Malaysia targets 100,000 electric vehicles by 2020

petronas_chargev-3

In a report by The Sun, Malaysia looks set to achieve the target of 100,000 electric vehicles (EVs) on its roads by 2020, up from between 110 and 120 EVs currently. This is due to efforts in implementing sufficient infrastructure, increasing public awareness, as well as conducive policies.

GreenTech Malaysia CEO Ahmad Hadri Haris said the company has no plans to revise the target set by the government, adding that the implementation of favourable policies has attracted more players to invest in EVs to make them more affordable.

Recently, the company announced that it will install 300 ChargEV stations by this year, including at Petronas stations, with 1,000 stations up by end-2017. It targets to have 25,000 charging stations nationwide by 2020 to further support the push for EVs.

Not only that, GreenTech Malaysia will bring in 100 units of the Tesla Model S by the end of next year, all of which are duty-exempted. The Teslas will only be offered on a two-year leasing period to government-linked companies (GLC) to promote the use of EVs in the country.

The Malaysian International Chamber of Commerce & Industry (MICCI) also backed the EV movement, where it hoped the government would reduce relevant taxes in Budget 2017 to encourage the usage of hybrid/electric cars in the country. Unfortunately, the recent Budget 2017 announcement did not include any incentives for electric vehicles.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• i would love to get a Tesla for 200k

• Haha EV cars, Zero roadtax.

• Sama L00 on Oct 26, 2016 at 6:48 pm

Sendiri cakap Sendiri Syok. You think government will give tax break to EV so easily? Without tax break, which sohai will buy the car? End of the day, no car is sold, but money burnt to build useless charging stations. Public money behind private money.

• Good luck with that. The cheapest you can get in the States is $75k

• LAUGHING STOCK on Oct 26, 2016 at 12:44 pm

sure or not??
    drive from perlis to Jb – need to stop how many times?
    charging stations at petronas stations ?? how many hours in between charging 3 ,4 or 5 hrs per charge??
    safe and comfortable or not to spend time at PETROL STATION??
    wahai bro politicians …GUNA OTAK SIKIT
    * CITY state like Spore and HK is different la…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 8
    • This is estimate by the newspaper The Sun, not by Gov. And with quick charging (ie Teslas), it can charge to 80% within 2 hours.

• LAUGHING STOCK on Oct 26, 2016 at 2:46 pm

hello john, you want to stop for 2 hrs on your way to JB ?
        Malaysian drivers are so patient ah ??
        Pump petrol 5 minutes also become restless !!
        Prove me wrong please
        Think from consumer point of view NOT politicians!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 9
        • Whats with u and politicians, huh? All Im say is, 1. Disapproving ur point that it is Gov initiative, 2. Ur ignorance cuz dunno there are new charging tech, so dun need 3~5 hours like u said.

• Sama L00 on Oct 26, 2016 at 6:54 pm

First, Tesla S range is 400km. Secondly, with fast charger, it only take 30 mins. Thirdly, pump petrol you need to pay RM 80, but charging is free. Can you wait 30 mins to save RM 80?

• Soon petronas will make rooms avail for rent!

• No you use your otak sikit. Electric cars are meant for city driving where engines are less efficient. It was never meant for cross country driving. You don’t see people driving from Las Vegas to san fran in a Tesla non-stop

• No way can be achieved unless P1 start selling EVs by 2018/9

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 10
    • Didn’t they say they want to sell like like in 2014?

• Iriz EV is there, and from what I seen of the car, it looks well packaged and ready for production. What they told me is cost of battery still high.
        An equivalent Iriz EV wud priced 70~80k, then after some time the batteries need to be replaced (expensive). On paper, it looks gud concept but it wun make economic sense.

• Sama L00 on Oct 26, 2016 at 6:57 pm

P1 EV, you dare to buy? Tiny Korean note 7 can burn your pant, what about the whole car from awesome qc Proton? Good luck!

• Im glad u ask. Lets just make do without:
            USA drive AI & navigation,
            EU lousy gearbox & tipoo engines,
            Jepunis airbags & non-existent safety,
            Chinese “safety” & “reliability”

So what does that leaves us? Oh yeah, PUTIN RUSSSIAAAA!!!

• nosushi on Oct 27, 2016 at 5:55 am

Even jepunis got fatal airbags.
            GO figure.

• kzm (Member) on Oct 27, 2016 at 4:29 pm

if p1 indeed make EV car the battery will made by LG Chem. Remember Iriz EV in South Korea testing.

• citizen on Oct 26, 2016 at 1:26 pm

P1 had their chance and wasted over RM500Mil government grants on Frazer and Nash UK company outdated Hybrid car and created a disaster under Tun M chairmanship time. they cant even sell their own cars. this will not work until infra structure is completed. Green-tech Boss only talks but no action. BTW p1 must answer to Rakyat how the money was paid to Frazer Nash and on what grounds they paid the useless UK company that much money…

• inb4 P1 rebadge TESLA

• Proton can’t make a proper gearbox & engine combo for the Iriz. What makes you think they can make a long range electric car in less than 4 years time.

• Tesla never made cars b4, so what make uso sure they cant? Besides, GB is not made by P1.

• Tesla is run by an engineer / inventor / business man who wants to make a good car. Meanwhile Proton is run by people who just wants to make money & probably don’t even know how a car works.

• Maniam on Oct 26, 2016 at 5:50 pm

Senang brader. Tukar jadi logo Tiger je.

• Harilelah on Oct 26, 2016 at 12:50 pm

Just built more charging stations across the country, not just the Klang Valley. All Malaysians pay standard income tax rates so it is only fair that you develop All states side by side.

And most importantly, as long as you provide affordable prices for eev’s the people would support the program.

• Hahaha. Is this a joke? 100k target by 2020? I believe more than 90% of those cars will be used by the Government or GLC company. It is utterly ridiculous to have that target, as electric vehicles sold in Malaysia is expensive. In order to even afford electric vehicles in Malaysia, the cheapest might be toe Renault Zoe, but it’s simply not practical for everyday use. The next big thing that comes close is the Nissan Leaf (correct me if i’m mistaken) and that will cost you almost 200k!

What about the price reduction promised by the government? And yet, they can talk about electric mobility. Parts are not cheap every year, and how are they going to tackle the issue. Compare with the EU, they’re giving a lot of incentives for people to buy electric cars, and this drives people to change. Government here all talk but no go?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 5
    • Gov is concerntrating on improving public transport instead. Thats the way to go, not personal electric cars.

• waters on Oct 26, 2016 at 2:45 pm

They didn’t say cars, they said vehicles. Electric scooters and mopeds are vehicles too.

• C. P. MOHAN on Oct 26, 2016 at 12:52 pm

Charging stations are only one-part of the infrastructure equation there are maintenance and repairs or manpower issues to look at.

• applegreen on Oct 26, 2016 at 1:24 pm

EV cars should be tax free if gov serious to see 100k EV cars on the road by end 2020

• EV cars r inherently expensive. Most cost comes from battery tech and battery stacks. Dun expect to pay P1 prices and hope to reach Ipoh without recharging (no quick charging too).

• FireAce on Oct 26, 2016 at 1:25 pm

No car manufacturer going to believe this flip-flop country. They already learn from experience when they believe in the so called “Promoting Green Car Technology” and invested millions. Few years after that, the primary drive of sales (Tax Free hybrid/electric car) was discontinued and replaced with EEV Vehicles scheme which doesn’t really do anything.

• i really don’t understand the functionality of ” Green Tech company” & EV car leasing programme to government.

Just allow the private sector to import the car in & sell it to the general public. Market demand will decide car is fit for our market.

i’m ready to get one Tesla s if it priced at RM 200k

• The problem is, its not even priced at RM200k back in home country

• FIST (Member) on Oct 26, 2016 at 2:52 pm

projek syiok sendiri ke ni..?

• brian chia on Oct 26, 2016 at 3:47 pm

100,000 e-motorbike makes more sense.

• 4G63T DSM on Oct 26, 2016 at 4:22 pm

Another bunch of shiok sendiri numbers again.

100,000 EVs in 3 years.

Thats 33,000 NEW EVs per year.

How many EVs are on the roads now? Or are they going to suddenly change the requirements to hybrids that can run on electricity alone?

A pipe dream, unless they mean electric bicycles or mopeds.

• Ahmadjr on Oct 26, 2016 at 4:52 pm

Is it april fool?

• Mikey on Oct 26, 2016 at 5:13 pm

I didn’t think it is possible(100,000)units until the news came out that a JV with a Chinese EV car manufacturer with a local partner is selling a German(Merc technology) EV car in M’sia.

Lets hope its price below 50k. With GreenTech partnering Petronas to install 1,000 stations up by end-2017 & 25,000 charging stations nationwide by 2020 to further support the push for EVs this is viable option.

• johnlabu on Oct 26, 2016 at 5:38 pm

In the US and Europe, Tesla owners charged their cars at solar-powered supercharging stations for FREE.

But in this country, do u all really believe that these charging stations will be free for the EV owners?

Think again.

• 100,000 EV in by 2020.
    Which city is most suitable for those EV? KL? High parking fee? Parking not more then 2 hours?

• Bernard on Oct 27, 2016 at 12:28 am

Ev’s are great for advanced civilised countries like the Scandinavian states.

Here pls get the basics right first. Even mat Rempit problem can’t solve, want to think of oneself highly !

• Kopi Kiss on Oct 29, 2016 at 11:43 am

100000 electric cars by 2020?? Yeah, right……….