Toyota and Suzuki conclude MoU – to cooperate in environment and safety tech, IT, procurement

Toyota and Suzuki have announced the conclusion a memorandum on beginning concrete examinations for business partnership, announced in October 2016. The carmakers aim to jointly contribute to the resolution of social issues and achievement of sound and sustainable development of an automobile-based society.

Since then, the companies have shared with each other their challenges and have been discussing areas of collaboration in a manner that ensures fair and free competition. Both agreed today to begin “concrete examinations” on how to work together in areas including environmental technologies, safety technologies, information technologies, and the mutual supply of products and components. The two companies are to immediately establish an implementation framework to realise the points agreed.

“The words of chairman Osamu Suzuki at our joint press conference in October last year ‘If you are running a company, you have to continue to take on challenges. You are running your company for the benefit of society, and this remains unchanged.’ deeply resonated within me. This, I felt, was indeed the spirit of ‘let’s do it’,” said Toyota president Akio Toyoda.

“Both of our companies, which trace their roots to Enshu (the western part of Shizuoka prefecture), intend to apply to the fullest the spirit of ‘let’s do it’ (a local expression), and we want to cooperate toward enabling all people throughout the world to truly experience the joy of mobility and to achieving a society of future mobility full of smiles. I am truly thankful for having been given this opportunity to work together with a company such as Suzuki, which overflows with the spirit of challenge. Toyota looks forward to learning much,” he added.

Suzuki chairman Osamu Suzuki thanked his Toyota counterpart. “Under the leadership of president Akio Toyoda, Toyota was enthusiastic throughout our discussions regarding partnership, even though such was sought by Suzuki, which was concerned about the development of advanced technologies.

“I want to express my heartfelt appreciation. In response to Toyota’s display of enthusiasm, Suzuki also intensively engaged in the discussions, and we now stand at the starting point for building a concrete cooperative relationship. I want to give this effort our fullest and to aim at producing results that will lead Toyota to conclude that it was the right thing for Toyota to have decided to work together with Suzuki,” he added.

The small car expert, which is big in its domestic market as well as in India, was said to be feeling a growing “uncertainty” in the face of an increasingly technologically-advanced R&D field.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• the same spirit you cant find possible with proton and perodua.

#justsaying

• Basher Rule#1: Since both collaborate, so means both r useless, teh tarik, nasi lemak, and must kolos shop now.

Oh but wait. It goes against;
    Basher Rule#2: cannot persoal foreign overlords, especially jepunis overlords. Nanti potong kepla.

Apamachem…

• AutoFrenz (the original) on Feb 06, 2017 at 5:50 pm

Good one…through perodua Msians can get toyota cars at cheaper price since most models are rebadged daihatsu and toyota cars…and now through proton Msians orso can get cheaper cars via rebadged suzuki and now oo la la with this suzuki-toyota cooperation expect great cars from proton…only bashers who are so blur and know nothing about brand sharing will continue to kutuk kaw-kaw…oh well what to do rba maaa…thinking orso so under market value…

• Mikey on Feb 07, 2017 at 8:24 am

But john is not rba maaa… He is no.1 defender of P1/Gov & he kutuk kaw-kaw Jepunis/Chinese overloards.

I have no problem using cars from Kimchi, Sushi, Timsum or Nasi lemak. As long as they are reliable, cheap 2 maintain & give good milage, enough la.

Like U said, a car from Toyota/Suzuki/Daihatsu will be most welcome for M’sia as it will bring the best from the collaboration. I say 3 cheers 2 that.