Ducati 959 Panigale, Hypermotard 939, Monster 1200 R, XDiavel and Multistrada Enduro in M’sia, fr RM71k

ducati-malaysia-2016-launch-28

At a mass launch event in Petaling Jaya, held in conjunction with the 2016 Malaysian Motorcycle Grand Prix, Ducati Malaysia unveiled five models new to the Malaysian market. These are the 2016 Ducati 959 Panigale, Hypermotard 939, Monster 1200 R, XDiavel and Multistrada Enduro.

When we tested the 2016 Ducati 959 Panigale, we were quite taken with Ducati’s “entry-level” supersports bike. Ducati Malaysia has confirmed the retail price of this 157 hp 955 cc Euro 4-compliant Superquadro V-twin at RM99,999, including GST.

For street-going fun in a light and nimble chassis, the event saw the reveal of the Hypermotard 939, 939 SP and Hyperstrada, all variants on the basic 939 engine. Pricing for the 2016 Hypermotard 939 is RM70,999, while neither pricing nor availability was provided for the Hypermotard 939 SP and the sports-touring Hyperstrada.

ducati-malaysia-2016-launch-6

Using the Euro 4 937 cc Ducati Testastretta 11 that produces 113 hp, the 2016 Hypermotard series sees an increase of top-end torque by 10%, with an 18% improvement in torque at medium engine speed. An oil cooler is added to improve engine durability and reliability.

Also known as “the bike that saved Ducati,” the 2016 Monster 1200 R made its Malaysian debut, at a price of RM139,999. Coming with the 1,200 cc Testastretta 11 DS ‘R’ engine, this V-twin delivers 10% more power and 5.5% more torque than the Monster 1200 S, at 160 hp and 131 Nm of torque.

Standard fitment is an Ohlins steering damper, with updated suspension internals. The 2016 Monster 1200 R stands a little taller than the S version for better ground clearance during cornering, and weighs in at 180 kg, with two colour schemes available – Ducati Red and Thrilling Black.

On the dual-purpose side of things, with an emphasis on the “go anywhere” aspect is the Multistrada 1200 Enduro. We tested the RM119,999 2016 Multistrada earlier this year, and the Enduro version – at RM129,999 – is more of the same, with a bias towards off-road riding.

Coming with a 30-litre fuel tank, and semi-active Ducati Skyhook suspension, the Multistrada Enduro rolls on 19-inch front and 17-inch rear wheels. Three different paint schemes are available – Ducati Red, Phantom Grey and Star White Silk – as well as a full range of touring accessories made by Touratech for Ducati.

ducati-malaysia-2016-launch-24

The 2016 Ducati XDiavel is a cruiser interpreted by Ducati in its own inimitable way as a “power cruiser” that manages 40-degrees lean angle in corners. Retailing at RM135,999, the XDiavel is powered by by the Testastretta DVT 1,262 V-twin, that produces 156 hp and 128.5 Nm of torque at just 5,000 rpm.

There are 60 permutations of riding position – four footrest positions, five seat positions and three different handlebars. Additionally, the rider can choose between a standard seat and comfort seat with backrest. The 2016 XDiavel is the first Ducati to use belt-drive.

So there you go, five new Ducati models in Malaysia. Which one do your have your eyes on?

Coming with diverse and extensive experience in heavy engineering, Mohan enjoys making anything with wheels go fast, especially motorcycles. His weapon of choice is the Desmoquattro engine, and he has a penchant for anything with a dash of Italian design. Strangely enough, he insists he's a slow rider.

• Ahh if only I had time to go to the launch event earlier today. Sadly I couldn’t get off work early.

Anyway, I feel sorry for anyone who bought the 899 recently. Also, do they only brought the standard xDiavel? No mention on the S variant?

• Why must we get the ugly euro4 can? Pitty lor.