blady long I have no interest in this car anymore. Just booked a Camry Hybrid…

• Teased too many times on May 20, 2016 at 12:19 pm

Enough already!!! Just launch it! People are getting fed up with all these nonsense.

• taboogen on May 20, 2016 at 12:26 pm

datang ceo baru semua suruh tukar… tu yg jadi odd tu…

• kuih lapis on May 20, 2016 at 12:36 pm

The body kit and skirting overdone too many “lapis” simplicity will be best and elegant for this type of car. Proton always design their car for the sake of looks not for practicality and function- Fake exhaust..la fake engine vents..la plastic fuel cover…la macam macam benda yang tak guna !

• l3ryan on May 20, 2016 at 12:39 pm

the front looks good, but the rear looks excessively busy, especially the “faux diffuser” part, why does it look like some backyard ah beng bodyshop design?

• Why not, it is big car that busy part is only small portion from the bumper section

• orang putih on May 20, 2016 at 1:19 pm

Body Colour Exhaust ?? Somebody didn’t go to school..

• SHANKER on May 20, 2016 at 1:39 pm

It’s a nice car ,proton retain the engine and gearbox this was the best decision ,those who using the accord version they know
    This is a damn good car and the petrol mileage really good .
    It’s a Best Buy .

• 5m long for a sedan car? should sack the designer.

5m is a truck dimension. if you have a elevated seat then still consider ok.

Driving a 5m long monster around the town? Haha, the God must be crazy.

• ProtonOwnerSoLookingTogetaPerdanabeforeseeingthis on May 20, 2016 at 1:44 pm

Oh gosh..I had such high hopes. So obit chacha. The folds and the body colour exhaust tips look like labias majora and minora.

• sabahan on May 20, 2016 at 1:50 pm

5 series tail light?

• cendol (Member) on May 20, 2016 at 2:01 pm

What is there left to tease???

• Proton should improve their assembly quality. Look at the joint – front and rear, you can easily spot the disintegrated joint of panels. For RM100k+, it didn’t seem right. Otherwise, Perdana should be a beautiful piece of work.

• Proton should improve their assembly quality. Look at the joint – front and rear, you can easily spot the disintegrated joint of panels. For RM100k+, it didn’t seem right. The consistency of the gap MUST be improved. Otherwise, Perdana should be a beautiful piece of work.

• Ben Yap on May 20, 2016 at 2:13 pm

no autonomous braking? no AFS front lighting?

• Design and specs may be good. But what buyers want is great after sales. Buying an expensive Proton but would the after sales be good ? Warranty claims servicing etc. Worth to be punished buying a Proton?

• hayenadeblue on May 21, 2016 at 12:10 am

Just go to proton edar for servicing. Dont go to ah beng authorised proton service.

• I drive a proton and I personally have experienced shitty service from them which was at the Shah Alam HQ till had to meet the customer service exec for a meeting at proton for unsolved issues regarding my car.

• huatkaya on May 20, 2016 at 3:50 pm

I hope Proton makes it this time.

• Aero (Member) on May 20, 2016 at 5:31 pm

Why isn’t the rear diffuser painted black like at the front ? It looks retarded. There’s no way this is a launch model, Proton had better paint the rear diffuser before the launch. I know they will.

And it’s sad that those twin exhausts aren’t real… sigh. Otherwise, the whole design looks great and as always, I hope Proton did not compromise on quality control, reliability and long-term refinement. (What I mean by ‘long-term refinement’ is that after 2 or 3 years, the steering/ dashboard shouldn’t vibrate due to shoddy engine mounts, all the buttons and dials should still be smooth to the touch and not feel ‘mushy’/ loose, no ‘tikus’ sounds, the seats should not crack or ‘berbulu-bulu’, and so on…)

• fanofthisite on May 20, 2016 at 8:23 pm

Theres plenty of cars with black in front and no black at the back rear diffuser. Regardless of this being a final production or a design study option I think its okay to be a bit different from what the other manufacturers are ‘fashionably’ doling out. In fact I feel a number of new makes have taken the grey and black diffusers a bit much , and personally i prefer the silver grey diffusers, but am sure theres plenty who think it a bit loud.

• Hello Mr.Aero glad to hear that you tasted Proton Iriz quality yourself. Hahaha served you right!

Now you why it’s the most ‘beloved’ car by most rakyat. Not enough with 1.5 billion just ask for more lah. What a joke kah kah kah!

Aero feeling cheated…. LOL LMAO!!

• For crying out loud how many times you guys wanna tease. By the time the whole curtain drops, people already start yawning, as it was a year old news.

• hohoh on May 20, 2016 at 6:48 pm

yyyyyaaaaaaawwwwwnnnnnnnn……………….

• humusjumus on May 20, 2016 at 7:18 pm

Introducing….

Proton Perdana (with honda recycled parts)

Enuf said…

• Even your worshipped toyota still do rebadging after more than 70 years

• laoshi on May 20, 2016 at 7:42 pm

stop tease it only gather excitement.this will put the car to high expectation(very very good looking).what i hope its not another failure and disappointment after launched

• bukapintubayartol on May 20, 2016 at 9:52 pm

Holy crap! this thing is longer than a Commodore

• Uh oh on May 20, 2016 at 10:08 pm

Price at RM150k. Then kenapa proton sudah malas mau colour itu exhaust pipe…mahal sangatkah???

• hayenadeblue on May 21, 2016 at 12:07 am

Well done, Proton! I already have 6 airbags, traction control, cruise control equipped car from 1999 make. I need adaptive cruise control by radar. Please make this happen.

• lambat keluar pasal PM busy ..statemnt nampak kelakar tp inilah hakikat nya ..ok bye

• thebosssedangbercakap on May 21, 2016 at 6:43 am

the head marketing division for proton should be sacked. too many teasing as if this is the car of century. really jaguh kampung mentality.

• Facto on May 22, 2016 at 11:30 am

Others are spyshots not tease. Get your fact right.

• Thebosssedangbercakap on May 22, 2016 at 1:30 pm

Facto, go to paultan archive dated 3rd of October 2015. You can cleary see Tun M teasing the rear and front of this car. Guess my fact is right and yours is wrong, wrongo.

• akhmuadz on May 21, 2016 at 11:53 am

If i were in the mall, i waited until the mall closed then take a closer look….posted it everywhere!!! hhehehe

• Rear Diffuser Impression on May 21, 2016 at 1:20 pm

After months of delay and teasing, STILL…the rear diffuser hasn’t been improve, and bodykit same as body colour instead of two tone colour? It really looks CHEAP and doesn’t reflect the premium feeling of a D-segment car. Why would a carmaker paint its exhaust tip same as the body colour? BECAUSE IT IS FAKE? Whoever made that colour decision, that person has no interest to make this car a premium brand.

• Kuinosan on May 21, 2016 at 8:20 pm

Teaser after teaser but no reveal. Ha…ha… What a joke! The only explanation for the overdue delay for the revealing of the car must be down to quality control issues again. Am I right Proton??? Bunch of incompetent designers trying to impress, but sadly the answer is still ‘NO’!

• bored on May 22, 2016 at 8:28 am

I am yawning nonstop.

• Goldie on May 22, 2016 at 11:29 am

Why bother teasing repeatedly while my senior civil servant friends have been driving theirs around for months. From what I could see it is every inch last generation accord. Only the plastic bits, lights and badge have been replaced. Having owned that generation accord for 5 years, the new persona should be reliable minus some niggling parts/hose leakages.

• Again, too many lines, make it like toy car, not exclusive. They really need to redefine the classes to meet different groups of consumer.

• Adam Lee on May 22, 2016 at 8:44 pm

Can’t believe a ‘top of the range’ flagship sedan is a rebadged last generation, discontinued model with cheap plastic bits bolted on.

• normally proton will be lunch any new model around ~1 month before any big festival, by shortest is Hari Raya.

• Bernard on May 24, 2016 at 10:31 am

Cant wait not to buy it!

• Talk so much c*** about resell value for what? Who sells their car anyways now? only think about resell if your car is stupid lah. I use my car so long leh not even think about resell value. Only retard think about car value lah, all car drop in resell value. only matter is house value la jilake. Stop being so obsessed about resell value can? and stick to one car only. All here think they datok or something want to sell car next year so can buy new car for new year. Stupid mentality.

• Justice on Jun 03, 2016 at 8:49 am

Dear PT, would u be kind enough to direct my post to Proton?
    FYI, My parents bought a Proton in ’95 and I loved it very much. During my younger days, it was my inspiration to obtain my driver’s license after form 5 completion. Really, you Proton bashers.
    As the years passed by and come new millenia, out came Waja. Back then, the plastic quality had became obviously ‘cheaper’. Then subsequently followed by Savvy, Gen2, Persona, Neo, Exora, Preve, Suprima, your heavily invested Iriz and few more that I might have mismentioned. All same traits, cheap plastic. Where other manufacturers are moving in the same direction of heavy utilization of plastics for the interior, you should have the upper hand in this department to create better quality as you pretty much used this material much earlier than ‘anyone’ yet you still sucked! Instead of improving, what are the woes that your loyal customers get? Door handle patah! Inside and out! Waja, Gen2, Persona and Neo! Silly power window design in your Wajas (I still have to bring this up even if you managed to solved this issue cos a big corporate like you, its a shamed to let it go because you’re busy feeding the cronies too), Preve and Suprima faces interior trims that are practically and literally falling off as they age, as for the Neo, in my opinion, you had it going there but no, you just had to spoil the mix with your cheapskate plastics. Proton, you oughta sack your designing team cause the Koreans have surpassed you, your plastic issues but let’s not talk about ugliness for the time being cos I ain’t no designer myself but your plastics! Feed less some of your ‘buaya’ people, channel more fund and imposed stricter qaulity standards and i’m pretty sure, your products may see a little improvement in sales. An increase of 1 for every 100 orders is a start! The people have many years voiced up about your cheapskate plastic issues and yet, it seems you’re either deaf or blind or your plastic engineers are getting too much commission from their collaborative suppliers.
    Last year finally came my time to purchase my first vehicle and I’m not gonna lie to you, Proton wasn’t my first choice and neither did it even made into my list. Perodua made it tho. After crossing off a few models that I originally had in my mind due to budget constraints, your Exora finally made it into my list. I didn’t require any test drives since it was your CFE engine that made it ‘eligible’ to my list. Anyway, I conducted my own surveys on Exora owners, had a look at their Exoras after driving them a while and still I can’t accept your plastic issues. Bottomline, I chose the tiny Alza instead of your Exora and it was your interior quality, not design!, that pulled you down! I regard myself as a cincai feller but yet you failed my cheapskate requirements with your even cheaper requirement for your own products!

• Kelvin on Jun 11, 2016 at 1:44 pm

Just went to Proton Sales Gallery. Heard from the Proton Salesman that this new perdana will be around RM135-140K. Quite a steep price. Almost same like ‘original’ Honda Accord entry specs price.

• Somebody on Jun 15, 2016 at 7:49 pm

Maybe Proton could come up with a Turbocharged or Hybrid version of this Perdana, as high line product (like R3 version of Perdana or Hybrid classy version), then connect a real exhaust to that exhaust tip, at least re-colour the tip into something that looks real or looks better (dark ashes or silver shine).