Lexus LC 500 open for booking in Malaysia – RM940k

Lexus Malaysia has announced the opening of the order books for the Lexus LC 500. Being a flagship luxury coupé, it isn’t cheap, retailing at a cool RM940,000 on-the-road without insurance – inclusive of a five-year, unlimited-mileage warranty and five years’ complimentary scheduled service.

At its heart sits a 5.0 litre naturally-aspirated Atkinson-cycle V8 with VVT-i and D-4S direct injection. Outputs are rated at 471 hp at 7,100 rpm and 540 Nm at 4,800 rpm, and the engine spins all the way up to 7,300 rpm. All that power is sent to the rear wheels via a Direct Shift 10-speed automatic gearbox, enabling the LC 500 to sprint from zero to 100 km/h in under 4.5 seconds.

There’s no mention of the availability of the LC 500h hybrid as yet – that one uses a 295 hp/356 Nm 3.5 litre direct-injected Dual VVT-i V6, matched to a 178 hp/300 Nm electric motor, a lithium-ion battery and a four-speed automatic gearbox that works with the electric motor to simulate the feel of a 10-speed automatic. Total system output stands at 354 hp.

Built on the new Global Architecture – Luxury (GA-L) platform, the LC features a rigid body using a mix of regular, high- and ultra-high-strength steel, aluminium and carbon fibre. To improve weight distribution, the front-mounted engine has been moved 50 mm rearward, and the spare wheel has been replaced by run-flat tyres, allowing the battery to be relocated to the rear (and the boot to be made larger).

The Lexus LC is built at the Motomachi plant in Japan, which previously produced the hand-built carbon fibre LFA. All seven Lexus dealers in Malaysia are able to provide aftersales service for the LC, as their technicians have been extensively trained by Lexus.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Henry on Jun 07, 2017 at 5:09 pm

Wow! I like to see this car on the road soon. It will be a sight to behold.

• YB Kunta Kinte on Jun 07, 2017 at 7:34 pm

Just wait 3 years and buy this car for RM200k. Simple as that. Just like Lexus LS460L. Brand new RM900k. 5 years later, used car dealers will beg you to take it for RM90k.

Amazing. In 5 years, Rm900k can jatuh to RM90k.

So, if you like this Lexus, just wait 3 yrs. Sure can buy this for RM200k or even RM100k.

Lexus is the King of RV Depreciation in Malaysia!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 29
      • Undergraduate95 on Jun 08, 2017 at 2:23 am

Are you sure in 3 years can drop to 200k? Ill save this comment and hope you’re right

• No worries, the hybrid version will be much cheaper. Cukur kerajaan…

• Ruslan Bahari on Jun 08, 2017 at 9:48 am

Cheapskate detected.

• lao yee on Jun 08, 2017 at 9:55 am

Another 5 years, might be hardly to find this model in 2nd hand or recon car market. Go search for LFA if you find any available 2nd hand or recon unit. Although it’s Japanese, these are rare beast. Those who buy this, is not people in your standard who calculate the depreciation.

• At last, this Lexus surely rarer than Ertiga in MY.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
    • But its still more numerous than the mythical unicorn called Myvi lagi gearup

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
  • Mikey on Jun 07, 2017 at 5:26 pm

I’m thinking Now should I buy this Lexus LS500. john told me (Just Do It ala Nike Style). After buying the LC500, change the Lexus badge with a Toyo badge bcos it’s a glorified Toyo after all.

Voila, problem solved. MACC won’t come after me, I get to enjoy driving one of the finest luxury car around. Hehehe, cheers john. Lets see what kind of reactions coming …..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 13
    • But ur previous dupe says got lolls loyce in paking wor.

• Capt Jordan on Jun 07, 2017 at 10:10 pm

Childish comment. Lower down the standard of PT blog.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
      • Mikey on Jun 08, 2017 at 8:17 am

Thanks Captain, Maybe U can show your Standard of writing skills NOW. Don’t change your name every time U reply OK. Use the same MONIKER if U are not a “Chameleon”.

• Henry on Jun 08, 2017 at 10:39 am

Hehe … how well written can you expect from a one liner? Shakespearean he is not.

LOL.

• verlaine on Jun 07, 2017 at 5:49 pm

with that kind of performance figures and this crap cost a million?! I’m sorry but only SH will buy it

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 12
    • Jimmy on Jun 07, 2017 at 10:13 pm

Abi Dhabu, 1st class facilities but 4th world mentality and attitude.

BTW, the German/British/Italian people will not teach us their black magics.

Stupid Subaru.

• Henry on Jun 08, 2017 at 10:33 am

Whether it is 0.5 mil or 0.94 won’t make a difference to you. Continue to enjoy your 1981 Nissan Sunny.

People who buy this car will laugh at your SH comment. LOL.

• Will turn heads more than a car twice its price.

• haha..joke of the day..glorified toyota lexus at 940k..haha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 21
  • Semi-Value (Member) on Jun 07, 2017 at 6:34 pm

u buy this car…u can be LCLY

• Albert on Jun 07, 2017 at 9:10 pm

Same loor,when r u ?
      I thought u r buying your latest Lexus?
      Or r u jumpimg ship to Honda malaysia?

• He cant affords 1-24 or 1-18 so instead he now hunting hi & lo for Hotwheels lexus. Meanwhile he consoles himself with some lexus biskut.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 12
  • sohai on Jun 07, 2017 at 6:48 pm

technicians extensively trained by Lexus on LC?
    sounds more like the LC has many shared parts with the other range and mechanically similar.

• wait for grey importer to bring more affordable recond LC in

• turok on Jun 07, 2017 at 8:20 pm

Y nid 10speed if ain’t a lorry truck? I gues the last 5 gears is useless 99%of the time.

• 5 liter NA engine…WOW…!! wonder how much u pay for the road tax alone for this beast…

• Henry on Jun 08, 2017 at 10:27 am

People who can afford this car won’t worry about road tax, insurance or…….. RV.

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Jun 07, 2017 at 9:59 pm

Consider a used Sonata. Great value for money

• 4G63T DSM on Jun 07, 2017 at 11:17 pm

Hmmm…. This or the Carrera S?

Or wait for the Supra at half that price? Afterall its a………..

• LcLover on Jun 07, 2017 at 11:58 pm

Baik aki pkai LC Yamaha aq.. krrruuuuuu

• Mikey on Jun 08, 2017 at 8:25 am

Memang betul, Boleh labur 930 ribu dalam ASN & pulangan dari laburan boleh beli Kerata Baru. Pandai Betul.

• Takmau NA engine. I want twin turbo charged engine.

• Leonardo on Jun 08, 2017 at 11:03 am

If you buy a ferrari, it appreciates. If you buy a Lexus, it depreciates.
    It’s your money. (If you have them). Or SPRM will come after you.

• Does it make sense. New Porsche Panamera with all the extras cost about the same. No wonder Lexus cannot sell here. Their pricing is really screwed up.