Eight-lane highway planned for Gurney Drive – report

Gurney Drive

The Penang Public Works, Utilities and Transportation Committee is planning to build an eight-lane highway along Gurney Drive after the completion of reclamation works there, in order to aid the dispersion of traffic created from the Sri Tanjung Pinang 2 (STP2) project at Tanjung Tokong.

According to The Sun, the committee’s chairman Lim Hock Seng said that the highway was still in the conceptual stage and will be built on a portion of the reclaimed land.

He added that it will be connected to the proposed Tanjung Bungah-Teluk Bahang paired road as well as the Gurney Drive-Tun Dr Lim Chong Eu Expressway bypass, alleviating congestion.

Lim said that the highway is estimated to cost between RM300 million and RM400 million, an amount that is set “to be borne by the state at this point in time.” He added, however, that discussions on financing are still ongoing. “This will benefit the state,” Lim said.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• inb4 China in png is okays
    inb4 toll in png is okays
    inb4 unrestricted development in png is okays
    inb4 kronicontract in png is okays
    inb4 inb4….

CM1 berjaya!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 47
    • sick&tired on Nov 26, 2016 at 3:58 am

unlike BN machai’s, we won’t support the opposition blindly! If you guys will follow our lead, instead of bending over and letting the government screw you, Malaysia would be a better place!

With that said, the proposed eight lane highway on Gurney Drive is stupid and need to be scrapped. Leave Gurney Drive alone!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 28
      • Unlike BN mahais, u sapot leaders that says one thing yet do the opposite. As for GD, just look at the coastline and u know fighting it, is a lost cause cuz nobody dare persoal.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 8
      • AutoFrenz (the original) on Nov 26, 2016 at 12:32 pm

Whats the point…alwaya flooding…once a pearl island now a trash under current state govt…talk only…so embarassing…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 12
    • Interleukin on Nov 26, 2016 at 6:50 am

You had a fair dinkum go at constructing a concoction of non-sensical mumble jumble of pure bull crap. It’s remotely funny, uninspiring, and a total waste of other people’s time. Your grammar needs some work as far as i’m concerned. At least make your comments dank ffs.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 10
      • About as nonsensical as claims of selling out to China. Dun just read “news” from one side only. And theres a reason why I structured my grammar as it is.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
        • wan amran on Nov 27, 2016 at 3:14 am

Paultan should ban John.
          Laced with full of malice & hatred. We don’t need this kind of comments here.
          Wonder how such words can be allowed.
          I am a malay but i feel ashamed of the insults that John hurls day after day.
          Why do you get into an epileptic fits whenever the Penang government is in the news? Sedih.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 12
          • Becoz ur comrades post their filth practically everyday is acceptable for u?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 7
          • Initially I get agitated by the all the garbage this moron spews daily, especially if an article concerning LGE is posted. Now I am mainly amused, because I am convinced john is a psychopath posting as different persons and liking his own posts over and over again. He is like a rabid lapdog to his masters in BN and whenever his cage is rattled due to the many scandalous news detrimental to his masters, he goes into an epileptic fit. Barking dogs cause no harm, just annoyance. Mostly amusing to watch

• AutoFrenz (the original) on Nov 26, 2016 at 12:31 pm

Hopeless state govt…simple thing like flash flood also cannot settle…so under market value…the CM is a big joke…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 9
  • karpal sinking on Nov 26, 2016 at 7:31 am

No they won’t.

and also lol at whoever bought the condo at gurney drive.

• tom tom on Nov 26, 2016 at 10:54 am

wow…gudbye gurney drive then…

• AutoFrenz (the original) on Nov 26, 2016 at 2:35 pm

Of course this will benefit guan eng…you know la…hes known for that…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
  • orang biasa on Nov 26, 2016 at 3:43 pm

Habis la sekeliling gurney drive punya super condominiums…. No more beautiful view some more Price will drop. But i think the ppl live there sure have some power to stop the project.

• Henry on Nov 26, 2016 at 6:11 pm

There goes another iconic and historical landmark. So sad. Is this the progress people want?

• If island pipu voted them in and dun persoal, then they cant do anything but regret alredi, right?

• Boboy on Nov 27, 2016 at 3:33 pm

Only planning. Will never happen. They will say not enough money

• Developers in png have proven to be most friendly to the gov there… Deswai the whole state is Developer Association of P’ng

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
  • Faiz Roslan on Nov 27, 2016 at 9:01 pm

waste of money, this is the biggest corruption in malaysia, penang dont need a highway, it needs public transport. highway is a way for the cronies to make money, biggest corruption ever in malaysia

– Faiz Roslan CEng

• Mikey on Nov 28, 2016 at 9:27 am

Yes, it will be one of the biggest corruption in M’sia “if” PROVEN to be true. But “if” 1MDB is PROVEN to be true also, then 1MDB will be the BIGGEST corruption scandal of all time.

• A 2km highway along gurney drive for RM300-400 Million?

• Oh. In their case, its justifiable, transparent, fair, and “bersih”. So cannot persoal.

• azrina on Nov 28, 2016 at 12:07 am

its funny to read the comments here.

so many non-Penangites are saying things like they live in Penang and know everything about Penang.

biggest joke ever.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
    • Im from Penang and I would say the road sucks and the only way to drive to the back of the island is through countless lights. Not that this matters because people here are too busy bringing in political bs to care. Although i would rather have them build more parking spaces because that seems to be the biggest problem there.

• Ben Yap on Nov 28, 2016 at 9:55 am

Penang is akin to little singapore. small but successful.

• Png more successful than SG, cuz its not heading toward recession. So Png > SG

• taboogen on Nov 28, 2016 at 10:42 am

in malaysia even 8 lanes double decker would not solve the issue

• klguy on Nov 28, 2016 at 11:14 am

whats the big deal, they are already reclaiming a big bunch of land along gurney driving for a development including a theme park

• nasha on Nov 28, 2016 at 6:24 pm

the main issue at gurney drive is that all bloody people park right beside the road. lack of centralized parking space. why don’t the penang gomen build 1 tall multistory car park and tow away all those bloody cars park on the road? and mostly the jams only happen during dinner time jer. sooo penang gomen, you options are just reallocate the bloody foodcourt to somewhere else, just tow away all those cars parked at the side of the road or build 1 giant multistorey car park building.