Next-generation Subaru XV teased, debuts in Geneva

Fuji Heavy Industries (FHI) has announced that the all-new Subaru XV will make its global debut at the upcoming Geneva Motor Show in March. To go along with the announcement, the company also launched a dedicate website with a countdown timer, as well as release its first teaser image of the crossover.

While the former is a great way to pass the time, watching the timer tick itself down, the latter is a whole lot more interesting. The darkened photo you see here shows us the new car’s profile, which looks nearly identical to the Impreza five-door hatchback (pictured below) that was launched in Singapore recently, albeit with roof rails, a higher ride height, funky wheels and plastic cladding to suit its “go-anywhere” persona.

This isn’t much of a surprise as we’ve already known from an earlier report that the next-generation XV will follow the same recipe as the current car, which also includes borrowing the same platform as its C-segment sibling. In this case, it is the Subaru Global Platform, which provides an improved overall vehicle performance thanks to various enhancements you can read about, here.

Other design highlights that are to be expected on the XV include C-shaped headlamps and taillights; a prominent character that flows over both wheels and just beneath the beltline; as well as the latest ‘Dynamic x Solid’ styling cues showcased on the XV concept from last year.

As for powertrains, the XV will be offered with a range of Subaru boxer engines paired with the company’s Lineartronic CVT and Symmetrical AWD system. Hybrid models with an electric motor will also likely make their way to specific markets.

Interested? Well, the new XV is set to arrive in Malaysia this year, according to Glenn Tan, executive director of Tan Chong International, who had also previously stated that the company’s Segambut plant would be ready in time to produce next-generation Subaru models that area underpinned by the Subaru Global Platform, like the XV.

GALLERY: Subaru XV Concept from the 2016 Geneva Motor Show

GALLERY: Subaru Impreza five-door hatchback at the 2017 Singapore Motor Show

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Kunta Kinte on Jan 23, 2017 at 4:03 pm

From MAA figures, amazing how Subaru has grown by leaps and bounds. I am confident the brand has made a great comeback in Malaysia.

This goes to show, when you are lean and you don’t employ people for fun, your company can do well and succeed.

Car companies that are doing badly should just sack half their staff or deadwood to transform itself for success

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
  • Francis Ho on Jan 23, 2017 at 4:13 pm

Please bring in the MT version

• applegreen on Jan 23, 2017 at 5:04 pm

Motorimage will sell alot of XVs if manual trans available here. I think there will be 2 trims; higher trim maybe get subaru eyesight

• The dashboard looks like Iriz lol

• Foreign overlords copy P1 is okays, wor. But if P1 copy others, sure kena bash.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
    • I am Iriz owner, the dash board simply different, and Iriz is bad …..noisy and jerking gearbox and noisy knocking sound inside dashboard…..only thing just is just handling….

• Chyan on Jan 23, 2017 at 7:06 pm

I’ve always been fond of Subarus. I wonder how does their service centers fare though?

In Japan, they’re one of the most popular brands around for the average joes.

• Dear MotorImage. Please CKD the next-gen Forester XT. The Subie fans will love you for it. You have no idea how long they are waiting for it.