Dendrobium set to make global debut at Geneva – Singapore’s first, orchid-inspired electric supercar

Singapore’s first home-grown electric supercar – the Dendrobium – will make its global debut in concept form at the upcoming Geneva Motor Show. As a recap, the two-seater, electric hypercar is the work of Vanda Electrics, in association with Williams Advanced Engineering.

The company’s official release did not offer a whole lot of details, but it is claimed to offer the “latest in e-powertrain development.” It was previously reported that the Dendrobium will be propelled by four Yasa electric motors will provide a total output of 1,500 hp and 4,000 Nm of torque. The car is claimed to hit 100 km/h from a standstill in under 2.6 seconds, and hit a top speed of 400 km/h.

The Dendrobium will also feature advanced aerodynamics, lightweight composite structures, as well as the “world’s lowest carbon leather” from Bridge of Weir Leather Company that leaves less of an impact on the environment during production.

In terms of styling, the Dendrobium is as outlandish as you would expect a concept to be, with a pointed nose, large wheel arches and a fighter jet-like cockpit. It also gets automatic roof and doors, which open in a “synchronised, theatrical manner, resembling a fully-opened dendrobium flower, a genus of orchids native to Singapore.” Yes, the car is named after a Singapore orchid.

“Dendrobium is the first Singaporean hypercar and the culmination of Vanda Electrics’ expertise in design and technology. We are delighted to be working with Williams Advanced Engineering, world-leaders in aerodynamics, composites and electric powertrains and Bridge of Weir Leather Company, makers of the finest, lowest-carbon leather in the world,” said Vanda Electrics CEO Larissa Tan.

“The Dendrobium is inspired by nature and rooted in technology, a marriage of design and engineering – I can’t wait to reveal the car to the world in March,” she continued.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Leafable on Jan 19, 2017 at 10:22 am

Singapore have all the brain power Malaysia don’t have.

• 12yrsold on Jan 19, 2017 at 10:26 am

Looks more like the next Bat Mobile for Batman !!

• No way this can compete with our Malaysia Proton.

• malaysia on Jan 19, 2017 at 10:41 am

oh my god, now even Singaporean have their own electric supercar, when our country could have one ya? I think another 10 yrs from now, still petrol power car.

• Ah Kow on Jan 19, 2017 at 3:59 pm

Singapore don’t even produce cars and yet there are able to come up with something like that.

We Malaysians have been in the automotive industry for years and yet NOTHING came up. Tak maju la

• county on Jan 19, 2017 at 5:13 pm

It not car for mass market, only certain pipu can afford to buy.

• matt farrel on Jan 19, 2017 at 10:44 am

and we’re still waiting for proton’s hybrid/electric car that they promised ages ago….

• joeltong on Jan 19, 2017 at 10:45 am

Oh my god! Even Singapore come out with electric hyper car, our country produce car for more than 10 yrs, still unable produce such car yet.

• Abg deris on Jan 21, 2017 at 11:07 pm

Hahaha , make sure the car maker give power bank to charge the car

• joelton on Jan 19, 2017 at 10:53 am

Oh my god! Even Singapore could come out with electric hyper car, our country more than 10 yrs manufacturing, still unable come out with such model.

• tokmoh. on Jan 19, 2017 at 11:54 am

RX78-GP03 Gundam Dendrob… Oh waiii

• kereta_lembu on Jan 19, 2017 at 1:14 pm

Great, we’re being screwed over by our neighbours again! OK time to make the world’s biggest kite or biggest bowl of laksa to regain some pride. XD

• Operation Manager on Jan 19, 2017 at 1:37 pm

All human have brain, but biggest kite, bubur or laksa use NO brain, just gather sufficient man power & materials to do it.

• Ah Kow on Jan 19, 2017 at 4:01 pm

That is basically what kereta_lembu is trying to imply duhhhh

• No worries. We still have Bufori

• Damn that’s an ugly car.. unfortunately designing a car to look at futuristic as possible disguises how uninspiring the design really is…I know I’m gonna get some hate for this..it’s the same thing happening in the mainstream segment as well..to me the Honda Civic is an overly designed incohesive mess and it’s getting away with it because it looks ‘futuristic’ o ..but bad design is bad design… it’s gonna really age bad…to each his own i guess…

• Fugly looking car.
    I bet their first model will be called “Deondrium Kiasu” xD

• Mikey on Jan 19, 2017 at 3:50 pm

OMG, this Dendrobium is propelled by 4 Yasa electric motors & can hit 100 km/h in under 2.6 seconds not to mention top speed of 400 km/h.

Move over ICE & force induction Supercar, this Hypercar is the real deal & Environmental friendly too.

• Sonyman1 on Jan 19, 2017 at 4:13 pm

Majulah Singapura

• Nice potochop. We alredi got 5 concept lotus, so welcome to the club!

• Semi-Value (Member) on Jan 20, 2017 at 10:17 am

macam vaporware