Gov’t, DBKL will not compensate flash flood victims

Malaysia-Flash-Flood-2016

The Government and Kuala Lumpur City Hall (DBKL) has reiterated that it will not provide any compensation to victims of the flash floods that hit the city last month. This was because the floods were “an act of God,” as reported by The Sun Daily.

“We did not consider compensating individuals whose house or vehicle was damaged in the flood because the amount of rainfall on that day was extraordinary, unexpected, and has been classified as an ‘act of God’,” said Deputy Federal Territories minister Datuk Loga Bala Mohan.

Loga Bala explained that the amount of rainfall experienced on that day was abnormally high. He said the Federal Territories Drainage and Irrigation Department (JPSWP) recorded 106.5 mm of rainfall during the two-hour downpour, and the city’s drainage system can only handle 70 mm.

The flash floods caused more than 100 vehicles to be submerged in various parts of the city, which not only resulted in damages, but also brought traffic to a standstill for hours on the day. Poor irrigation was blamed for the floods.

According to Loga Bala, cleanup operations of drains in affected areas have already been done on schedule, and DBKL will start with flood mitigation works with an estimated cost of RM85 million. Efforts include upgrading the irrigation system along the Air Batu stream, Pantai river and Klang river by installing a pipe system at conjunction points to handle more than 70 mm of rainfall on Jalan Pantai Baru.

DBKL has also advised Universiti Malaya to maintain its flood water retention pond as it was found to be muddy, making it unable to accommodate much water. Over on Jalan Tuanku Abdul Halim, DBKL has replaced an armco pipe in Taman Botani Perdana.

It also plans to build an adjacent flood water retention pond from said location, along with an additional culvert across Lebuhraya Sultan Iskandar under Taman Botani Perdana.

Are you among those that were affected by last month’s flash floods? What are your thoughts on the matter? If you still insist on being compensated, a lawyer says that you can sue DBKL, but one must have plenty of patience and money.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Jay Law on Jun 15, 2016 at 10:50 am

forget the SUMMONS and PARKING fees as well

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 1
    • George Abdul on Jun 15, 2016 at 12:25 pm

BN have no wrong >>> Blame Rakyat and Blame on god?!?!? Welcome to BN ministry!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 5
      • John R on Jun 15, 2016 at 12:58 pm

DAP cannot do wrong as well. Blame BN for their screw up on the proposed tunnel?!?!? Welcome to DAP ministry!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 56
        • WT Fuchhh on Jun 15, 2016 at 7:11 pm

Allo, Pronton going bankrupt al act of god. Why gomen loan 1.5 B to go against god?

• Same L00 on Jun 15, 2016 at 1:10 pm

You should start forgetting tax!

• Bukti kerajaan prihatin, rakyat didahulukan. on Jun 15, 2016 at 1:53 pm

Bkt gambir

• dockey J on Jun 15, 2016 at 6:00 pm

many would straight to comment after read “act of god”

• Hidden due to lowcomment rating. Click here to see.

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 128
      • orang biasa on Jun 15, 2016 at 4:07 pm

hey john, shut up la! If your house get flood because of DB didn’t clear lokang kat lu depan rumah, then next time don’t bak to complain to DB? pi lah!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 2
    • AutoFrenz (the original) on Jun 15, 2016 at 12:44 pm

Bodoh 100 owners, Act of God oso want to blame kerajaan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 99
  • Angry on Jun 15, 2016 at 10:52 am

Please don’t use ‘Act of God’ as an excuse. By the very fact that you said ‘flood mitigation works will begin’, you are already acknowledging that there is an existing problem but relevant authorities failed to take necessary action.
    For the victims, gather together, hire a good lawyer, and file a class action suit!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 2
    • Latuk on Jun 15, 2016 at 12:38 pm

You can win the lawsuit, in the end the winner will be the lawyer. The money you get in the end might just be enough for you to send your car for a car wash.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 9
    • I think this minister is about to call bomoh to clear the flood.

• hailthepurist on Jun 15, 2016 at 10:56 am

Datuk Loga Bala Mohan, due to ‘act of God’ means this is not dbkl or gomen fault to comes with effective way of preventive solutions.. this case is far from close.

• Kunta Kinte on Jun 15, 2016 at 11:06 am

This is expected. DBKL is so irresponsible. They blame sampah for clogging the drains but the truth is, the town planner is a bodoh. Does not know how to do irrigation well. Typical malas dude who believes in making the tallest tower, longest ketupat, biggest this and that but basic irrigation also tak boleh.

that is the problem with DBKL and the Government. Always like to make the biggest this and longest that but the basic things in life, tak tahu buat.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 4
  • Kunta Kinte on Jun 15, 2016 at 11:14 am

Mana RM85 million cukup for flood irrigation in Klang Valley?

Government must allocatate at least few RM billions.

RM85 million flood irrigation is far cheaper than renting private plane at RM98 million. Which more important? Your capital or private plane?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 2
    • Gargantia on Jun 15, 2016 at 12:23 pm

Rakyat pay tax so that Government help to develop and solve problem… NOW BN Ministry say ‘act of God’ said Deputy Federal Territories minister Datuk Loga Bala Mohan. BN takda salah Blame on Rakyat were no enough now BLAME on god ?!?!?! Where’s the logic ?!?!?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 0
  • Laurie K Gilbert on Jun 15, 2016 at 11:15 am

Heavy rain is possibly “an act of God” but actually its just an environmental function of weather. Effective water management is a function of government .

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 0
  • Middle Age Driver (Member) on Jun 15, 2016 at 11:17 am

This statement clearly reflects what majority of Malaysian have become…

• “An act of god?” Another ridiculous excuse from minister. Science everywhere, please use brain power to analyze that situation. My dear minister.

• If I got struck by lightning in KL, I wouldn’t expect my family to request for any compensation either

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 41
    • Its the bloody governments job to protect its citizens from the “elements”. The tax money is to be used wisely to avoid catastrophic issues like these. The city developers and other relevant departments should anticipate the worst at least for a capital city like KL

Earthquake and Tsunami are acts of God. So if anything similar happens. will the gov cross their arms and say, guys look up – Gods Must Be Angry !

• kimochidesuneh on Jun 15, 2016 at 2:58 pm

please put your legacy and insurance under my name

• Juddo on Jun 15, 2016 at 11:39 am

This is v could expect frm pondan govt

• rchoo on Jun 15, 2016 at 11:41 am

Every application of development, land encroachment into KL roads, road side drains are under the purview of DBKL, likewise drain construction, maintenance, clogging and desilting also.

So they are the master and we have to seek their consent and approval for all such issues, but when comes to responsibility, they want to have none of it?

Are you serious DBKL? I suggest you rescind from such authoritative role if you don’t want to bear responsibility.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
  • Flash floods severely disrupts the economy, productivity, family life, and creates damages. Even though the rainfall is high, but even one of this flood creates extremely high catastrophe. Can we get another RM2.6B to mitigate this problem once and for all?

• seancorr (Member) on Jun 15, 2016 at 11:52 am

It may be an act of God BUT it’s also part of their fault for NOT maintaining the drainage system but they can also turn around n say it’s filled with rubbish from the public.

• kimochidesuneh on Jun 15, 2016 at 12:07 pm

if god really exist, please come down and save our rakyat malaysia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
    • krs189 on Jun 15, 2016 at 2:22 pm

He already brought down His word as revelation. Go and search for it. Every solution for human problem is there.

Yes, He does exist.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
  • Yeah right on Jun 15, 2016 at 12:12 pm

Hey Loga

Is this the first time KL suffered flash floods?? Dont you dare blame on God when DBKL and the friggin incompentent Gov should be fixing this ages ago.

• Terrence on Jun 15, 2016 at 12:29 pm

“Act of God” ~ this statement can cover many things. Last I check – I got an extra RM2.60 in my accounts, I don’t know who gave it to me and why, must be “Act of God”

I am not a bright chap so pardon me if I got it wrong, but my common sense tells me that naturally, floods occours nearby river bank. It is when human dig, develope, build and alter a land that flood happens in these developed land IF the water management wasn’t well managed.

And usually these commercially driven contractors/developers couldn’t care less. So who are supposed to GOVERN these contractors/developers in check? God?

• When we did wrong, we kena saman. When the drainage is at fault, and it is by somewhat the government’s fault, they don’t take the blame. Government is so clever when it comes to running away and not taking the blame.

• marieta on Jun 15, 2016 at 2:04 pm

Meh…Old news..since when Govt or DBKL care about anything ?

• Aiyah. Normal lah. Those people always use “Act of God” as an excuse. If those people suffer and ask for you help, just tell them it’s an act of God and deal with it. No need debate over these nonsenses over and over again.

• Henry on Jun 15, 2016 at 3:21 pm

They need the money more than you. How to compensate?

• How can it be act of god when its in the middle of the city where everything is man made.

First act of god should be to strike this damn minister down.

• orang biasa on Jun 15, 2016 at 4:12 pm

tak boleh compensate?! Jikalau orang biasa tak ada duit utk baiki kereta kancil, so mana ada kereta utk cari makan? Apa lah punya statement “Act of God”?! senang nya cuci tangan and @ss.

• Avelon on Jun 15, 2016 at 4:40 pm

remember not to vote Bastards Nation

• Mr Fakta on Jun 15, 2016 at 5:21 pm

Proton’s failure, Government’s Incompetence, 1MDB’s loss, not to mention the FAIL billion dollar Smart Tunnel Project that promise to eliminate flood in KL is an act of god too.
    In Malaysia, only small dick is act of man

• Ollie on Jun 15, 2016 at 5:46 pm

No such thing – buy flood cover as part of car insurance then you got nothing to worry about. If you didn’t buy additonal flood and natural disaster cover – sorry you didn’t take the precaution and you agree to handle all repair costs yourself.

• Nasi Lemak Proton on Jun 15, 2016 at 6:26 pm

Next time when some BN ministers die from lightning strike (becoz they talk cock so much, lying to the rakyat with their eyes open), insurance for hopitalization wont cover him….becoz it is also an Act of God.

• The Act of God maybe true. My only question is, show us some proof that the relevant department has done their due diligence before you concluded is an act of god. Make it to the media with the proof why this is an act of god.

• And also what is the SOP implemented in case act of god that rain non stop like event once in 10 years worst rain in KL. Do they have a plan to mitigate on an ongoing basis instead of one time effort. (Now a good chance to make this an excuse for making commission for themselves).

• My point is that flooding is so common. I would think from an engineer perspective on this issue there should be an alternative to mitigate like pumping out water by man. Don’t we have weather forecast to get estimated rainfall? Look at how agriculture evolved in US using weather forecast technology.

• Tong Sampah on Jun 16, 2016 at 10:22 am

IN the statement already says dbkl didn’t do the job, from stating the drainage not big enough to not clean enough…isn’t that dbkl job in planning and action to clean up? We facing flooding year after year after year..The problem, responsibility is not taken up in bolehland since everything tak apa…
    Developed nation is not how tall the building, how wide the road you have but how civic the whole society become…it’s all about human…and we are driving in R in the sense..