2017 Peugeot 3008 SUV in Malaysia – 1.6 litre turbo engine, 165 hp/240 Nm, two variants, from RM143k

After several sightings and the release of a teaser, the new Peugeot 3008 has now shown up at the marque’s showroom in Glenmarie. Two variants of the 3008 will be offered – the Active THP and Allure THP – the latter being the range-topper in the line-up. Keep in mind that the 3008 hasn’t been officially launched just yet, but is now open for bookings.

Even so, we start with the most important thing everyone looks forward to, the price. The Active THP kicks things off with a price tag of RM142,888 on-the-road without insurance, followed by the Allure THP at RM155,888.

These prices include a five-year/120,000 km warranty as well as a 24-hour Peugeot Assistance service. Customers will get to choose from a total of five exterior body colours Metallic Copper, Magnetic Blue, Amazonite Grey, Ultimate Red and Pearl White. However, those who opt for the last two options will have to pay an additional RM1,590 for the fully imported SUV.

Both variants are powered by the same 1.6L THP 165 S&S petrol engine and a six-speed automatic transmission, with the powerplant providing 165 hp and 240 Nm of torque. Drive goes to the front wheels, and the whole car is built on the Efficient Modular Platform (EMP2) that also underpins the latest 308.

In terms of exterior equipment, we start with the Active THP where you’ll find 18-inch ‘Los Angeles’ alloy wheels wrapped with Continental ContiCrossContact LX2 tyres (225/55), halogen headlights with LED DRLs, halogen fog lamps and ‘lion claw effect’ LED taillights.

The Allure THP as you’d expect, gets more goodies like full LED headlights with LED DRLs and sequential turn signals plus a GT Line exterior package – different grille, silver-painted front bumper underguard and chrome trim on the lower section of the vehicle’s sides.

Both cars feature Peugeot’s i-Cockpit interior, which is accompanied by leather, faux carbon-fibre (on the Active THP) and fabric (on the Allure THP) trim. Nifty design cues include the piano-key toggle switches, rectangular-shaped steering wheel and a pretty elaborate-looking gear lever. The Advanced Grip Control rotary dial (located next to the hill descent control button) allows drivers to cycle through five available drive modes.

Of course, there’s plenty of tech bits on show here, the first of which is the 12.3-inch digital instrument cluster that greets the driver. The high definition display not only displays conventional driving information, it also offers a variety of modes that changes the information shown to the driver.

The other display is an eight-inch touchscreen on the dashboard that is linked to the car’s infotainment and dual-zone climate control (with rear vents). It offers the usual array of media inputs as well as MirrorLink, Android Auto and Apply CarPlay connectivity.

Aside from the slightly different trim, the Allure THP is distinguished from the Active THP thanks to its eight-way powered black leather seats. The Active THP is fitted with manually-operated Mistral Meco fabric seats instead.

Safety wise both cars are similarly equipped – six airbags, ABS, EBD, Emergency Brake Assist, traction control, Dynamic Stability Control, Electronic Stability Programme, Hill Assist, lane departure warning, front and rear parking sensors, along with a reverse camera.

Very modern LCD instrument panel on the #Peugeot #3008. #iCockpit

A post shared by Paul Tan's Automotive News (@paultancars) on

GALLERY: Peugeot 3008 Allure THP

GALLERY: Peugeot 3008 Active THP

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Aeroheads on Aug 10, 2017 at 6:54 pm

This one more worth it than new CX5

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 121 Thumb down 18
    • Its still a Naza Peugeot. Why get this when you can get mainstream brands? And think about the used car pricing for this brand you see in the oto.my ads above the comment box here.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 81
      • BeemerFreak on Aug 11, 2017 at 12:07 am

I don’t buy a car today to sell tomorrow. Get a grip.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 78 Thumb down 10
        • Costa on Aug 11, 2017 at 10:39 am

(Like) VW Tiguan.
          (Dislike) 3008

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 60
          • Known Defective Engine on Aug 11, 2017 at 12:48 pm

Oh my… not the sick lion heart again? Is like never ending breakdown man. Go ask any 308T or 408T owners U will know…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 23
        • Francois on Aug 11, 2017 at 10:44 am

If you are so rich not to care abt RV, you wont be buying a peugeot. Peugeot is when you cannot afford a decent continental car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 51
        • Henry on Aug 11, 2017 at 11:10 am

No doubt.

But you will sell it one day and get back RM 8000.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 28
        • Dun mind them bashers bro. To them, anything but their toyota rubbish is lousy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 4
      • Peugeot 1.6 THP is drinking petrol than NA; others turbocharge-supercharge like MERZ BMW VOLVO VW even HONDA is fuel save than NA.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 52
      • Polla on Aug 11, 2017 at 8:33 am

Nice to see, nice to touch. Once broken…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 30
      • Again, every people do have their own preference in buying car. BTW, have to give credit to Peugeot in this 3008. Looking at the interior, it beat most mainstream brands for the price their asking. Not to mention the equipment level their offer.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 63 Thumb down 3
      • lao yee on Aug 11, 2017 at 12:31 pm

Don’t buy cars, don’t comment on Paultan if you’re still counting your 2nd hand value. Period.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 2
      • PTnotfamous on Aug 11, 2017 at 2:59 pm

This car is the same category of XC60.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 12
      • yxlam on Aug 11, 2017 at 5:08 pm

Why buy a mainstream brand? Majority of mainstream brands have shit handling and interior etc compare to peugeot….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 3
    • Seriously car of the year, shouldn’t compare it with CRV, it is evoque level!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 72 Thumb down 26
      • Evoque level??…..headache man!…sakit kepala baca

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 39
        • Catman on Aug 12, 2017 at 8:09 am

This car drive better than floating Xc90

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
          • JChong on Aug 12, 2017 at 3:13 pm

You must be sleeping or stupid in your facts here.

XC90 WEIGHT MORE THAN TWO TONNES AND YOU SAID IS FLOATY.

For your info , Toyota Fortuna, Mazda CX5 , Honda HRV , Honda CRV, Mitsubishi ASX, Subaru forester,Mitsubishi outlander, Toyota Avanza , VW tiguan is even more floaty and lighter compare to XC90.

Anyway, the cost of one XC90 can easily buy two and half of this 3008 anyway.

LOL..LOL

COMPARING LUXURY WITH NON LUXURY CATEGORY

• evoque level? keep dreaming.. wayy to far.. it’s just peugeot, nothing prestige about this car brand.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 39
        • CarMan on Aug 15, 2017 at 1:40 pm

Cannot afford is it? No wonder bashing here la. These are the kind of people will go every post and bash. Even mercedes, or ferarri also will bash. Because cannot afford.

• knight on Oct 29, 2017 at 12:39 am

peugeout interior quality is very good dude. do you drive one before? I mean a new model one. i have peugeout 508 and it’s tech and interior quality is superb. the seat is so premium. all tech is inside there, auto light, auto high bean, auto wiper, sport and comfort mode, all around sensor… and i have used it almost 5 years and no major thing happen. just normal wear and tear. maybe there are certain model in peugoet that have prob such as gearbox. but it does not effect all model that peugeout have. i think volkswagen is more worst than peugeout mostly it’s shitty gearbox but people still buy it.

• Mr Tamu on Jun 20, 2018 at 8:14 am

Peoples still buying vw bcoz of warranty. At least service after sales. And the problem is a component in gearbox. It’s not u need to change new engine or gearbox just a component. Furthermore extended warranty & few others left Peugeot far behind.

• Habis la underpower CHR_ubbish , this is way powerful

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 3
    • Worth to book, CH-R can’t compete with this.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
    • nemesis on Aug 15, 2017 at 6:30 pm

in conclusion.. all these new models from crv to cx5 to 3008… non can beat the sportage 2.0 diesel and the tucson 2.0 diesel in term of power, fuel efficiency and accessories…

• Looks great! Good specs, wow interior and CBU – still want that CRV?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 128 Thumb down 11
    • wawasan2020 on Aug 10, 2017 at 7:39 pm

i owned 308 before and its my first and last for french cars. tbh its nice to have at first but end up with horrible experience in and out repair shop.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 18
      • WIlliam Ong on Aug 11, 2017 at 6:45 am

You dare to buy a car whose SC staff are actually sleeping beside your car? And they think it is their right to sleep during office work hours!

When I sent my 308, I waited 6 hours for normal service, then I decided to go into the service platform. I saw the Service Technician was fast asleep beside my car. I had to wake him up

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 22
      • lolwha on Aug 11, 2017 at 8:31 am

You buy first gen 308 that’s why la

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 18
        • Henry on Aug 11, 2017 at 12:24 pm

So what? 1st generation car means it is acceptable if it breaks down and cause owners problem which the SC cannot solve efficiently?

• Mark hudson on Aug 15, 2017 at 12:09 pm

U r rite there, i sent my 5008 almost 10 times to sc claim for warranty.sensors problem, leaking aircond system.. i dont know what happened to peug. First n last. No more frenchfries car.

• Aminuddin on Aug 10, 2017 at 8:22 pm

Proud owner of the latest full specs CRV, more power, safer and more value. So yes, i plan to buy another one for my father hahaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 62
    • Aaron on Aug 11, 2017 at 1:13 am

Good Specs??? Hell no. Lemme give you some examples:
      1. Automatic Emergency Braking System (AEBS) and Distance Alert System which comes as STANDARD in all European 3008 is not equipped here.
      2. Where is ADAPTIVE CRUISE CONTROL WITH STOP FUNCTION?
      3. Where is LANE KEEPING TECHNOLOGY?
      4. Where is DRIVER ATTENTION ALERT?
      5. Where is SPEED LIMIT RECOGNITION?
      6. Where is PEUGEOT SMARTBEAM ASSISTANCE?
      7. Where is BLIND SPOT MONITORING?
      Malaysians do not give a damn about these Active Safety Features. This is why car distributors in Malaysia do not give a damn about specifying our cars with these safety features.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 7
      • They said got spec compare to Japs sold here in My. Not compare to 3008 sold in other country.

• Exactly. It is indeed underspecced for a global car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 8
      • Henry on Aug 11, 2017 at 11:15 am

I guess they can give you all these additional features for 12k extra. Mahu kah?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
      • Talkock Aaron on Aug 11, 2017 at 2:34 pm

Can you afford with additional RM12k by adding those features. Dont talk coxk

• kamal on Aug 16, 2017 at 11:02 am

Totally agree with you here. Peugeot is going the wrong way. They are hoping the form is more important than functions. Unfortunately people who can afford at this price can easily compare the offering in other regions. I own a 2008 peugeot 407. At that time, the 407 have the form(debatable) AND functions. auto cruise is standard when honda accord only offers AC in 2.4cc Model which cost 30K more. And loads other features. Peugeot should bring in the full GTLINE specs with Auto cruise control and price it at 160K or below. then this will be more attractive and blows CRV full specs.

• nemesis on Aug 16, 2017 at 8:04 am

the sportage 2.0 turbo diesel with 185hp/400nm is a better pick.. style with performance combined… wait till you racechip it to boost the power to 220hp/500nm.. that will be a damn powerful crossover.. a mitsu evo 7 has 380nm… imagine what 400nm can do to your back spine

• Nice looking car. Where is adaptive cruise control ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
  • Hows the reliability of pug 1.6 turbo petrol nowadays? Anyone can share? My guess, their turbo diesel like the one in the grand picasso will be more reliable right? French do diesel bttr than petrol…my guess ler

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 14
    • It is super reliable, Compact powerful and good Fc, just make sure u follow the service schedule. Mine is THP200

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 5
    • rchoo on Aug 11, 2017 at 10:49 am

My 508 Premium is already 3 and a half year at 85,000km with zero problem. Good enough?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 3
      • thanks for the feedback…guess not bad at all those Pug yaa

• make sure u do ur maintenance on time, using original parts as per specification. else, u will end up spending so much later on.

• Aeroheads on Aug 10, 2017 at 7:20 pm

12 inch head unit!BMW quality at CRV price

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 7
  • U forgot most important thing. Isit 7seaters? Cuz if not, bashers says its DoA.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 39
  • Leafable on Aug 10, 2017 at 7:31 pm

Good pricing. What a bargain.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 8
    • timbuktu on Aug 11, 2017 at 8:03 am

nothing to shout about the price.

i’ll rather go for the tiguan. 1.4tsi has better output from a smaller engine vs. this 1.6thp. wet clutch some more. if you think vw’s reliability is bad, go speak to a real peugeot owner.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 16
      • intermilan on Aug 12, 2017 at 10:50 pm

3008 165hp 240Nm rm143k or rm156k otr..
        tiruan 150ps 250Nm rm150 otr..

In the end, maybe design preference will be the deciding factor if a buyer shortlist them both.

• Shafiq on Aug 10, 2017 at 7:34 pm

Like the interior. N i saw there is a card slot under right aircon vent. What is that for?

• Trolololo on Aug 11, 2017 at 1:43 pm

to cool down your namecards so when u pass your business card to clients it will feel cool

• suomynona on Aug 10, 2017 at 7:38 pm

Wow, the pricing is brilliant. Competitive, and not just introducing one variant. Peugeot is at it again!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 5
  • C-Segment SUV on Aug 10, 2017 at 7:42 pm

Set aside the resale value issue, I wonder how is the quality of it’s after sale service and the time to get spare parts.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
    • Henry on Aug 11, 2017 at 11:18 am

Don’t ask here. Go buy one and find out for yourself. Nothing beats personal experience.

• Resale value can be better if Malaysian change the attitude and buying habits.

• Kinda wished they’d bring the 150 HDi version. A bit less bhp but the torque is all you need.

• Even with CBU price this is already cheaper than a similarly equipped CRV.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
  • At that price, nothing else comes close to that interior…..
    looks absolutely special

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
  • itsme on Aug 10, 2017 at 8:07 pm

Anybody at paultan have tried this car with a 1.2 Puretech? I’m wondering why a lot of reviews say its the best engine for this car even tho it’s only got 130bhp.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 6
    • i think the torque is good, starts from low revs….for normal daily driving, most driver dont redline the engine… ; )

• intermilan on Aug 12, 2017 at 10:58 pm

European reviewers almost always like that.. coz for 3008, power from 1.2L turbo is actually sufficient for point A to point B travel and they give high consideration on fuel consumption (unlike most of us here). It rarely will owner need to tap the extra bhp anyway.

• I give 9 out of 10 for their i-Cockpit. Simply Beautiful!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 2
  • Semut Gatal on Aug 10, 2017 at 8:26 pm

Yesssssss……..sudah sampai. Wonder how much it is here in Langkawi?

• Ufoggy on Aug 10, 2017 at 8:27 pm

Concept car interior design for a family car. As a pug owner myself the new breed of thp engines are bloody reliablen (Ive done 95k in under 3 years)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 3
    • bro can u tell me more:
      how about interior – any rattling so far?
      engine – reliable? 10k service or 15k? frugal?
      gearbox – reliable? any issue?

thinking of getting suv but too many choices hehe. thinking of getting european suv

• intermilan on Aug 12, 2017 at 11:04 pm

I know this is true for the 163bhp version. Is it the same for 308 MkII 150bhp version too? Pity owner of models with earlier version of Prince engines (140bhp n 156bhp). The latest 165bhp version is rather new to know for sure but so far so good. Heard no complaints.

• Outalingam Crap on Aug 10, 2017 at 8:45 pm

Hmm……Now with the S&S 1.6T and no more problematic Prince 1.6T? Time to also change the 308/408 ETHP engines in Malaysia to the S&S version, provided if breakdowns don’t occur at all in just a short time frame

• Eternalgl0ry on Aug 10, 2017 at 9:04 pm

Again peugeot is so selfish to bring in top spec models. Which are the gt line trims

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 12
  • Nazee on Aug 10, 2017 at 10:03 pm

Unfortunately Peugeot maintenance is a nightmare. Every man driving one says his previous car was the better car. You want headache for the next 5 years, buy this.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 27
    • Paulxxx on Jun 10, 2018 at 1:27 am

I know exactly how tht feel…like how it drives but too many issues…. Cost too much to maintain and the service centres… Sigh..

• kimi's fan on Aug 10, 2017 at 10:20 pm

slightly looks like citroen ds series

• Think Wisely on Aug 11, 2017 at 8:14 am

Before buy any French car, open Mudah.my and compare price between Peugeot 308 Turbo 1.6 year 2011 and Honda Civic FD2 year 2011…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 28
    • eddiekee on Aug 11, 2017 at 9:11 am

why do you want to compare when one is a sedan , the other is a hatch. they have different body style. also different engine capacity.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
      • Think Wisely on Aug 11, 2017 at 9:58 am

during their launch, the Peugeot was hype, and you can see them a lot at the highway, the 308 was best seller compare to 408 or 407…

comparison the 1.6turbo with 2.0na cause the engine output nearly identical..

so then you want to be fair, let compare between Peugeot 408 2.0 2013, with civic 2.0 2013.. see it for yourself.

The main point is, the French brand car not establish a good aftersales service compare to Toyota and Honda in this country.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 14
        • Henry on Aug 11, 2017 at 11:42 am

I remember I went to the Peugeot showroom to see the 1st generation 3008 when it was launched. The salesman proudly told me this SUV is going to kill the Honda CRV. I wanted to laugh at his face but think it is rude to do so. LOL.

So, history has proven the killer is the one who got killed instead. LOL.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 10
  • the new kia rio rear led tail lights is better looking than this ^^

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 26
  • Francois on Aug 11, 2017 at 10:39 am

With liberalization of motor insurance, you may get a discount on these cars. Seriously car thieves avoid these cars. So it is a safe car to buy.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Aug 11, 2017 at 12:00 pm

nice…but takut….should give free service also

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
  • sam123 on Aug 11, 2017 at 12:15 pm

honestly if u guys wanna buy peugeot car, please open your mind.. interior , design , material are top notch.. (compare with jap) the downside are u need to spend more money on mechanical things if broken (compare with jap)

• TEACHER MPAMIRE on Aug 11, 2017 at 1:00 pm

At least it has a fuel gauge and not stuipido lights …what wen wrong with other cars here? what??

• Albert Chuah on Aug 11, 2017 at 1:24 pm

I don’t understand why people are complaining about Peugeot after sales. I myself a 508 owner I have not had any big problems and my service
    Center CS Euro Auto from penang have been very supportive. And I wonder why are people even complaining that the Peugeot here is low specs? It’s just so foolish to be saying that. Compare thisthe with the specs of Honda, Toyota, and other Japanese brand. Their high specs variants are like Peugeot low spece variants car.

I am definitely trading in my 508 with this awesome 3008.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 6
  • Steven on Aug 11, 2017 at 1:32 pm

Where’s the gt-line model?
    I rather go for CKD which is equipped with GT-line specs than CBU with lower specs any day for the same price.

• Its weird that people compared this with the old 308 which equipped with the old EP6CDT.
    This SUV of the year is not using that engine anymore, yet people still trying to give same impression on this 3008.
    The latest engine and transmission are very good compared to the previous model.
    For the maintenance wise, is there any huge difference compare to other Brand?
    Try comparing the 308 T9 or 408 T93’s service schedule with other Brand.
    I think many have bad experience with their previous Peugeot, but i did notice that there are a lot improved area.
    So let’s wait for the official launching to get more info before criticizing this great car…
    Cheer :)

• Former Peugeot owner on Aug 11, 2017 at 4:35 pm

I had bad experience owning a Peugeot. Please do your homework b4 making decision.

Pay a visit to Peugeot SCs. Check the after sales services. I am wondering why the SCs network are not expanding… my Peugeot had ecu problem after 5 years….

• Puegoet on Aug 11, 2017 at 4:52 pm

Peugeot is Peugeot. It is no where near any Japanese brand in terms of reliability. Yes, some of Peugeot owner here had never experience major problem with their ride, maybe they are just lucky (YES, lucky, not more than that). But as a whole, its a problematic car to deal with. Its system were too complex that it broke down after several years of usage. Not to forget, its pricey parts made it even worse to deal with. Not many people have the time to teh tarik at their sc to get their ride fix. Its a liability to ones instead of asset.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
    • Paulxxx on Jun 10, 2018 at 1:33 am

I feel u, bro. Totally do. It’s a nightmare each time it breaks down ‘and far too often too). The investment frm cost and time perspective… Plus they don’t have the best sc.

• No more Peugeot for is
    .after sales.service sucks big time…

• Mee Kuning Halus on Aug 11, 2017 at 7:08 pm

Waiting for spare part gonna be months….not to mentioned expensive price.

Go Lion, if you want…….but dont say we didnt warn you…….

• Middle Age Driver (Member) on Aug 11, 2017 at 10:10 pm

3 major issues with Peugeot cars: 1) Turbo maintenance & related issues. The only one worst Turbo issues than Peugeot are the turbo Protons. 2) Gearbox. Older Peugeots have more issues than the newer cars with Aisin gearbox. Again Punch CVT have worst maintenance issues than Peugeot. 3) ECU. This is the final killer. Most of the time when the ECU konk, the cost to replace the ECU through Peugeot wont make it a viable decision for the owner. You can’t just plug in a working replacement ecu from other same model car as the ecu is tied with specific car ID transponder circuit. It wont start. Even with an unlocked ECU, the car wont work as the trnaposnder cuircuits need to match the new ECU. The only way is to get a new factory program ECU with yr car ID. This is when you see most Pug lovers abandon their love.

• Proton? Just make sure you change the OCH and you are ok. It is more powerful than most jepunis 2.0l engines. CVT? No jerk at all

• anonymous on Aug 14, 2017 at 2:35 am

Would probably get one. It really is a nice car inside and out. Currently driving a C4 Cactus with Puretech 1.2 110 S&S manual and the engine is quite nice. Love the torque though top end speed is a bit disappointing and lack of 6th gear means fuel economy is not as good as it can be.

Have test driven a 2008 with THP 130, one of the engine option for the 3008 in Europe and while it’s quite powerful for the 2008, the THP 165 should fit the 3008 better considering the size.

• C-Segment SUV on Aug 15, 2017 at 2:23 pm

Despite 3008 is a CBU, it still can price competitively and lower than the CR-V (which is a CKD). Surprisingly RM13K difference. Good job Nasim.

Honda CR-V 1.5L Turbo 2WD – RM155,700
    Peugeot 3008 1.6L Turbo 2WD – RM142,888

That is the solid proof Japs brands are overprice.

Now waiting UMW to price it’s CBU B-Segment, the C-HR. If UMW is clever enough (tidak tipu orang) the price should fairly be between RM125K to RM135K. Otherwise Peugeot 3008 is a far better choice with better spec and bigger size.

• Pug owner on Aug 15, 2017 at 4:52 pm

Nice powerful car but poor reliability. Fix reliability and you have a winner. There is good reason for poor resale value.

• Concerned Consumer on Aug 16, 2017 at 9:59 am

This car not even officially launched yet in Msia… how can you said its reliability is poor?

• Pug owner on Aug 17, 2017 at 5:19 pm

You are correct about that. Past performance is no guarantee of future performance. Likewise with past issues. However, there is no acknowledgement of past issues, no mention of any change with regards to reliability which is not a good sign.

• Actually , from the design point of view Peugeot looks is quite adorable.

But unfortunately Peugeot does not design and make anymore long travel suspension vehicles as in the past like in Peugeot 403,404, 504 and 604 which was very sturdy and comfortable over long distance trips.
    Everyone loves having, travelling and owning a Peugeot at that time.

Then,Peugeot was totally out of sight and out of mind from most global buyers when Peugeot management started making shoddy and unreliable and fancy cars which was not to the liking of most buyers. Furthermore , Peugeot engine design was like dinosaurs in the making with not much improvement in terms of power output and unreliable at all . Furthermore ,Peugeot car suspension components like lower arms , engine mounting always keeps breaking and quite constant costly replacement . All this happen during the late 80’s , in the 90’s and late 20’s. Three decades of Bad AND TERRIBLE engineering and unreliable products causing Peugeot PSA group to almost near collapsed financially .

The problems now with Peugeot is still with

1) The Power Plant that need a big improvement in power output with good reliability and fuel efficiency — still lacking in this R & D sector (customised for Desert, tropicalised and non tropicalised area usage).

2)Good handling and sturdy long travel comfortable suspension besides comfortable seats

3)Good front panoramic view and higher seating position

4) Good size functional glove box and storage areas

These are four important criterias in which a Peugeot cars represent and are renowned for in the past which any buyers will expect from a Peugeot but not now Peugeot had totally lost it founding guidelines.

Peugeot had totally lost it former engineering capabilities glory and its brand MOJO virtues that it represent for.

Peugeot is wasting too much resources , time and money on designing and styling their future cars when they are not are not giving more funding by focussing into R & D in engineering and manufacturing better powerful reliable engines, good travel suspension and good road holding , good and comfortable seats — the basic 3 keys to get Peugeot sales success moving right now.

If these 3 key elements are still missing or not addressed properly , Peugeot new sales will still remain weak with low volume cars no matter whatever car design they produced. Just cannot sell globally except perhaps in France only simply because there is nothing outstanding to buy a Peugeot car except winning European Car Of The Year only.

• knight on Oct 29, 2017 at 12:41 am

peugeout interior quality is very good dude. do you drive one before? I mean a new model one. i have peugeout 508 and it’s tech and interior quality is superb. the seat is so premium. all tech is inside there, auto light, auto high bean, auto wiper, sport and comfort mode, all around sensor,electronic seat, head up display… and i have used it almost 5 years and no major thing happen. just normal wear and tear. maybe there are certain model in peugoet that have prob such as gearbox. but it does not effect all model that peugeout have. i think volkswagen is more worst than peugeout mostly it’s shitty gearbox but people still buy it.