Lexus Malaysia introduces limited-edition ES250 Luxury – two exclusive colours, only 50 units

lexus es250 luxury le 2

Lexus Malaysia has announced a limited-edition Lexus ES 250 Luxury variant that features two exclusive colours, Deep Blue Mica and Sleek Ecru Metallic. Only 50 units will be available, with 25 cars each in the unique shades.

The specials will also feature a new, exclusive matte-finished Bamboo interior trim, which is paired off with a Topaz Brown interior colour scheme (already available for the variant) in the limited series run. Aside from the two new exterior colours, the ES is available in Red Mica Crystal Shine, Sonic Quartz, Graphite Black GF, Platinum Silver Metallic, Sonic Titanium and Amber CS.

lexus es250 luxury le 1

No mechanical changes to the facelifted version of the car, which was launched here last August. It’s powered by a 2AR-FE 2.5 litre four-cylinder engine with 181 hp at 6,000 rpm and 235 Nm of torque at 4,100 rpm. The Dual VVT-i unit is paired with a six-speed automatic gearbox and power goes to the front wheels. Performance numbers include a 0-100 km/h time of 9.8 seconds and a 207 km/h top speed.

The neat news is that the limited edition ES 250 Luxury with the new colours won’t cost a sen more than a regular ES 250 Luxury, which goes for RM293,900 (on-the-road with GST, before insurance), the price that was announced on January 1 when Lexus Malaysia revealed a price increase for a number of models in its line-up.

GALLERY: Lexus ES 250 Luxury

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Randall King on Jun 10, 2016 at 4:50 pm

2.5L but only 181hp ? Even the previous IS and GS had the same engine with 205hp. For that price, we’re well off with the IS 200t instead.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 13
    • leonon777 on Jun 10, 2016 at 5:18 pm

4 cylinder

• Kunta Kinte on Jun 11, 2016 at 11:10 am

A good 2013 BMW 528i accident free being sold for RM220k. Low mileage too. Far better presitge, far superior engine, far superior bhp and torque and got good RV as a 2nd hand BMW.

Buy today at RM220k, use few years, still can sell for RM150k.

Lexus, got no standard and class as compared to a BMW or Mercedes. Ask any person in town what is Lexus, they will tell you, it is Munchy Lexus biscuit.

You are more likely to impress people in a BMW or a Mercedes

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 35
        • Manny on Jun 12, 2016 at 12:31 pm

What if that somebody is not interested in “impressing people”, but just wants a very comfortable car to cruise around.

Have you sat in a 528i msport before? Hard suspension with a highly strung engine that is not to everybody’s taste.

2nd hand car is not a direct comparison with a new car. A 2nd hand jaguar XF can be had for RM 120k. So should everybody get that car then?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 20
        • Sam Loo (ori1) on Jun 13, 2016 at 8:41 am

Consider a used Sonata.

Can get @RM60k for a 12-18 month old unit

• Kunta Kinte on Jun 11, 2016 at 11:20 am

Lexus ES Hybrid in the US is USD$40k. Much better than our ES250 which is selling for RM290k. Why don’t Lexus bring this Hybrid down?

Being UMW, they can always ask Government to start back the Hybrid status on Hybrid cars and ask special pricing for the Lexus ES Hybrid.

Lexus Malaysia will get this car at country distributor price of about US$30k cause we can assume if it is sold for US$40k, that would include the profit margin of the US dealership.

US$30k is about RM120k.

If the Government cared about Malaysians, they will continue the tax exemptions for the Hybrid in 2016.

Greedy greedy crony GLC and Greedy greedy Government.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 5
        • eVaz88 on Jun 13, 2016 at 11:10 am

There is ES300h since first day of Lexus ES Launching, FYI~ Please check.

• Lexus Driver on Jun 10, 2016 at 5:43 pm

The old IS250 had a 6 cylinder engine. So did the GS250. The ES was always 4 cylinders.
      The ES price now is cheaper than the IS by around 50k…

• Boring kunta = Boring samy on Jun 10, 2016 at 6:31 pm

The same boring politician not here to give copy and paste comment yet.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 17
      • AutoFrenz (the original) on Jun 10, 2016 at 10:52 pm

They hv migrated to singapore bcoz over there cars are cheaper…kahkahkahkahkah…oh my…these two idiots must be pissed off…i likeeee

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 17
      • Kunta Kinte colleague on Jun 11, 2016 at 11:41 pm

I fully support kunta, as low income group like us, we can only stick to national car with 7 years loan. Kunta used saga for 9 years and recently bought a recond persona. Why living cost is high?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 16
    • AutoFrenz (the original) on Jun 10, 2016 at 10:50 pm

Wow stunning…value for money…no need to buy under market value…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 16
    • Sammy Loo on Jun 12, 2016 at 9:58 pm

definitely u have no idea what engine IS and GS are using compared to this ES.

Straight 4 vs V6 engine definitely having different output, refinement and fuel consumption. Don’t compare engine by only looking at displacement.

• seancorr (Member) on Jun 10, 2016 at 5:02 pm

Looks like they are looking to boost their sales by introducing limited edition colors?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 10
  • DonkeyKong on Jun 10, 2016 at 5:06 pm

There’s hardly any demand for these overpriced reskinned Camry. Even the existing Camry isn’t selling well, what more a fancier expensive version of that junk.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 10
    • leonon777 on Jun 10, 2016 at 5:19 pm

More of based on the Avalon, not Camry

• leonon777 on Jun 10, 2016 at 5:20 pm

Any apparently best selling model here next to the NX200t

• With honda and P1 coming out with new models this year, umw toyota is practically dead in the market. Sam Loo and Albert better stop trolling here and start looking for new jobs alredi.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 15
    • They can sell more than Proton, don’t worry. Better worry how to settle the RM1.5B loan

• Skypirate on Jun 10, 2016 at 11:54 pm

If you don’t even know which car the ES is based on, it’s better for you to stop commenting on an autoblog.

• bashes on Jun 10, 2016 at 5:22 pm

more bashes are coming this weekend, good luck es250…lol

• PT better make this posting “comments are disabled” before too late…ha

• Ben Yap on Jun 10, 2016 at 5:34 pm

performance slower than a civic 1.5T or jetta.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 10
  • Steven Park on Jun 10, 2016 at 5:56 pm

The 2.5L 4 cyl engine is a piece of junk next to today’s modern downsized turbocharged engines.
    Besides, UMW have overpriced their entire Lexus lineup.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
  • mid year sales target on Jun 10, 2016 at 6:02 pm

most car dealers have mid-year and year-end sales target to meet. If can’t meet, most likely they need to “swallow” themselves and get loan from banks…after few months tak boleh tahan, then discount lor…

• Those brown and beige interior… are we in the 80’s?

• Beemer Freak on Jun 10, 2016 at 8:26 pm

Excessively expensive….

• karam singh on Jun 11, 2016 at 3:23 pm

Surprisingly if one to visit Sri Hartamas and TTDI area, both in KL – the numbers of official Lexus cars on the road is surprisingly high.

I believe the owners are not influenced at all by the bashings made here.

• Boo UMW on Jun 11, 2016 at 7:39 am

Only in Malaysia, Lexus cars can be more expensive than BMW and Mercedes. In other parts of the world, it is the other way around. Thanks to UMW!

• eVaz88 on Jun 13, 2016 at 11:15 am

Please check your facts right. Through whole world, Lexus still more expensive than BMW or Mercedes. Dont know why? Because BMW and Mercs are cheap junks and nobody wants it. Check US Sales for 2015 and see who is on top of the sales chart.

• I am one happy Lexus owner for the 1st Generation ES250 launched 2 years back. I compared 5 series, E Class Audi A6 Hybrid. I wouldn’t want to buy any of these due to the leg room of the car design. I don’t drive fast nor cornering. Comfortable and quietness are my priority. So far for 2 years both the after sales service and quality are highly satisfying. Compare to BMW when I walk in I just want to walk out immediately.

• eVaz88 on Jun 13, 2016 at 11:17 am

Hi Sir, i truly agreed. Satisfying with my own ES250. Less problem, tho the wind noise is a bit annoying, but i heard the Facelift ES250 windnoise improvised alot.