GALLERY: Mercedes-Benz Concept A Sedan up close

Earlier this week, Mercedes-Benz showed off its new Concept A Sedan at Auto Shanghai 2017, and now, we’re bringing you live photos of the show car for your viewing pleasure.

The Concept A Sedan features many cues such as the Panamerica grille seen on more recent AMG GT models, as well as more vertical A- and C-pillars when compared to the CLA four-door coupe. It also represents the next development of the “Sensual Purity” design language, and shows that “the time of creases is over.”

That statement was made by Gorden Wagener, chief design officer Daimler AG, who also adds, “With its perfect proportions and a sensual treatment of surfaces with reduced lines, it is the next milestone of Sensual Purity and has the potential to introduce a new design era.”

The show car reportedly previews what could be an upcoming addition to the Mercedes-Benz compact car range – the A-Class Sedan – one of three new models planned for the line-up. In terms of dimensions, the Concept A Sedan is 4,570 mm long, 1,870 mm wide and 1,462 mm tall, which makes it a wider and taller car than the CLA.

With the Audi A3 Sedan and the BMW 1 Series Sedan already out in the market (the latter currently a China-exclusive), Mercedes-Benz would want to tap into the compact sedan segment, offering a vehicle that is roomier than its current CLA.

GALLERY: Mercedes-Benz Concept A Sedan official photos

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Looks menacing.

• Graduan bijak on Apr 20, 2017 at 6:37 pm

Awesome My next target!!

• Ur aim is too low…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 13
      • Mikey on Apr 21, 2017 at 11:28 am

Just bcos your aim is near & short, doesn’t mean all should adopt your mentality. If Mrs Graduan bijak want 2 aim high, why U Jelly ah. Hehehe.

• Very small and bonnet too long for FWD. A lot of wasted length. Mesidis sedans shudnt be this undersized.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 20
    • Mikey on Apr 20, 2017 at 9:55 pm

Ahem, john, Concept A Sedan is 4,570 mm x 1,870 mm wide.
      The P1 Preve is 4543 mm x 1786 mm wide. Have U seen the Merc sedan to judge it is “small” ?! U just TEMBAK/bash isit !?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 18
      • So ur tryin to tell me ur legs can stretch into the long bonnet huh?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
        • Mikey on Apr 21, 2017 at 11:24 am

2 stretch into the long bonnet means its BOCHOR Ada Lobang. Must be your head got Lobang. Hehehe

• Hmm. That means u must have very tough legs to bocor ur firewall into engine bay. Gud for u.

• Geely Kaur on Apr 21, 2017 at 1:55 pm

Why compares with cab-forward designed fwd cars?

• Read closely. Im not the one comparing it with Preve…

• Tokok on Apr 21, 2017 at 11:34 am

Who are you to judge Mesidis. Go back to your P1 cave.

• e class coupe on Apr 20, 2017 at 8:23 pm

MB. .. bring it on. ..take my money n shut up

• Nice!

• The lower diffuser looks like persona. Only it is done in chrome. Neat idea mods for persona drivers. Too bad cars today design cabin first looks second. Hence the turtle car. But we are to blame. Supply and demand.

• lexus inspired tail lights?

• kumintator on Apr 21, 2017 at 9:01 am

the front looks oke but the rear not so much. mehhh

• thepolygonal on Apr 21, 2017 at 9:27 am

The dimensions are quite big for a compact sedan. Customers might just start with this, then skips next to E, totally ignoring the C. Hope they get the marketing right.

• Rear light is a mash-up between Honda Accord and Audi A3.

• Lembu Jinni on Apr 21, 2017 at 1:50 pm

MBB came out this Concept A Sedan to compete with the gorgeous sexy Alfa Romeo Giulia

• I may well buy the next A Class, if the wife will let me..