Malaysian Kasma Daniel to train under Valentino Rossi

2016 Petronas Cub Prix Rd 1 -65

Malaysian Kasma Daniel Kasmayudin, 16, who hails from Skudai, Johor, has been selected – along with four other riders – to attend the VR46 Riders Academy in Tavullia, Italy, where he will undergo tutoring by nine-time World Champion motorcycle racer Valentino Rossi.

Currently riding for Yamaha Finson Motorsport in the Asia Road Racing Championship (ARRC), where he campaigns Yamaha YZF-R25 #127 in the Asia Production 250 (AP250) category, Kasma was selected to attend the riders academy based on current AP250 points standings, age and other criteria.

Other riders attending the academy are Peerapong Loiboonpeng, 21, of Thailand, Soichiro Minamimoto, 16, from Japan, Imanuel Putra Pratna, 19, and Galang Hendra Pratama, 17, both from Indonesia.

Asia Road Racing Championship Yamaha YZF-R25 - 7

Riders attending this “Master Camp” at the VR46 academy will have the benefit of improving their racing skills under the guidance of Rossi, as well as other instructors. They will participate in dirt track riding at the Motor Ranch at the Academy, track riding at the Misano World Circuit Marco Simoncelli and other technique enhancing activities.

Established in 2014, the academy saw Rossi putting his racing knowledge and expertise to support young Italian riders aiming to become world-class racers. Expanding on that goal, the VR46 academy has now entered a three-year contract to assist Yamaha’s rider development and mentoring system.

We last saw Kasma racing in the first round of the 2016 Petronas Cub Prix in Serdang last March, where he won in his class. Last year, he finished 9th in the ARRC AP250 class, and currently stands at tenth place in the 2016 rankings.

GALLERY: Kasma Daniel Kasmayudin racing at the 2016 Petronas Cub Prix

Coming with diverse and extensive experience in heavy engineering, Mohan enjoys making anything with wheels go fast, especially motorcycles. His weapon of choice is the Desmoquattro engine, and he has a penchant for anything with a dash of Italian design. Strangely enough, he insists he's a slow rider.

• Faizal Misman on Jun 13, 2016 at 6:27 pm

Goodluck Kasma Daniel Kasmayudin.. wish you all the best!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 1
  • In b4 nasi lemak vroom comments

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 12
  • Who say Mat Rempit got no future?
    Now there will be more Mat Rempit on the road.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 32
  • Kunta kinte on Jun 14, 2016 at 9:31 am

what a waste of rakyat tax payer money!. this what i call waste..no benefit to rakyat at all, should have make more new school for rakyat who already becoming poor and almost 70% cannot afford even a proton nowadays.

all that money can buy 10 000 homeless people a home and 1000 new schools.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 32
    • If you think like that, better suggest MY don’t joint any sport event in the world.

• Im sure u wud say Nicol David was a waste of money, Lee Chong Wei was a waste of money, Pandilela Rinong was a wate of money, Zulfahmi was a waste of money, heck, whoever represent MY in international sports is a waste of money.

If this mentality reflects the Party Hard u support, I guess when they takeover we can kolos all manufacturing, R&D, sports, local businesses, etc, bcoz MY pipu cannot do anything!

• KamarulXY on Jun 14, 2016 at 6:47 pm

I dont think govornment involve in this. And there is no tax payer money were harm in this project. It absolutely fully funded by private sectors as Kasma Daniel is in Yamaha racing development project. As i remember, our goveenment is not Yamaha.

Think before you speak.

• Bernard on Jun 15, 2016 at 8:22 pm

Second paragraph last line states ‘age and other criteria’

What is the ‘other criteria’?