Landwind X7 updated with revised styling, new engine

Remember Jiangling Motor’s Range Rover Evoque “clone,” the Landwind X7? Well, the model has received a facelift in an attempt to distance itself visually from its British counterpart.

The exterior revisions begin at the front, with the X7 receiving a new grille, headlamps and bumper. If you look closely, both the upper and lower grilles feature a mesh with an oval-shaped pattern as well, as reported by CarNewsChina.

Meanwhile, the rear of the X7 has been totally revamped with wider taillights that are linked by a chrome trim piece. The liftgate also get reshaped here, with the number plate holder pushed further downwards, and all the badges have been repositioned too. Further down, the exhaust outlets are no longer integrated into the lower apron.

Looks aside, the X7 also gets a new 1.5 litre turbocharged four-cylinder engine with 160 hp, which forms the entry-level version in the range. The previous 2.0 litre turbo with 188 hp (detuned Mitsubishi-sourced 4G63T) will continue to be offered. The updated X7 will reportedly be priced from just under 100,000 yuan (RM63,199). Interested?

GALLERY: Previous Landwind X7

GALLERY: Range Rover Evoque (the real one)

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Geely bayu better

• jinggo on Jul 05, 2017 at 10:13 am

Copy paste culture..

• DonkeyKong on Jul 05, 2017 at 10:26 am

So it looks more like a VW than an Evoque now. Bravo Landwind..

• Hanssen on Jul 05, 2017 at 10:26 am

if available, why not to have one.
    bravo landwind…better landwindfire i guess

• Wowowow! Now KK can at last get his 90% price reduction for an Evoque. Thats 3X or diskaun than his demand! Apa lagi nak tunggu tu?

• 12yrsold on Jul 05, 2017 at 3:58 pm

KK will probably say U Bodoh ka?? Ada jual di Malaysia ka?

• Petoron Sagu on Jul 05, 2017 at 10:33 am

Of course if 63k me interested. Use 5 years then sell to Sam Loo. Now very quiet selling second hand totoya….

• arowana on Jul 05, 2017 at 10:35 am

now the rear they copy pasta from Honda CR-V… kasi sue dia kaw kaw!

• china has always been the thorn in the heart for the whole world. everyone talks shit about china but every time they are out to prove them wrong. for the past 5years china has taken over the IT and DT world. with this pace. next 5 years automotive industry will be a playground for china!

• TOYOTA CEO on Jul 05, 2017 at 11:07 am

RM63k is absolute bargain for an SUV like this, copy or not. Now look at daihatsu’s clone, stupid perodua and it’s stretch Myvi aka Alza patah shaft at rm60k.

• tingtongtiang on Jul 05, 2017 at 11:13 am

Land Rover copy cat…lame

• Semi-Value (Member) on Jul 05, 2017 at 11:14 am

seems legit

• Kuntak on Jul 05, 2017 at 11:36 am

I hope PT does not cover this kind of story. Story of a clone car. We must always do not support piracy in any form.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
  • Not Toyota Fan on Jul 05, 2017 at 11:46 am

Boleh-Land cannot sell cars so cheap. So many layers of “businessman” to go through. Then protectionism comes to play by pricing approval by a certain gomen ministry.

So, no way can we have a economic system with no barriers . One free of political interference.

• U seriously wanted them to sell u their pirated copycat car with dubious safety & quality? Even thou its cheap, this is not Mr DIY stuff. Pakai, rosak, buang.

U really can risk u & famili life in this pirate vessel? Just to save a few quid?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
      • Some people thought China car become good after Geely bought P1. That is why they hoping this can be sell here.

• BRABUS Love on Jul 05, 2017 at 12:37 pm

I see BMW 7 series shade at the back…

• China could do better, and yet they still have to imitate the others. And they also really need to branding their vehicles with proper names. What the hell is Landwind, maybe next model could be name Firewater?

• 4G63T DSM on Jul 05, 2017 at 12:54 pm

I wouldn’t mind one with the 4G63T.

• Anak Toyol on Jul 05, 2017 at 1:20 pm

U r asking us if we r interested or not. This car is not even sell in Malaysia

• policeman on Jul 05, 2017 at 3:06 pm

Looking good!!!

• Bernard on Jul 05, 2017 at 4:54 pm

Everything also copy…….shameless!!!

• earthwindandfire on Jul 05, 2017 at 6:09 pm

Waiting for Land Fire and land water to come out…..
    Why everything must be based on Land…Rover, Cruiser…Wind?

• Roy Fisher on Aug 13, 2017 at 4:25 pm

Has anyone any ideas if this car is available in Malaysia?