SPIED: Subaru XV Crosstrek adds bodykit – RM143k

Subaru XV Crosstrek spyshots 2

It appears the facelifted Subaru XV will get a new variant soon – reader Zamil Syaheer has caught the crossover with what appears to be a new bodykit and a Crosstrek badge, hinting at the name of the new model. The Crosstrek name was previously used on another special edition model, limited to 55 units.

The new kit sports a deep chin spoiler, silver extensions on the front corners, side skirts and a rear diffuser with silver highlights. Also seen is a black tailgate spoiler that is reminiscent of that offered on the pre-facelift STI Performance model, albeit without STI badging. Elsewhere, the XV’s new L-shaped LED daytime running lights, 17-inch two-tone alloy wheels and clear LED tail lights remain unchanged.

Emblazoned on the side of this promotional car is the price tag of RM119,500, which would make it significantly cheaper than even the base 2.0i that retails at RM134,005 on-the-road with insurance.

However, we managed to snag a price list for the Crosstrek at the Motor Image roadshow in Mid Valley yesterday – where the Levorg was also being shown – and it turns out that the actual retail price of the Crosstrek is RM142,706, making it RM8,700 more expensive than the 2.0i, and RM4,350 more expensive than the 2.0i-P.

What’s more, judging by the kit list included with the price list, it appears that the Crosstrek is based on the 2.0i, meaning that it will miss out on the latter’s powered driver’s seat, Kenwood touchscreen infotainment system and reverse camera, among others. The spec list also add that the Crosstrek will receive a few interior additions of its own, including suede and leather upholstery and unique carpets.

GALLERY: 2016 Subaru XV 2.0i-P

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Malaysian Driver on Jul 21, 2016 at 1:42 pm

Looks like Subaru also hop on the bandwagon “lihat boss ini spoiler kasi pasang boleh tambah 30 horsepower woh!!!”

• Dr Mamak on Jul 21, 2016 at 4:26 pm

No rear aircon, forget it!

• Kunta Kinte on Jul 21, 2016 at 5:07 pm

Already Subaru is a dead brand in Malaysia, somemore they now want to hantam people Rm8700 more.

Soon Subaru will be like Suzuki and Alfa. A real failure.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 12
  • Subaru here in MY have become P2 and ToMY? Add bumper, add colour, add sticker, add price = facelifted?

• nabill (Member) on Jul 21, 2016 at 2:10 pm

thy go according to local taste….shitty taste yes , bt thas what sells in our land…

• Anything But P1 on Jul 21, 2016 at 2:09 pm

Epic fail la this Malaysian Subaru distributor. People try and reduce price they go and increase price with expensive variants. Try and get EEV certification or something. Better still let other people distribute Subaru.

• ColaBear on Jul 21, 2016 at 2:15 pm

clear stock gua…

• C. P. MOHAN on Jul 21, 2016 at 2:27 pm

No choice, must “cari makan” somehow.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Jul 21, 2016 at 2:46 pm

looks like these guys are really not in touch with the market

• cendol (Member) on Jul 21, 2016 at 2:57 pm

Tuned by tuning power house.

Look closely, only add bodykit and stickers.

• TheTruth on Jul 21, 2016 at 3:52 pm

I swear to God lot of driver who owned this car drive it like sport car similar to those hilux n mpv owner

• takNakP1 on Jul 21, 2016 at 3:55 pm

previous STI version looks better.

• Subaru XV Full Spec : Rm 118800 without insurance
    Full Spec includes: Keyless entry system, Push Start Button, Paddle Shifters, Reverse camera, Premium Audio and inbuilt GPS.
    Car comes with 5 years warranty or 100,000 km
    Free Service : 3 years including labour and parts
    Please call me at 0172782994 for more details.

• Saiful on Jul 21, 2016 at 5:50 pm

OMG Motor Image! Seriously?? That pricing for mere bodykit?? Should have added 6 airbags and auto wipers/headlights instead!

• Nasi Lemak Proton on Jul 21, 2016 at 8:20 pm

“crosstrek” sounded very hamsap in BM…..

• remind me of boon siew honda and later hyundai, total beng fied with cheap accesories..they should add items of value like side and curtain airbags on the xv..subaru are great cars though

• I think people who are eyeing for Subaru did’t bother about these extra makeup things. They prefer what Subaru as a “Subaru” should be and that will be the Boxer Turbo+AWD and not to mention a proper functional kits for this price bracket. But what to do, MY markets prefer a car with this patch accessories. They only delivered it.

• AnotherNon on Jul 22, 2016 at 11:02 am

So this is like a trend? Add pointless bodykits, spoilers, stickers, etc for cosmetic points instead of performance enhancement or safety optionals? Car manufacturers need to learn marketing.

• Wow..soo many funny and negative comments…if you like and can afford this car…buy lah…if you hate it…just shut up and buy toyota or honda… i owned one and i like it very much…

• I drive the 2015 XV. Love the cornering n stability when driving in heavy rain.