MRT, feeder bus free for one month, says PM – report

Good news for those planning to take their first rides on the new Mass Rapid Transit (MRT) service tomorrow – prime minister Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak has announced that commuters will be able to board the trains for free for a month, starting from the opening of the service at 6:00 am.

Malay Mail reported that in addition to the first phase of the MRT Sungai Buloh-Kajang line, the premier said that the new feeder bus service will also follow suit. He made those comments at the launch of the service today, at the Kwasa Damansara station.

“As a new year’s gift to the people as well as to give an opportunity to all the rakyat to try the new, modern and efficient public transport, I want to announce that Rapid Rail will give free MRT service starting tomorrow until January 16, 2017” Najib said. “This includes the related feeder bus service. Fares will only be charged starting January 17, 2017.”

The first phase of the line, which runs from Sungai Buloh to Semantan, was originally slated to have fares ranging from RM1 to RM3.90. Now that you’ll be able to take the MRT at no cost for a limited time, how many of you will be boarding the trains tomorrow?

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• matraile on Dec 15, 2016 at 5:25 pm

No problem money wise from public fund GST

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 9
    • Kunta bin Kinte on Dec 15, 2016 at 6:21 pm

What a joke. Rakyat all suffering big time. If you are sincere, you should give a permanent reduction of say 30%, instead of Free for 1 month.

This is the same like asking us to tanam jagung and kangkung and telling us one whole chicken is RM1. While leaders enjoy billions, we suffer hardship in Malaysia.

Hello abang, don’t forget 75% of EPF contributors earn RM1500 and below. Those are official stats. While Ministers are enjoying billions whilst we suffer.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 36
      • kzm (Member) on Dec 15, 2016 at 9:26 pm

better ask free forever.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 22
        • Kunta bin Kinte on Dec 16, 2016 at 11:11 am

nothing in the head. People fight for cheaper prices for the rakyat also, there will be dungus who say it should not be cheaper

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
          • kzm (Member) on Dec 16, 2016 at 12:59 pm

Who donwan cheap thing? But cheap at what cost?

go cashless if u wanna get discount not gud enough?

• If your salary is RM1500, you are not qualify to pay EPF. Your official stats is at your dream is it?

• “gift”? Always “gift”?

If you paid money to hire an employee to build you a house, using your own money, then he says you can live there rent-free for one month.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 18
    • Yes. But u forgot the Gov that owns the land says they gip u 1 month free assessment rate. Thats the gift.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 19
    • kzm (Member) on Dec 15, 2016 at 9:32 pm

with ur logic..all thing should be free?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 20
      • outofmalaysia on Dec 16, 2016 at 8:05 am

typical malaysian mentality ma. everything must discount and free. try to ask their bosses to discount their salary see how they feel. tarak kerja kuat complain banyak lagi

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 12
      • Kunta bin Kinte on Dec 16, 2016 at 11:13 am

People not asking free. But asking cheaper price. try to learn English bro

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
        • kzm (Member) on Dec 16, 2016 at 12:53 pm

haha..u tell me to learn English. u should learn how to differentiate between correct, false n fake info. Take a look of ur own comment.
          Obviously pipu want cheap but asking ridiculously is not the way. Cheap can be so much that sumthing will be sacrifice. There should be a balance.

• Hot dog on Dec 16, 2016 at 1:19 pm

Bro … Malaysia car cheap or not ? I don know how to differentiate between corect , false n fake le !

• No, you are the one that misread.

It is not a “gift” if it is supposed to be your job. This is not asking for free. This should be just, “OK we have done the job, that we should do, that you have paid us in taxes to do.”

Try telling your boss, you have a present for him. That you worked today from 9-5pm. See whether his face got change or not.

• Hot dog on Dec 16, 2016 at 1:16 pm

No one asking free forever , You ?

• kapchai on Dec 15, 2016 at 5:45 pm

They are still testing it for 1 month and we volunteer to be human guinea pigs. So its fair that its free. In fact they should pay us ….. LOL!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 19
  • Ask to pay, bashers complain.
    Gip free, oso bashers complain.

#HidupUntukComplain

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 14
    • Gojeng on Dec 15, 2016 at 7:17 pm

Give free forever oso gonna complain like “it’s Government’s responsibility to give us free stuff at the first place” or “no pay at all? yeah it’s a dedak for next general election”.

#ComplainTillDie

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 7
    • waters on Dec 16, 2016 at 9:52 am

Then let’s compromise. Monday, Wednesday and Friday are paying days. Tuesday and Thursday is free.

How? Haha

• Nobody complain about pay or give.

It’s the attitude of, “See, this is our gift to you”. As if it’s not their job in the first place.

The government is our SERVANT/EMPLOYEE not PEMERINTAH. This is DEMOCRACY.

• Hot dog on Dec 16, 2016 at 8:57 pm

Df….. i don know why some peoples still thinking gov servant is thier boss. . ” The boss ” must be very shiok now ! Haha !

• Onexox on Dec 15, 2016 at 9:59 pm

Dear Mr Najib….Please step down as soon as possible….Thank you

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 23
  • Mikey on Dec 15, 2016 at 10:35 pm

There is NO such thing as Free Lunch BUT it is a sensible way of asking the Rakyat to try out the system if it works for U b4 U decide 2 use the services.

The Rakyat have nothing to loose by trying it out since the Rakyat is already paying for it through our taxes directly or indirectly. The bright side is U save some $$$ for at least 1 month.

• offisial wan on Dec 16, 2016 at 8:25 am

Wheretf is 2.6B ??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 10
  • passion on Dec 16, 2016 at 9:29 am

if jib steps down another will come. same old story. so lets be thankful for the food on our table. remember whoever wins we lose!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
  • thankful the line completed on time, will try it later. Good work.

• Abedhen on Dec 16, 2016 at 7:25 pm

free for 1 month. Later, the mrt will make tonnes of profit from riders.

I bet there are some contracts signed between the operator and govt….when the operator lose money in the mrt buziness, the govt will compensate….using tax-payers money.

Similar to highway operators…..So, “enjoy” the free rides while you can…..