SPIED: Kia Optima GT in Malaysia – launching soon?

The Kia Optima GT has been spotted in Malaysia, thanks to paultan.org reader See Zhanwei, who spotted the D-segment sedan on a trailer recently.

Based on the two photos provided to us, we can spot certain cues that mark this out as said model. While the shot of the car’s rear doesn’t clearly show the prominent diffuser found on the Optima GT, (or the oval exhaust outlets for that matter), a side view reveals the model-specific 18-inch alloy wheels.

Unfortunately, there’s no photo of the vehicle’s front end, which should feature a sportier bumper with triangular-shaped side intakes and lower chrome strip.

The Optima GT made its global debut in Frankfurt two years ago, packing a 2.0 litre four-cylinder turbocharged T-GDI petrol engine that delivers 242 hp and 353 Nm of torque. That’s nearly as much as what you would find in the BMW 330i M Sport, which has 252 hp and 350 Nm.

The mill is paired with a six-speed automatic transmission that sends power to the front wheels, enabling it to complete the century sprint in just 7.4 seconds. Other performance bits include a unique suspension setting, bigger brake discs and a retuned electric power steering (Kia calls it R-MDPS).

In February this year, Naza Kia Malaysia announced that the Optima GT would be one of the fourth-generation Optima variants set to be introduced this year as part of efforts to elevate the brand’s value.

Other, less powerful version could be introduced as well, although Naza Kia Malaysia has yet to confirm the matter. For now, what are your thoughts of the high-powered Optima GT?

GALLERY: Kia Optima GT

GALLERY: Kia Optima (European spec)

2016 Kia Optima, US spec

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Hahahaha on May 11, 2017 at 5:22 pm

Correction: R – MDPS :3

• YB Kunta Kinte on May 11, 2017 at 5:23 pm

See how the Koreans have progressed. Once upon a time, Kia and hyundai were known as pariah brands. If you drove a Hyundai or a Kia, people would laugh at you.

Look at them today. Totally transformed. Hyundai and Kia sell about 10 million cars per annum. And in US and Australia, they are now TOP No 1 brands.

Hyundai just started 10 years before Proton started. And yet, one sells 10 million cars worldwide and the other sells 70,000 cars locally only.

We need to work hard like the Koreans. How to buy the Perdana when you compare to this Optima GT?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 40
    • Why work hard when the rakyat want to gip u money? That’s called working smart like Proton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 11
      • YB Kunta Kinte on May 11, 2017 at 7:14 pm

for once you are right john. This is why Proton don’t work hard. Got free money. 1.5 bil habis, already asking RM1.8 bil

All workers got guaranteed jobs for life. No need to look for jobs in jobstreet like most people who have been retrenched.

• Yes. And we can start with u. Work harder & dun be lazy. When customers walk into ur toyota showroom, serve them properly & humbly, instead of just sit there and non-stop posting nonsense in PT. i knows u can do it, i belips in u!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 87 Thumb down 76
      • YB Kunta Kinte on May 11, 2017 at 7:02 pm

I am always the first to hantam Toyota. you can see from my previous posts on Toyota the past few years.

If I am selling Toyota, I won’t be condemning my own company. This is how intelligent you are.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 13
        • Mikey on May 11, 2017 at 9:06 pm

I’m stumped that john despite being a champion basher do not know you(Kunta) well. Probably bcos he comments so many that he got mixed up with others & his own comment.

What I do know is both of U do NOT like Toyo. We all know only john is the defending P1 champion. john even think me & U(kunta) are related or he call us dupes.

Anyway, IMO, if PT do not have both john & Kunta, this site will be BORING. Keep posting guys bcos I DO Like 2 read your comments one way or another. Hehehe. Cheers 2 john & Kunta

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 7
          • If so much free time to write long story to own dupe, why not use that time push more toyota cars out instead of leaching my Biza sales?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
          • YB Kunta Kinte on May 11, 2017 at 10:47 pm

when you are a paid cybertrooper who promotes higher car prices and lower safety spec for Malaysians, you will get confused.

Somemore, john has so many dupes. More than 10. Of course he will get confused

• Stop complaining & stop trolling. Find better ways to sells ur toyota just like how i did with my Biza special package. Work harder, dun be lazy for spoonfed.

• Bob_B78 on May 11, 2017 at 5:47 pm

Why pack so much power yet straight line performance is just mediocre? Another marketing gimmick to lure buyers by making them believe that they are buying something sporty. Most likely to end up like for Mondeo, a car that nobody really interested.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
    • safety 1st on May 11, 2017 at 7:36 pm

it stated there 7.4 second most prolly with the 6 speed auto tranny. that is a respectable figure considering the e90 325i which is also 6 speeders can only do 7.7s to century run…. but 0-100 is only one of many ways to measure the car performance, for daily use like accelerating from rolling start, the torque curve n hp plays more important role. u can have a short ratio to get the best century timing but suffer the top end… unless you have a 8 speeders.either way, the main rival of this car is accord/camry which is wayy slower n boring than this car

• bob_b78 on May 11, 2017 at 10:39 pm

fYI 325i only produced about 210 hp while the new Passat 2.0 with 220 hp is about 6.7s. My question against is why creamed so much hp only to.muster 7.4s. Heck even mazda 6 is equivalent faster with much less hp

• Because passat using wet clutch transmission and the 325i only use normal torque converter automatic transmission

• Bob_B78 on May 12, 2017 at 11:16 am

You forgot to take into account that passat has way more torque than 325

• Holofanboi on May 11, 2017 at 9:18 pm

0-100 is a good but not all-encompassing indicator of straight line oomph. Take the civic turbo for example, it may be faster 0-100 than the accord 2.4, but the accord smashes it from 100-200.

• Albert on May 11, 2017 at 5:59 pm

KIA in USA is a respectable brand n doing not bad.
    But in Bolehland…..it is regressing.
    Why?
    The distributor,Naza.
    Many dont believe that the dead tycoon’s sons treat this as a small business.They r fully gungho on real estate.
    So,it is going nowhere.
    Look at MAA’s figures.KIA…pathetic.Only the recently launched carnival is selling well.
    check it out for yourself.

• Bernard on May 11, 2017 at 7:52 pm

Kudos to NAZA!
      KIA Msia is underrated…just look at Sorento 150k vs Mazda CX9 330k.
      They in same segment in USA. Carnival 160k vs T Previa 260k.

• Bashers says cannot belip MAA data wor. So how to belip u?

• Hmmmm on May 11, 2017 at 7:18 pm

Nice car, bad dealer. AP King

• BringThePain on May 11, 2017 at 7:31 pm

Bad power delivery to the wheels. Look at that awful slow 0-100 time.

• Otman Tino on May 11, 2017 at 7:37 pm

Mazda6 or vw Passat mo premium

• stasta on May 15, 2017 at 2:10 pm

front wheel drive traction limited, and only 6 speed gearbox vs bmw 8 speed. i bet if rolling start example 50-150 kmph, it wont lose to bmw.

• Semi-Value (Member) on May 11, 2017 at 10:48 pm

7.4 seconds isnt that fast

• stasta on May 15, 2017 at 2:11 pm

front wheel drive traction limited, and only 6 speed gearbox vs bmw 8 speed close gearing. i bet if rolling start eg 50-150 kmph, it wont lose to bmw.

• Apa guna torque & horsepower more than bmw g30 but only can accelerate to 100km/h only 7.4 sec? Even bmw since f10 can accelerate only 6.2 sec.

• Ben Yap on May 12, 2017 at 9:55 am

with that high output, i was expecting 6 seconds century sprint.