Bidding for SEA Games ‘RIMAU’ plates opens April 1

Here’s an update on the ‘RIMAU’ special plates to commemorate the 2017 SEA Games hosted by Kuala Lumpur. Bidding for numbers from ‘RIMAU 1’ to ‘RIMAU 9999’ will be officially opened tomorrow (April 1), with bids starting from as low as RM500, Bernama reports.

Youth and Sports Minister Khairy Jamaluddin said proceeds from the bids could help offset the costs of hosting the SEA Games and ASEAN Para Games, which will take place in August and September respectively.

“We hope to get as much as possible from the bidding process because not only the number plates are a memento to the people, but also the proceeds can be used for financing the organising cost,” he told reporters at the launch of the number plate bidding yesterday.

RIMAU is the name of the games’ Malayan Tiger mascot. RIMAU stands for Respect, Integrity, Move, Attitude and Unity. The SEA Games commemorative number plates are being released by the Ministry of Youth and Sports (KBS) via the Road Transport Department (JPJ). It follows sporting event special number plates such as ‘BAMbee’ (2000 Thomas Cup) and ‘SUKOM’ (1998 Commonwealth Games).

Bids can be put in through the e-bid system on www.kualalumpur2017.com.my. Special number plates are nothing new, and recently released ones include ‘PERFECT’, ‘NAAM’, ‘VIP’, ‘GT’ and ‘PATRIOT’.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• lionrimau on Mar 31, 2017 at 2:19 pm

Why lah put the ‘RIMAU’ plate on a peugeot?

That’s a lion. not a tiger

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 3
    • Mikey on Mar 31, 2017 at 2:57 pm

That’s why it is spelt RIMAU. If it’s spelled HARIMAU, the Pug LION would have gorged the harimau. LION will always be the KING of the jungle.

• whadayasay on Mar 31, 2017 at 6:33 pm

No lah. U have been fooled all this while. Lion do not live in the jungle. They live in the Sahara. There are no lions in the UK as well. All syok sendiri.

• Sama L00 on Mar 31, 2017 at 7:19 pm

Lemau Ais kurang manis satu!!

• More to come on Mar 31, 2017 at 10:30 pm

Tomorrow will have “Tiger” plate

• Albert Yong on Mar 31, 2017 at 3:27 pm

It has become like a joke now. So many different special numbers. The rakyat get conned. Now it is more prestigius to even have the normal number plates like WD1234C

Bodoh gomen, just want to make money of the rakyat, but don’t know where the money goes. Our hospitals still got no medicine and many hospitals are closing down. So, where is all this money going to?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 36
      • Nancy Liu on Mar 31, 2017 at 4:45 pm

Which hospital closing down? Mind to share?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 16
        • Askedu on Mar 31, 2017 at 6:05 pm

Maybe what he mean is Lady Templar Hospital in Cheras

• Private hospital dun count.
            Private ≠ Gov

• hospital for nancy on Apr 02, 2017 at 3:15 pm

maybe hospital for nancy liu kok… if not there’s one for you…like tanjong rambutan

• pokcik on Mar 31, 2017 at 6:56 pm

really? which hospitals?

• Kelab Pembenci Kunta on Mar 31, 2017 at 8:54 pm

Why government bodoh? Maybe you can stand for the next GE. But I’m afraid you might lose your deposit.

• Albert chua on Apr 02, 2017 at 10:01 pm

You think this guy dare to show his face? Hahahahaha…..in reality he is a very sick man, he shall feel shame of himself as paid but otak empty keyboard warrior

• Can kacuk together become liger.

• Jagjeet on Mar 31, 2017 at 4:13 pm

Can buy LION in SG.
        Doubt any M’sians can afford it though..

• bohluit on Apr 02, 2017 at 3:13 pm

give me a good reason why shd i dpend my heard earned on this stupid SEA games. If govt. got no money.. don’t do it…

• Buaya Darat on Mar 31, 2017 at 2:22 pm

Don’t time on useless number plate, you know who will get what number…

• Tumpung on Mar 31, 2017 at 2:24 pm

I dont know why people will bid to this kind of reg plates

• Stevie on Mar 31, 2017 at 3:05 pm

People want the shortest possible plate number. This one is an eyesore and sound terribly terrible as well.

• Albert on Mar 31, 2017 at 4:05 pm

Many pensioners got shocked when certain medicine ,gomen hospitals got no stock cos of cutbacks.
      Now we can afford SEA games and all these fanciful projects.Perhaps,the cash raised should be used to provide medication for pensioners,warga emas who need some of these medications.
      Our menteri,pls stop the rhetoric.We dont need these garbage stuff.The rakyat r suffering.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 11
      • Still haven’t answered which government hospital closed down now you grumbled on ubat got no stock. Tell us la which ubat? Ubat to treat your erectile dysfunction perhaps? No wonder la u made so much of noise..

• john is otak batu on Mar 31, 2017 at 3:11 pm

Desperate time with desperate measure….gomen have to get money anywhere they can

• Xdapat cari duit, u say Gov useless.
      Dapat cari duit, u say Gov desperado.

U winliaolor!

• c class fans on Mar 31, 2017 at 5:17 pm

WA TAKMAU

• Waste of money.

• Rimau give feeling of limau, wrong spelling.
    Anyone with a filling head would not want to badged “orange” and run around in town.
    Cant they come out better name? “Mau ” also better than this crap rimau.

• Matjava on Mar 31, 2017 at 6:29 pm

Saya HARI HARI MAI

• Matjava on Mar 31, 2017 at 6:30 pm

Saya HARI HARI MAU

• contender on Mar 31, 2017 at 9:29 pm

No offense …. so for only PATRIOT plates makes sense but only look good on Audi, BMW, Mercedes etc meant for more “atas”

• Mr Suka Syukur Selalu on Mar 31, 2017 at 10:03 pm

Bidding so much money for just a car plate???

Better use money to feed family, education, charity, etc for more beneficial things.

• LION KING on Apr 01, 2017 at 8:24 am

Hari Hari Mau Gua tak mau..no meaning!! Wan to get more income better offer from name Abu – Zakaria…more choices and sure pple will buy!!

• Accord Is Here on Apr 01, 2017 at 11:03 am

Give also don’t want… kiasu plate number for kiasu ppl..

• Takdulaku P1 on Apr 01, 2017 at 3:06 pm

This car plate is suitable for inferior complex ppl….

• Ben yap on Apr 01, 2017 at 7:52 pm

Why no 1MDB number plate? I think it will sell well.

• Not Toyota Fan on Apr 01, 2017 at 10:39 pm

For sure some “well connected middle man” stand to make big commission. So many mouths to feed nowadays.

• There are so many special number plates, it’s not special anymore. Introducing one after the other in double-quick time will only dilute the money value of the plates. Maybe it’s time to boycott this ridiculous trend. But human nature will not allow this. Some fool or genius will always buy them – a thin line of separation there depending on whether the buyer in question either gets his money’s worth, get’s more money for it later on or it turns out to be a dud investment. Anyway, IMHO, looking at these plates like ‘PATRIOT’ and ‘IM4U’ the owners come across as sad and desperate attention-seekers.