Terengganu sees 95% reduction in Mat Rempit menace

Terengganu sees 95%  reduction in Mat Rempit menace

Illegal street racing by motorcycle hooligans – commonly known as mat rempit – in the state of Terengganu has been reduced by 95%, through a series of racing programmes. This includes motorsports events at the Terengganu International Drag Track, adjacent to the Sultan Mizan Zainal Abidin outdoor stadium at Gong Badak, Kuala Nerus, Terengganu.

Mentri Besar Datuk Seri Ahmad Razif Abd Rahman said this at the Terengganu Drag Battle 2017 competition held over the weekend. The event, meant to encourage youth participation in two-wheeled motorsports, attracted over 2,000 fans.

“It is not easy to achieve zero illegal racing but we managed to overcome the social ill by 95 per cent and it is a big success if it can be solved in the long run,” he said. Ahmad Razif hoped that the Automobile Association of Malaysia (AAM) sanctioned 25,000 seat facility, which can host Cub Prix, sprint test, and drift races, will attract state and international motorsport championships.

Coming with diverse and extensive experience in heavy engineering, Mohan enjoys making anything with wheels go fast, especially motorcycles. His weapon of choice is the Desmoquattro engine, and he has a penchant for anything with a dash of Italian design. Strangely enough, he insists he's a slow rider.

• Actually it’s not precise … it is 95.46% to be exact, kan kan kan?

Don’t know where he pluck the figure from.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
    • Kunta Kinte on May 02, 2017 at 12:37 pm

Problem just transfered to another place. The problem is not solved. The Mat Rempit still don’t want to study or improve their lives.

Do you see Mat Rempit in Singapore? That is the answer to your question. Education system here failed.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 41
      • john carey on May 02, 2017 at 2:00 pm

Dumb & Dumber.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 24
      • Malaysian on May 02, 2017 at 6:38 pm

If you like singapore why not go and live over there.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 12
      • Malaysian on May 02, 2017 at 6:55 pm

If if like singapore why not go and live over there

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 10
      • Just here for ur comment. on May 02, 2017 at 8:18 pm

Yes its a failure. Like u. You are the failure of our education system as you are still here living under Malaysian flag, living Malaysian air and practiced Malaysian law. Still you praised another country for unequivelant comparison. Singapore size and a state size of Terengganu for mat rempit problem. They cant even bloody race on the road due to the size of their country, while in Tgg there are many small roads and unnamed road that is used for illegal racing making it hard for state police to overcome that. Not to mention social problems that aroused from huge different of social gap that does not exist in singapore. Just look at you. The failure of Malaysian product.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 22
    • 95.46% if round down to nearest integer is 95%.
      Dunno where ur maths come from.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 13
    • SALang on May 02, 2017 at 1:10 pm

They survey 100 motorists, result of the survey, 95 of them say they are racing in legal race nowadays.. 5 of them keep silent.. So result show 95%… But will u tell the truth to authority that where u race…

• Jobless on May 02, 2017 at 12:30 pm

Other states should learn from this. All these races for motorcycles, bicycles, cars etc. can work if organized properly at suitable venues for the youths. Otherwise they will seek their own outlets which will be mostly illegal and anti-social. Heck provide a team Ninja Warrior facility and they will come.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
  • gigi kuning on May 02, 2017 at 12:31 pm

Syukur sangat!!……Later, the authority gonna announce that these mat rempit also have been admitted to Uni and 99.99% have excelled in the programme.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
  • ichigo on May 02, 2017 at 12:51 pm

One of the marvellous achievement of government since 2009

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
  • awg1031 on May 02, 2017 at 12:54 pm

yeahhhhh righttttt…

• Bernard on May 02, 2017 at 1:26 pm

This is temporary as they want real danger not a controlled environment….

• BbalingBiru on May 02, 2017 at 1:56 pm

Can we trust such a statement from a politician?

• trenganus on May 02, 2017 at 1:59 pm

hallooo..ahmad razif have no datuk seri anymore lah. lama dah kena lucut dengan sultan mizan. paultan dont know this? i know la, i am trengganus. edit pleasee.

• Ahmad Said on May 02, 2017 at 2:31 pm

I don’t know where you got your confidence to say this, but the Sultan has rewarded him back with the Dato’ title just a few months ago. Mu org tranung ko sek jerteh kelate celup ni?

• That’s why when the government got rid of Shah Alam Batu 3 circuit to make way for housing project, it was a big mistake. To make it worse, there’s no replacement except for Sepang circuit.

The kids got hobby, it’s better they be given place for them to play around. Else, they’d take it to the streets, which would cost even more in taxpayers spending for the cops to chase after them and clearing off body parts from the roads.

• Ben Yap on May 02, 2017 at 5:57 pm

since the illegal racing already reduced, tax collection from these racers got increase or not? or is it just expenditure?

• AlaKazam on May 02, 2017 at 7:00 pm

How did they get the 95% reduction figure, anyway??
    Using coconuts and bamboos, izit?

• Sub_zero on May 09, 2017 at 8:55 pm

95% is a big claim yet i still see they around? How?