BMW 118i M Sport launched in Malaysia – RM189k

The BMW 118i M Sport is now on sale in Malaysia, priced at RM188,800, on-the-road without insurance, inclusive of a five-year, unlimited mileage warranty, as well as free scheduled servicing and the BMW Tyre Warranty programme. This pegs the BMW 118i M Sport at the same price as when 118i Sport was first launched in Malaysia, just over a year ago. The 118i Sport now goes for RM177k, thanks to EEV incentives.

Mechanically, the 118i remains the same under the hood, with the marque’s 1.5 litre, three-cylinder turbocharged engine which also features in the LCI 318i. Here in the 1 Series, it produces 136 hp at 4,400 rpm and 220 Nm from 1,250 to 4,300 rpm, paired to an eight-speed automatic driving the rear wheels. This premium hatchback can perform the century sprint in 8.7 seconds, while its combined fuel consumption is rated at 5.1 litres per 100 km.

The M Sport kit includes the M Aerodynamics bodykit, the M Sport suspension package along with 18-inch M Sport light alloy wheels. In front, the kidney grille receives gloss black-painted grille slats, headlamps and fog lamps are LED units, while BMW Individual high-gloss shadow line finishing complements the M logos to indicate the 118i M Sport’s more sporting slant.

Inside, the 118i M Sport also gains M Sport trim, where the rear-wheel-drive hatchback’s sportier side is hinted at with a blue stripe which runs across the dashboard, while the M Sport leather-bound steering wheel with sport and multifunction buttons offers a more driver-focused seating environment, as does the presence of sports seats with driver’s seat memory function and anthracite (black) headlining.

A couple of extra equipment has been added over the Sport, including Comfort Access keyless entry, cruise control and a Business navigation system with a 6.5-inch iDrive display. Otherwise, kit count remains the same and includes LED headlights and fog lights, dual-zone auto air-con, auto lights and wipers, front and rear parking sensors and power-adjustable front seats with driver’s side memory.

Safety equipment remains as before, with six airbags as standard (two front, two side, two curtain), a Dynamic Stability Control system (DSC) with ABS, Automatic Stability Control (ASC), Cornering Brake Control (CBC) and Dynamic Traction Control (DTC) on top of Isofix child seat anchors in the rear seats.

As with the new BMW 330e M Sport, the 118i M Sport comes in Black Sapphire, Mineral Grey, Estoril Blue and Alpine White. It will be in local showrooms from February 13 onwards. Full specifications on CarBase.my.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• Mikey on Feb 01, 2017 at 2:01 pm

Lets open up some debates/opinions here shell we !! Yeah, the BMW M Sport sure looks good in 18-inch form. With “only” 136 hp/220 Nm, am sure many young driver who drive a Civic Turbo would like to test their car against this 118i.

The question is – “Would a young driver of this 118i dare to engage his BMW with a Civic in a drag/sprint race” ??!! I’m assuming most who buy/drive are either young or young at heart.

Heck, you can even throw in a Suprima to make it more exciting bcos this P1 also have quite similar h/p & nm.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 32
    • Three words. Rear wheel drive.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 2
      • nabill (Member) on Feb 01, 2017 at 2:14 pm

and the badge

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 1
      • Altimet on Feb 01, 2017 at 2:34 pm

Actually from inline 6 to 4 cylinders and now becomes 3. So for future 3 series we can conclude that it has only 2 rounded cylinders, and the last 3 series maybe has 2 small cylinders with 1 long cylinder. That’s truly a man car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
        • Mikey on Feb 01, 2017 at 2:46 pm

Bro Altimet, I did not get U on first reading but on Second reading, I started laughing when I ‘Understand’ what U mean by “2 small cylinders with 1 long cylinder”.

Now that’s what I call Thinking out of the Box. Ha ha ha. Thank for cheering me/us up bro. You’re the MAN.

• Basherlogic on Feb 02, 2017 at 3:10 am

According to bashers, real man’s car should have exhaust at centre

• Kunta Kinte on Feb 01, 2017 at 7:21 pm

Do you know that this car is so tiny that most people find it hard to even get in?

Shockingly, even a Rm40k Myvi is more spacious. Pity Malaysians. Spend RM190k on a car but got to cram like sardine inside.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 25
        • you can always buy a van or even 2 vans if not enough space at much cheaper price. Still got balance for you to add spoiler on your vans.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 1
          • pxp154 on Feb 02, 2017 at 12:18 am

Nkh, wahahah…of course, van or mpv…sure bigger…

true kunta, rear legroom too small, 3rd person sitting in the rear – killer!
            but myvi vs 118i… dont nd to compare, not same page at all…

• Bmwsux on Feb 02, 2017 at 2:45 am

Buy a hybrid x5, you can tell anyone it still in charging when kaput

• seancorr (Member) on Feb 01, 2017 at 2:19 pm

Can always try no harm since BMW always under quote it’s performance but I rather be in the 118i. It looks better at the valet compared to the Civic or Suprima.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 4
      • Badge snob spotted!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 27
        • Reasons why the 1 series is better. RWD, very efficient engines with near real-world consumption, well built, above par interior plastics. What I want you to do is sit in the BMW and touch everything, scratch every surface & press every button. Now do the same in a civic or in a golf. Nothing cheaper comes close. A Golf TSI may be cheaper, more spacious & ergonomically better designed but it doesn’t offer a comparable driving dynamics unless you go for a GTI which costs a lot more.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 4
          • Buroks on Feb 02, 2017 at 3:15 am

What? Plastic? I thought luxury car no plastic inside. Just real wood or metal. Or is this low cost unit? Or the wood inside us termite magnet?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
        • Badge snob? Park these 2 cars side by side and hop into the interior. This cheapo BMW will make the civic look so ugly. The interior quality of the 1 series is superior to the civic in every way imaginable.

Remember, this is the cheapest BMW you can buy, while the Civic is a mid range Honda.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 4
          • FnF10 on Feb 02, 2017 at 2:53 am

Both are ugly. Civic is like squashed crab and this junk is like retard car with loooong bonnet but no butts

• Shameful on Feb 02, 2017 at 3:20 am

You know la the beemer interior can get peeled off or detached by itself after some time. But that cannot beat melted jepunis CBU car dashboard. Malu betul

• I don't have bmw on Feb 01, 2017 at 2:20 pm

U want drag and drift? Buy BMX.

• mr1031 on Feb 01, 2017 at 2:48 pm

typical malaysian road abuser..u want to go racing go sepang la..

• Which one, in your opinion would attract more cewek?
      a bmw or a civic. also, street racing is illegal,
      i’d rather race with missile car than expensive euro car just incase jpj tarik.
      It’s not always about bhp/top kmph, bmw is like that expensive flat nose cat.

• Dude, those that wants to perform a sprint and drive like a douche bag not gonna get a the modest 118i to thrash your civic…
      Those who get a 118i don’t even bother to race with your civic dude!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
      • A cheaper jetta can even outdrag both civic and this 118i but the VW may face more time in workshop than either the civic or 1 series.

Given a choice of civic cvt or 1 series 8 speed gearbox, i will go for the 1 series. The rwd and the gearbox wins all.

• And how much are you sure that the civic driver dare to floor it to 207kmh? Any unexpected road conditions may render the civic vulnerable to accident, with it’s inferior brake and driving dynamics relative to 118i

• Fanfan on Feb 02, 2017 at 9:59 am

It’s all about the built quality,civic cant go anywhere close to bmw level and plusss there were tonnes of civic on the bolehland road,if you own this bmw,it’s kinda not typical car otr

• GTi-R on Feb 02, 2017 at 1:42 pm

kerb weight of each of them?

• Judging by the lack of paddle shifters, this doesn’t have the sport auto transmission right?

• seancorr (Member) on Feb 01, 2017 at 2:21 pm

Nope it doesn’t have it if u look at the gear lever but u can code to have paddle shifters with a new steering.

• applegreen on Feb 01, 2017 at 2:20 pm

Drag/sprint race is for amateur. If the civic driver really excited to challenge 118i, try race at proper race track

• Traxx on Feb 02, 2017 at 3:23 am

Civic is slow at corners, bmw engine burnt, Suprima S wins hands down

• potato look, family face yet ugly

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 11
  • Jay Law on Feb 01, 2017 at 4:31 pm

Seems like EX5 boys are bickering

• 12yrsold on Feb 01, 2017 at 4:59 pm

Thanks Mikey for starting the ball rolling otherwise there will be less bashing/opinions in this comment section. Now I know how to start a conversation with our fellow commentators here. Gong Xi Fa Chai to those who is celebrating CNY.

• Its easy. Just follow:
      1. Stick to the topic/brand of the article. Dun bring in unrelated brands.
      2. No old stories, hearsays, rumours, myths, lies
      3. No self-likes just to feel proud
      4. Read b4 comment, and b4 ask questions that google can answer
      5. Dun act like 12 years old here. U be roasted.

• 12yrsold on Feb 01, 2017 at 9:10 pm

I must say your No3 point is very likable. Maybe we should ask PT to ‘show’ who is the actual voter. That way, we will know who voted & how many times a person voted the same comment. Cheers …. to transparency.

• Its PT to decide on that, but us regulars here can see thru which r real and which r fakes. Only noobs belip in absolute numbers. Cheers.

• Mazda6D on Feb 01, 2017 at 6:46 pm

If you absolutely must have a BMW nvm it only has 3 legs instead of 4

• Mikey on Feb 02, 2017 at 10:23 am

I must say A Big thank Q to each & everyone who took their valuable time to reply on a no holds barred comments section.

It is really interesting to note that some chaps took the opportunity 2 take potshot/being personal at me even when I specifically mention that it is just 2 start/open up some debates/opinions.

Maybe PT.org is a blog that is good 4 people 2 vent their frustrations in-order to keep themselves happy. For that reason, I must thank PT.org for providing an avenue to commentators 2 air their knowledge & 2 let off some steam at the same time.

Keep letting off some steam bro if it is Good for U. There is a saying :- “If it is Good for the Goose, it should be good for the Gander”.

• Bmw and Merc are more common than Protons in certain areas and man they are boring to look at..I mean I understand the badge catchet and bla bla bla.. but if it’s everywhere it’s no longer exclusive and apart from certain Merc models and 1 BMW model..the rest are super drab! ..btw there is a BMW in my household so I’m not blindly bashing..but it is getting ridiculous at this point where every Ahmad, Ah Chong and Ashok moves up to these brands or aims to move up …boring la ….