LRT rail pix Bernama

With the road closures taking place in stages around the capital city for the Standard Chartered KL Marathon 2016, Rapid KL is providing free LRT and monorail services for four hours from 2am Sunday for participants, officials and supporters of the race, according to Bernama.

Entry to the LRT will be limited to selected stations to allow quicker travelling for the commuters, said Prasarana communications and strategic marketing head, Lim Jin Aun.

“The Monorail Line, however, will open all its 11 stations. Participants and officials are encouraged to park their cars at the stations’ park and ride facilities and continue their travel by rail to Dataran Merdeka, which will be the starting point for the event,” he said in a statement yesterday.

For the LRT Ampang Line, the stations that will be open are Ampang, Pandan Indah and Chan Sow Lin, while for the LRT Sri Petaling Line, the stations are Chan Sow Lin, Bandar Tasik Selatan, Awan Besar, IOI Puchong Besar, Putra Heights, Sentul Timur, Sentul, Titiwangsa, Masjid Jamek, Hang Tuah and Pudu.

The stations that will open along the LRT Kelana jaya Line are Masjid Jamek, Gombak, Wangsa Maju, Setiawangsa, Jelatek, KL Sentral, Taman Jaya, Kelana Jaya, Glenmarie and USJ 21. The LRT and monorail services will be free of charge from 2am until 6am, after which normal rates apply, Lim said.

As for the road closures during the marathon, affected roads are the AKLEH and DUKE highways, as well as 22 other main roads.