UMW Toyota appoints Ravindran Kurusamy as new company president, replaces Datuk Ismet Suki

UMW Toyota Motor has announced the appointment of Ravindran Kurusamy as the new president of the company, replacing Datuk Ismet Suki whose term has ended after 26 years of service to the company.

“Ravindran has been with the company for 26 years and in that time, he has taken on positions in different division,” said Tan Sri Asmat Kamaludin, group chairman of UMW Holdings and chairman of UMW Toyota Motor.

“This has given him valuable insights into the company’s operations as well as its relationship with our joint-venture partner, Toyota Motor Corporation. I am therefore confident that he has the knowledge and capabilities to lead UMW Toyota Motor ahead in (the) coming years,” he added.

Kurusamy’s appointment will come into effect on January 1, 2017, where he aims to “take the company further and to continue the momentum of growth even though times are challenging for the automotive industry.”

“It is my objective to maximize Toyota’s overall performance in the Malaysian market and ensure that the brand remains a major player in the country’s automotive sector,” he said, and also took the time to pay tribute to his predecessor for his dedication to bring the company to its current level.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Operation Manager on Dec 22, 2016 at 7:55 pm

Looking forward HOW Ravin can beat Honda sales, return back to non-national No.1 …?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
    • DPCraft on Dec 23, 2016 at 12:30 pm

Hopefully this means a change for Toyota. More specs & lower pricing plss.
      Also pls bring the new 8AT, better than cvt. If this happen, Toyota might overtake Honda.

• Albert on Dec 22, 2016 at 8:12 pm

Mr.Kuru
    It is high time,u drop prices to regain market share.
    UMW has lost to Honda for months now.
    Toyota sales shot up in Nov due to REBATES.
    INCREASE THOSE REBATES by 50% in 2017 before CNY.
    I m sure you can regain some decent market share.STOP the premium pricing.
    Undercut Honda,I m sure your hardcore supporters will come back in droves.
    You have worked for a quarter century in this PROFIT MAD organisation.
    Give some benefits back to your loyal supporters.
    You dont need rocket science to understand this.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
    • JapanCarsNo.1 on Dec 23, 2016 at 1:01 pm

R u serious? 50% rebates? That’s not just about losing money. That’s like putting a toyota logo on a floor & u step it hard. It will be a humiliation to all japanese automotive!

• He mentioned increasing rebate by 50% lah, not 50% of the car price. What humiliation are you referring to? We are talking about dropping prices for Toyota, a mass brand to begin with and has CKD operations in Malaysia too. At the moment, UMW is pocketing a huge profit margin for each car with the specs they are offering.

• Even the pricing of premium brand Lexus is a joke under UMW.

• gopsvana on Dec 22, 2016 at 8:27 pm

Congrats to you Sir

• Dear Sir Ravindran,
    My hearty congrats for being the appointed president. With lots of hope, we hope you take the necessary initiatives to reduce the extreme pricing of Toyota cars which the ultimate factor of sales drop in Malaysia. Also, please launch more hybrid (PHEV) variant in our market as a step to preserve mother nature of our country which is vastly exploited. Additionally, please load more features (interior, exterior and safety) in Toyota car like those in our neighbouring countries rather than providing it optionally for extra bucks and also sustain those feature without remodeling it. By this, I hope Toyota would progress better. Please consider us as we are genuine customers of Toyota. Hope you Look Forward to those mentioned.

• bring many Manual as possible

• BalanKashmir on Dec 23, 2016 at 1:56 pm

Congratulations Sir. Hope you keep Toyota moving forward ahead of its classic rival Hando.

• RavenAii (Member) on Dec 23, 2016 at 2:15 pm

With his appointment became the President of UMW, hopefully Toyota vehicles would be equipped with technologies and gadgets that suits its pricetag, or even better, same spec directly from JDM or USDM. Lets see how thing goes.

• Kunta bin malik on Dec 23, 2016 at 2:27 pm

Malaysians prefer Honda and many people opting for continentals cars such as VW. The trend now is turbocharging, if Toyota doesn’t use turbo , their sales will just drop more. It’s reality.

• RavenAii (Member) on Dec 27, 2016 at 6:53 pm

Turbocharged engine are more complicated to use and maintain. Some turbo design needs the engine to be warm up before people could drive the car away. Most Malaysian, on the other hand, press the throttle the moment they start the engine. Honda Civic’s turbo failure that most people heard of, are actually caused by immature driving behaviour of car owners. So in my opinion, it is a safe side if Toyota did not want to implement Turbo charging on their engines. Never try to destroy reliable engine, it may seems old, but reliable bruh.

• BOHSAN on Dec 23, 2016 at 5:36 pm

JUST PLEASE PUT MORE HATCH MODELS.. PLEASE BRING ALL NEW YARIS.. I’VE TIRED OF THOSE VIOS.. OUR CLOSEST THAI & INDO GOT THEM.. PLEASE SOMEONE JUST CONVEY MY MESSAGE TO HIM HA HA..

• gusgusdur on Dec 24, 2016 at 9:55 am

Toyota can change everything……but could NEVER change their high-priced-car but low-safety-standard and low quality-equipments.

• mohd ridhwan abdullah on Dec 24, 2016 at 10:21 am

congragulations on your appointment sir.wishing you all the best in this current challanging times.hope to see Toyota no 1 again under your management.

• Atz1999 on Dec 25, 2016 at 10:23 pm

Toyota should learn from MB. Build a car one class ahead from the rivals with competitive price.Customers are looking for intelligent, aerodynamic, performance,comfort, reliable and safety.