Ambulance-blocking Myvi driver rushing for medicine

The driver of the now infamous Myvi caught on dashcam obstructing an ambulance on the emergency lane of the Federal Highway has surrendered himself at the Shah Alam police headquarters on Wednesday. Apparently, he was rushing to pick up medication left inside a stalled taxi in Glenmarie, The Star reports.

Selangor traffic police chief Supt Kamaludin Mohamad said the 58-year-old man, who is a taxi driver, is diabetic and has a heart condition. “He used the emergency lane because he was in urgent need of his medication, which was inside his stalled taxi in Glenmarie. He had not taken his medication for more than 24 hours,” the cop said.

The cabbie/offending driver told police that he was unaware that an ambulance was behind his car, and that he only noticed it after belatedly seeing the emergency vehicle in the rear-view mirror. “He tried to give way to the ambulance, but it was too late,” Supt Kamaludin said. Police fined the him for abusing the emergency lane. Seems to have got off lightly, don’t you think?

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• YA right… Rushing for medicine… Typical Malaysian… Always has excuses

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 161 Thumb down 3
    • azrai on Feb 03, 2017 at 10:57 am

I don’t think it was him behind the wheel. The Myvi owner might be the old taxi driver but I really suspecting his teen son behind the wheel. He took the blame for his son!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 116 Thumb down 0
      • azrai on Feb 03, 2017 at 4:47 pm

I just read another report from a local news. The Myvi is under this old taxi driver’s name actually. This boy get his lame old father to take blame for his sin. Got damn this boy. Anak manja.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 1
    • Horizon Sailor on Feb 03, 2017 at 12:30 pm

I dont take what this old man sell..An elderly/veteran driver normally didnt drive like that. Drive like hell and zig zag like nak mampos. Must be his children behind the wheels and this old man want to cover up for his kids stupidity…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 75 Thumb down 1
      • Kunta Kinte on Feb 03, 2017 at 2:41 pm

This can only mean one thing. Polis have already got their ang pau from this man. Now, NFC. No further Action.

Very simple. No need to crack your heads what really happened. Join PDRM if you want to be a millionaire.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 26
      • Hope the police have done enough investigation to believe that uncle is the driver. Who know that it might be some body else… The myvi owner should be fined too cause use the dark tinted. I’ve seen many times, drivers of heavy tinted cars drive like hell since others can’t see his / her shameless face

• pumpkin76 on Feb 03, 2017 at 4:04 pm

Only one simple question:

Why PDRM believe him?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 1
    • He took the blame for his son, who was the one driving like a loon in the video. Let’s hope both of them have learned their lessons, especially the irresponsible, ambulance brake-checking son.

• Driver is kuntaKatak on Feb 04, 2017 at 12:45 am

Joke of the year with this kind of excuse

• Yeah yeah. We belip u (LOL!)

MY pipu kulture:
    When think nobody looking, will commit offenses.
    When kena tangkap, will gip excuses.
    When get fine, will try to bribes.
    When din accept deadak, will maki-hamuns.
    When kena expose, will try to justify.
    When cannot justify, will says ini salah Gov.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 111 Thumb down 3
  • myvi is king on Feb 03, 2017 at 9:53 am

Now it make sense…. he intended to do this because if he suddenly fainted or nearly nak mampus because of lack medication… the ambulance is just on his back. Truly clever guy… siapkan payung sebelum hujan…. BULL****. Trust the driver is the daddy of the real culprit… dah besar pun menyusahkan mak bapak!!!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 75 Thumb down 1
    • komarad on Feb 03, 2017 at 11:31 am

that the problem, if the one surrender not the real culprit, the real culprit will go on doing bigger misdeed as somebody will bail him/her out when caught in the act….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 1
    • As a doctor, I can assure u guys that whenever a patient didn’t take his medication for more than 24 hours it can lead the person to become deaf and dumb. At 48 hours, they’ll start talking nonsense. Those who believe their story are equally dumb**s

• hyin21 on Feb 03, 2017 at 9:53 am

he was fined anyway, good.
    in yesterday news, another caught using emergency lane, the excuse lagi lame….he said he is rushing home for CNY reunion dinner….

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 87 Thumb down 0
  • seem like he is deaf because the ambulance was right behind him with sirens switched on yet he didn’t know??? bullocks and surprised pdrm bought into the reasoning! and if he is deaf or nearing deaf, why is he still a taxi driver???

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 0
  • positive man on Feb 03, 2017 at 9:57 am

sorry the offender’s reason is not logic. Poeple can gives million excuses but action speaks louder than words. You said u didnt noticed the ambulance was behind your car? okay logically human have 5 senses, how about your sight? you didnt notice the ambulance car was in hurry through your car rear mirror? r u blind? how about ypur hearing? you in panic chasing taxi for your medicine but you didnt hear the ambulance alarm sound was behind you? deaf or what? be positive guys

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 1
  • drMpower on Feb 03, 2017 at 10:00 am

Yea righhtttt
    From his story it seems he isnt fit to drive so take back his lisence

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 0
  • andrew on Feb 03, 2017 at 10:04 am

ask the driver to provide medical proof. also , it is impossible not to realize an ambulance behind, unless he is blasting his sound system in his dark tinted myvi !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 0
  • 12yrsold on Feb 03, 2017 at 10:06 am

If what he say is true. He should let the ambulance pass-by & follow the ambulance.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 0
  • Unaware..? Can’t hear the loud blaring siren..?
    No medicine can cure stupidity.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 1
  • Hot dog on Feb 03, 2017 at 10:15 am

Hahaha… 2017 most funniest joke !!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 1
  • ManUniversal on Feb 03, 2017 at 10:25 am

Couldn’t believe the police accepted the driver’s excuse. In the videocam, he purposely braked so hard that the ambulance almost rear ended his car before he finally sped off. He did that perhaps out of anger because the ambulance was blaring with siren behind him and yet he refused to give way.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 0
  • Noah Thiruchelvan on Feb 03, 2017 at 10:31 am

Banyak alasan la this uncle

• Malaysia boleh on Feb 03, 2017 at 10:51 am

After this every offender that abused the emergency lane will use this kind of excuse and only get fine from PDRM. Well done only in Malaysia boleh land.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 0
  • KarmaComing 2Uncle on Feb 03, 2017 at 11:03 am

So old oredi, still wanna tipu???.
    Taubat lah…..before its too late to do anything.

• Sgt Scoop on Feb 03, 2017 at 11:08 am

It worked for Sir Alex Ferguson.

• Rulered on Feb 03, 2017 at 11:13 am

He must provide letter from a certified doctor(s) treating him to provide proof of his medical condition and it’s severity which comes to a second point, if his medical condition is bad, then PDRM should have proactive effort to refer him to a JPJ medical board and decide whether he is fit to drive on public road. This way, drivers will never take things lightly. Pakai akal sikit ler PDRM.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 0
  • Gaviny on Feb 03, 2017 at 11:17 am

It’s not fair to those that were hauled to court and fined and appeared in the news. No consistency so keep up with the public policing because law enforcement suka suka

• Anything But P1, Greedy P2 on Feb 03, 2017 at 11:31 am

What is this? Just pay saman? Clearly shows that he got away from it. Show his face, Shame him in public. He is wrong because of his ignorance and stupidity. But the truth is he is a selfish road user. Give a heavy punishment. It should be a lesson to all. Shows that the police traffic, JPJ, liow and law enforcer are not serious with the crime he made.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 2
    • By law, RM300 fine is max punishment. If 1st time offender, still cannot tarik lesen. And naming & shaming offenders is not built into the road law. So how?

• James on Feb 03, 2017 at 11:41 am

Unfortunately it’s hard to believe, most 58y/olds I know don’t drive as fast. And those who do, are usually very well experienced after decades of driving. They hardly if ever panic when they find themselves in complicated situations. Although there are 50+y/olds who aren’t that good of a driver to begin with and you won’t find themselves in the emergency lane, they’d be creeping at 50km/h in the rightmost lane. Unless, although I hate to say it, if it’s a 58y/old woman. Now that would be a completely different story. Not forgetting the fact that the myvi has blacked out windows along with stickers on the back window? I doubt any 58y/old would do that. Even those with peculiar taste won’t do that. It’s most probably his son driving the car that’s registered under his name. Not saying old people are perfect drivers, but the mistakes that old people do on the road is totally different compared to the types of what younger drivers would commit and the myvi looks like as if it was driven by a younger driver.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 0
  • clutch_plate on Feb 03, 2017 at 11:45 am

Lame excuses..

• Eddie on Feb 03, 2017 at 11:46 am

Should publish the name of the driver and his son to PUBLICLY SHAME them.

Then we’ll see if the RM300 fine is worth it or not

• Bernard on Feb 03, 2017 at 11:47 am

Taxi driver and MYVI………both infamous. What do you expect?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
  • saladin on Feb 03, 2017 at 12:07 pm

58 years old taxi driver with health condition n driving lowered n dark tinted myvi recklessly . Dosent gel at all.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
  • Siew Chin on Feb 03, 2017 at 12:22 pm

Cut in and out without banging any car means no blind but pekak teruk…

• C.P.MOHAN on Feb 03, 2017 at 12:22 pm

Rushing to take MY medicine so I do not care about OTHERS. What a Jerk.

• heybadigol (Member) on Feb 03, 2017 at 12:35 pm

Hope he is telling the truth – surely the police will investigate first before making such public statements. While it is hard to believe that the driver did not notice the ambulance behind, it could be because he was diabetic, which causes fatigue. Am not diabetic and not a senior citizen, so unable to relate to it.

• Stupid excuse. How on earth he didn’t realise the ambulance directly behind him with all the sirens and flashing lights. There’s no reason to block the ambulance. If you are also on an emergency, let the ambulance pass first and follow from behind.

• It was quite obvious it wasn’t him. He’s just taking the fall for his son as he would be able to harness more sympathy from the authorities. It wasn’t him in the car. It was the owner of the car which is the son.

• James on Feb 03, 2017 at 1:12 pm

58yo taxi driver who drives erratically, has extremely dark tinted windows and couldn’t hear the ambulance (probably music was too loud). Yeah, sure, we believe. Like all the Ah Ma who used up their life savings to buy their Nissan GTRs and driving on the road….

• Bangku on Feb 03, 2017 at 1:15 pm

Stupid excuse should at least jail for a day

• more like a he is standing in for someone, 58 years old driving in that kind of manner ? Hahaha…. and purposely break for the ambulance to knock at him ?

• My father a liar. Me... a liar too on Feb 03, 2017 at 3:24 pm

Dear PDRM,

Please reveal the taxi registration number of this old man.
    I swear i wont take his taxi because he is diabetic and have heart problem.
    Not only he risk his own life…. people life also in jeopardy….
    Gila punya keje nih……

• Ben Yap on Feb 03, 2017 at 3:34 pm

since he need medicine, why not he just flag down the ambulance and tumpang naik?

• konpius on Feb 03, 2017 at 3:51 pm

I don’t understand how could this guy be in another car rushing to his stalled taxi many miles away to get his medicine. Even if this is true, he could just go to the nearest hospital or clinic to get medication instead of driving like a bat on a busy road. Morever he claims to be a taxi driver but he was not aware of the blaring sirens from the ambulance behind him. If true, then the authorities should revoke his taxi licence as his insipid driving skills is a threat to his passengers and other road users.

• Kereta Merah on Feb 03, 2017 at 4:55 pm

Baca seribu kali pun susah nak percaya…

• Leonardo on Feb 03, 2017 at 4:55 pm

When this story first broke out, I joked with my friend in the office that the driver must have some kind of medical emergency to drive like a crazy person.
    When your story came out about the medical emergency excuse given by the “58 year old diabetic taxi driver”, I couldn’t believe that it was ACTUALLY used. And PDRM bought it! Wow.

• Jeffrey Ng on Feb 03, 2017 at 8:33 pm

And probably for the first time in the history of Paultan.org 99% of commenters finally agree on something.. haha..

• Sub_zero on Feb 04, 2017 at 1:04 am

Not an excuse

As one who take daily medication, as long you have note down your drug prescription you and can request from pharmacy as replacement

• Anonymous on Feb 04, 2017 at 3:52 am

Hahaha..my father never drive like that when he reached 50++years old and btw,he also never drive faster than the speed limit(im not kidding)..So,i think this uncle try to kelentong laa.Please la uncle..you think we are stupid?a*sh*le.

• Rushing for CNY Reunion? thats worst reason rather than this old man

• if i am the police investigator. I will check on the old man mobile phone number. I think many people not knowing that the authority have the power to request the service provider giving them the info of the cell location for the specific time. Anyone here good with law? Is it possible for us to query the authority on this matter?