LRT now allows full-sized bicycles on board trains

Cyclists with full-size bicycles heading into the city in conjunction with the KL Car Free Morning (KLCFM) programme are now allowed to board LRT coaches on the Kelana Jaya, Sri Petaling and Ampang Light Rail Transit (LRT) line trains every first and third Sunday of the month. Those wishing to avail themselves of this service are allowed to do so between 6 a.m. and 10 a.m.

The service incurs no extra charge aside from the passenger’s fare, and applies to both full-size and folding bicycles. However, cyclists are required to follow certain rules and regulations for the comfort and safety of themselves and other passengers.

“If the trains are packed, they must refrain from forcing the bikes onto the trains. The cyclists must also enter the trains from specific doors at the stations,” said Rapid Rail chief executive officer Datuk Zohari Sulaiman. “For the Kelana Jaya line, they can only board the four-car trains,” he continued.

Those riding folding bicycles are allowed to board during after-peak hours, between 10 a.m. to 3 p.m., and 9 p.m. to 12 a.m. on weekdays, with no restriction on weekends. Currently, only folded bicycles are allowed onboard LRT trains during off-peak hours, said a New Straits Times report.

“We sincerely hope more cyclists will respond to this programme, as we are strong supporters of a healthy lifestyle amongst Malaysians,” Zohari said. “If the response is good, we are ready to extend the programme further,” he said at the launch of the Bike and Ride programme at the Bandaraya LRT station.

Coming with diverse and extensive experience in heavy engineering, Mohan enjoys making anything with wheels go fast, especially motorcycles. His weapon of choice is the Desmoquattro engine, and he has a penchant for anything with a dash of Italian design. Strangely enough, he insists he's a slow rider.

• Those who wish to bring oversized items shud sit ontop train with their items, just like other countries.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 7
    • KenJi on Aug 07, 2017 at 2:58 pm

Tabouleh…MY is developed 1st world country.

• Only stupid gov pipu says we heading to 1st world. Bashers says we heading towards 3th world, and basher speaks truth, so means we must of reality become like 4th world countries. No problemo.
        If pipu no sit ontop train, means basher is tipu.

• kecut on Aug 07, 2017 at 5:25 pm

Malaysia’s MRT system better than London and New York. Jangan persoal.

• KVMRT dun have frequent strikes like Londan or derail trens like NY.

• 1st world country? U syok sendiri?

• Eternalgl0ry on Aug 07, 2017 at 12:09 pm

Nice try but to do you know the time listed are working hours for some people? It is always packed and don’t think people will like you to squeeze 4 people space for your bike

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 15
    • waters on Aug 07, 2017 at 1:55 pm

Where did you read working hours?

• tokmoh. on Aug 07, 2017 at 2:26 pm

Only first and 3rd Sunday of the month.

Not that many people work on Sunday, ok la.

• Counter Basher on Aug 07, 2017 at 2:34 pm

Did you not read? It is on a Sunday.
      SUNDAY SUNDAY SUNDAY
      No doubt there are still some people who work on a Sunday, but it is not pack my friend.

• potato on Aug 07, 2017 at 12:38 pm

will it be the case when riders starts using LRT, LRT decides to ban cyclist because it takes up too much space, like the case last time?

• Shahul on Aug 07, 2017 at 12:43 pm

Appreciate if they can allow to bring the fordable bicycle during peak hours as well. It will help us to reduce taking grab or buses for short distances.

• Ben Yap on Aug 07, 2017 at 1:08 pm

now i can show off my cervelo S5.

• Ah Kow on Aug 07, 2017 at 2:36 pm

Totally suppot!!! Good job!
    On the other hand more dedicated bicyle lanes in KL please!

• Johnson Amigos on Aug 07, 2017 at 5:28 pm

Rampant robbery hit cyclists along KESAS highway

• KESAS not for cyclist one. Pls use other roads for ur safety.

• Ah Kow on Aug 08, 2017 at 8:33 am

Brader Kesas got dedicated bicycle lane meh?
        Anyhow,
        You drive car stuck in jam also can kena rob
        Walking on the side of the road also kena rob
        JPJ office also can kena rob (2016 news)
        Answer phone call also kena rob (phone bank scam)

In Malaysia you do what also can kena rob, how?

• Semi-Value (Member) on Aug 07, 2017 at 2:39 pm

oh dear…gonna love the smell

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
  • haha…

i have full size roadie.. but took out the wheels and carry along …

consider as not full size or not XD