Gov’t to consider raising speed limit but not without an in-depth study first, says works minister – report

Works minister Datuk Seri Fadillah Yusof has said that the government is open to the proposal to raise the national highway speed limit beyond the current 110 km/h, according to the Malay Mail.

Before any change can take place, however, an in-depth study needs to be conducted first, which would include discussions with the Road Safety Department (JKJR) and Malaysian Institute of Road Safety Research (MIROS). “In the context of setting the speed limit, it is not up to the Works Department alone but we work with JKJR and MIROS for their perspectives from the aspect of safety.

“We see it more from the aspect of safety, because our highways have been designed for a maximum speed limit of only 120 km/h, but some people drive up to 200 km/h and in Malaysia the road accident rate is high,” said Fadillah, adding that while several factors contribute to road accident, speed was one of the main causes of fatalities, according to statistics and studies conducted by JKJR and MIROS.

Fadillah also said that the works ministry, via the Malaysian Highway Authority (LLM), has instructed all highway concessionaire to upgrade the electronic payment transaction systems at their toll plazas, saying that this was to prevent the disruption of toll payment and avoid congestion.

He listed necessary actions such as modifying the circuit breakers of electronic payment systems so that only problematic electrical circuits would trip without affecting the systems of other lanes.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Vendeta on Mar 23, 2017 at 2:54 pm

Talk abt rising, Gov won’t hesitate to living cost instead of speed limit.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 5
    • That is uncontrollable anywhere unless in Upper Korea (bestest Korea).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 12
      • karam singh on Mar 23, 2017 at 6:22 pm

Just improve the Road & please people , stop lane hogging.
        Did people driving fast gonna use phone while driving ? no
        Did slow moving,lane hogging people using their phone while driving, YES lots of them.

STOP LANE HOGGING
        STOP USING PHONE WHILE DRIVING

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 0
        • Kelab Penyayang Kunta on Mar 24, 2017 at 7:08 am

No need all this. Just improve the potholes on our roads. That is more important.

Malaysia is the ONLY country in the world where not only potholes are a big problem, the official manholes are about 2 inches below road level. So when your car goes in, it is worse than a pothole.

Malaysians spend a bomb repairing their suspension and absorbers cause the bodohs don’t know how to make a manhole that is same level as road.

Go and see other countries, manhole is NOT 2 inches deep hole in the ground.

• Pissed Off Citizen on Nov 29, 2017 at 6:34 am

And then there is some places where the manhole is 2inch above the roads (probably installed after making the road)

• Ah Kow on Mar 24, 2017 at 8:13 am

Malaysian road users need more road education & car education.

We have this kiasu or inconsiderate attitude that invite accidents to happen.

We need to know the road rule in and out and understand our car better. Know what our car are capable of and the limits of it.

You don’t go drive an Axia as if you’re driving a Ferrari. Or riding a kapchai as if it is a Ducati.

Every day you survive driving like that is PURE LUCK. It is a matter of time where accidents are bound to happen. Putting your life and your passengers and other innocent people at the scene in danger.

• Sama L00 on Mar 24, 2017 at 9:28 am

If you don’t raise the speed, you can’t let the Proton fanboys (especially who so smart bought the new Saga and Persona) to test their cars on the road imagining they are driving Lambo.
          There is nothing much to say on Proton beside handling.

• camtakpro on Mar 24, 2017 at 9:37 am

Just make few new anti-hogging rules lah

0. Hogger is defined as being the first car on the train of cars.

1. Those right-lane hoggers, the number of vehicle sticking on your tail multiply 100 will be the summon amount.

2. Any speed limit summon imposed unto your tail gaters, will be charged onto you the right lange hogger.

3. Cars will be considered your tail gaters if within the car gap of <= 1 second from one car to another car.

4. Any sub 1000cc engine car, or lorry/bus on the right lane, will get the summon from the rules 1,2,3 multiply further by 10.

5. Any car sudden swerve into the right lane causing sudden braking to incoming vehicles, provided with video evidence, will be imposed with a summon of the immediate affected vehicle speed before braking, multiply by the number of vehicle affected by the same incident. And also add on to all the "hogger" summon from the rules above.

• donno on Mar 26, 2017 at 9:36 pm

And also increase those silly 90kph limits in some highways like the KESAS

• Pissed Off Citizen on Nov 29, 2017 at 6:43 am

1000cc car can run well over 140kmh easily (up to 170kmh in stretch roads). Only thing is that it requires regular maintance of the car and also making sure alignment and balancing is good. I drive both cheap and expensive cars and in Malaysia I think it’s better to just get the cheap car cause most of the time you are not gonna pass the 140kmh unless driving at night.

• komarad on Mar 24, 2017 at 10:23 am

yeah.. enforcement is lacking… and people still doesn’t wear seatbelt… still get flung out of car ….

• MY pipu still need someone tell them to behave otherwise will kena rotan.
            MY pipu never left childhood phase.

• kadajawa on Mar 23, 2017 at 3:22 pm

Tahniah!! Jangan bazir wang Rakyat lagi, Kami sudah tahu jawapan.

https://paultan.org/2015/12/23/approved-permit-ap-policy-to-remain-in-malaysia-improvements-to-the-system-to-come-in-2017-miti/

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 14
      • Err, what does that link have to do with raising speed limit?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 6
    • Operation Manager on Mar 23, 2017 at 3:59 pm

Highway set at 110km/h is too slow for movement either people or goods delivery. Germany world class no.1 car maker even don’t have speed limit in their country. As of car technology & safety improved, nowaday transport at 150km/h is totally not an issues. Bear in mind if move in slow mode may cause congestion & increase accident risk, potential back-side being bang & overtake accident …

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 16
      • Gomorrah on Mar 23, 2017 at 7:57 pm

In Germany the process to get a driver’s licence is not the same as here. You try to duit kopi, you kena fine/jail. Want to raise the speed limit because modern vehicles can sustain those speeds fine. But driver education has to improve significantly, the process to get a driver’s licence has to be more rigorous, regular vehicle maintenance (including commercial vehicles) has to be enforced. Actually no need to cerita long long…..in this country if the damned laws were enforced properly then we can do all the things the orang putih countries do.

• Add A Comment on Mar 24, 2017 at 8:31 am

Only Autobahn has no speed limit and it is not at all stretch, just some selected stretch that is safe.

Have u been to the Europe? Speed limit everywehre…Do yuo know the speed limit in UK when u passing through a town? U can fall asleep driving that speed. Trust me, I travel around the world more than u travel from ur house to work…

– I Have Just Added A Comment –

• alldisc on Mar 24, 2017 at 4:22 pm

apparrently he has not been anywhere outside Malaysia. and he also not realised one thing Malaysia has = high temperature and humidity.

• kzm (Member) on Mar 23, 2017 at 9:16 pm

dont gip wrong info lor… oni Autobahn has no speed limit but not at all stretch. Other roads has 100km/h speed limit. There oso 50-80km/h speed limit for city road n even lower at residential road.

• safety 1st on Mar 24, 2017 at 7:04 am

i have driven few thousand km on autobahn n some other highways in europe. my observation
      1. the highways especially autobahn are well maintained. the road surface is flat and not bouncy like in malaysia, on my rental 530diesel, i can cruise at 200km/h without my wife realise that we are driving at that speed, which showed how smooth the road surface is.
      2. most cars on autobahn drive fast, even the lorries. at 200km/h speed, it felt like cruising since the cars in front of me and behind me are speeding at the same speed. hence the relative speed between vehicles is small, unlike in malaysia where you have an old iswara cruising at 80km/h and another mercedes overtake at 200km/h which is dangerous, not to
      mention the road surface here are bouncy giving strain to driver to keep concentration high since you have to correct the steering all the time….as well as the vehicle suspension system.
      3. there are spots where they put a speed limit on autobahn sometimes 120km/h or sometime 80km/h if there are road constructions or when nearing highway exits. and all drivers adhere to the limit.
      4. road ethiq, everyone is discipline. driver on fast lane will give way if there are cars approaching from behind even when they are at speed beyond 200km/h. unlike in msia where there are a lots of road hoggers who think they have rights to stay on fast lane.

so while increasing the speed limit is a welcome proposal, can we put some effective road ethiq campaign to all malaysian so that our highway will not be congested by road hoggers during festive seasons.
      observe the north south highway especially kl north bound during festive seasons. there are 4 lanes but every lane is filled with cars driving at the same 80km/h speed. this is the reason why the traffic jam on highway no matter how many lanes to put on it…fast lane myvi at 90kmh, second lane axia at 90kmh third lane saga at 85kmh and the fourth lane lorry at 80kmh….first of all if you plan to drive between 60-90kmh just stick to the most left lane together with lorries n busses.. dont try to sit on second lane if your speed is just 5-10kmh faster than the lorries in front of you.. you wont make your journey any faster but you can cause other faster car to arrive late.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
  • Raise speed limit to 120kmph then set AES to 110kmph.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
  • Ah Kow on Mar 23, 2017 at 3:08 pm

Autobahn lai lai lai…..

• slowkills on Mar 23, 2017 at 3:22 pm

what we need is a minimum speed limit for each lane

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 0
    • takNakP1 on Mar 23, 2017 at 4:05 pm

yes, minimum speed limit, longer merging lane and educate driver to speed up when merging in.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 0
    • Mikey on Mar 23, 2017 at 4:30 pm

Agree with U 100%. I’m afraid me & many motorist will KENA saman everyday bcos we are stuck B4 & after toll.

• Let bring the consideration to increase the law enforcement for driving slow at the right lane and drive below speed limit too.

• rally_fan (Member) on Mar 23, 2017 at 3:30 pm

what a waste of time. they have been conducting studies all these years and still can’t decide on the speed limit for highways? Statistics show that the main contributor to accident deaths is rural roads, followed by urban areas, small towns and urban cities. Also, the highest accident and death rate has always been from motorcyclists and pillions rider.. Why so much talk and concern about highways all the time? Speed on its own doesn’t kill.. poorly trained and indisciplined road users coupled with poor road conditions and road design are a bigger factor.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 0
  • Nichole on Mar 23, 2017 at 3:35 pm

they should set min speed 90kmh and max speed 130kmh…
    some car or truck just too slow on highway, big speed difference always cause accident…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
  • applegreen on Mar 23, 2017 at 4:01 pm

Current speed limit is safe for vehicles 20 years ago. In year 2000 most cars speeding at 110km/h with engine revving around 3k rpm. Nowdays most cars is safer and hit 110km/h around 2k rpm only

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
  • Sgt Scoop on Mar 23, 2017 at 4:06 pm

The truth is that speed limits don’t improve safety. If you check your history you will see that they were introduced to the UK on faulty data. Now they are just a revenue collecting tool for governments worldwide.

• thepolygonal on Mar 23, 2017 at 4:07 pm

Can our highway paved with the current materials able to sustain a sudden hard break of a 5 ton truck from 150 km/h to 0 or will the road surface just break and curled up? Probably speed limit increased to 101 km/h.. yay.

• China-Engineering on Mar 23, 2017 at 4:11 pm

actually the highway architecture, design and quality must match the desired speed limit, cannot simply raise the limit if the highway already built in such a lousy way that doesnot support extra highspeed cruising.

• Kunta Kinte on Mar 23, 2017 at 4:40 pm

If they increase the speed limit, you will see more continental cars I.e. Volkswagen, Audi, BMW and Mercedes smokinng all Japanese cars. All conti cars come equipped with turbochargers while Japanese cars are all underpowered.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 19
    • kadajawi (Member) on Mar 24, 2017 at 7:01 am

Most cars can drive 150+, the engine is not the issue. Ride, handling and steering are.

• Not agree…Perodua only can set speed limit 110km/hr for other road user safety purpose

• Pissed Off Citizen on Nov 29, 2017 at 6:46 am

Well axia can go up to 170kmh..but ofc don’t do that if you don’t do regular maintance to your car or if you can’t concentrate on the road.

• Mikey on Mar 23, 2017 at 5:06 pm

What is the purpose/aim of our Works Minister may I ask ? I think U should ask your officials to go around to check the many pot holes & water ponding due to floods that is causing many motorcyclist to encroaching into the highways that is endangering themselves & others highway users. Get out of your cosy chair & air-condition room will U

• guest on Mar 23, 2017 at 5:08 pm

speeding has nothing to do with car type or manufacturing country, its all depending on your foot and gut

• Bernard on Mar 23, 2017 at 6:38 pm

Most cant even handle a Myvi, coupled with everyone wanting to break traffic laws at every opportunity, I would like to urge everyone to buy comprehensive insurance …

• rchoo on Mar 23, 2017 at 7:09 pm

110km/hr speed limit is for car that cannot pass JPJ test or driver with eyes defects.

• paparadzi (Member) on Mar 23, 2017 at 9:03 pm

Increasing the 110 km/h speed limit is fine, but it is more important to increase the speed limit of some stretches of the highway that have 80 or 90 km/h but actually can support higher speed, such as the Serdang North-South Highway and Subang Jaya ELITE.

• Annoynimouse on Mar 23, 2017 at 10:22 pm

The study should be done years ago!

• What we need here is to implement minimum speed limit especially on the uphill sections of the highway. Large overloaded trucks are travelling too slow especially during rush hours, that is the main cause of traffic pilling up at the back. Our neighbour Indonesia has such rule. Minimum speed limit is 20km/h less than the maximum speed limit.

• seancorr (Member) on Mar 24, 2017 at 1:06 am

Hmm got to educate the idiots who drive at 70kmh on the overtaking lane.

• pondan on Mar 24, 2017 at 7:56 am

why not suggesting a minimum speed limit in highway. bunch of idiots hogging at fast lane

• Truth Hurts on Mar 24, 2017 at 8:42 am

Consider putting minimum speed limits. Myvi Lagi Power Lagi Best drivers already drive at 180km/h with High beam headlights.

• Not Toyota Fan on Mar 24, 2017 at 8:50 am

The problem in not 110 kmh speed limit. The problem is not enough lanes. Time to get PLUS to expand at least another lane.

• Askedu on Mar 24, 2017 at 9:56 am

Even 4 lane stretch also got pipu drive like snail on the fast lane.

• Speed limit for car models especially those danger car like Perodua and Vios.

• Mustafa on Mar 24, 2017 at 11:37 am

Nothing new here…the G has been saying this since Samy Vellu time as works minister….

• Enforcement should be improved instead. I look at lorries, trailers and buses speeding past 110kmh like nobody’s business even on busy Klang Valley highways and wonder where the authorities are. Probably busy catching kampung folks who don’t wear helmets while on the back roads. Jeez. Rein in these heavy vehicle maniacs already!!