Volkswagen Fest 2017 – cars on sale as low as RM30k

We’re reporting live from the Volkswagen Fest 2017 at the Setia City Convention Centre, happening from now until Sunday, August 13. Aside from the launch of Jetta Allstar and Beetle 60th Merdeka Edition earlier today, a number of dealers are also displaying pre-registered and pre-owned vehicles at the event, and there are one or two deals that have caught our eye.

By far the cheapest cars on sale here are 2011 Polo 1.6 Sedans that cost just RM30,000 each, while those looking for something a bit more upmarket can opt for a fully-imported 2011 Jetta 1.4 TSI retailing at RM48,000, a 2011 Tiguan 2.0 TSI at RM51,250 or a 2011 B7 Passat 1.8 TSI at RM58,000.

Want something newer? There’s a 2016 Polo 1.6 Hatch that can be yours for RM56,000 (RM20,000 off list price), as well as a 2016 Vento 1.2 TSI Highline priced at RM68,150 (RM25,738 off).

Also available is a 2015 Golf 1.4 TSI Highline at RM109,000 (RM50,888 off) and a 2016 B8 Passat 2.0 TSI Highline at RM167,980 (RM31,010 off). A 2016 Beetle Dune 1.4 TSI, one of only 50 in Malaysia, is priced at RM129,000 – that’s RM50,000 cheaper than when new.

Those of a more sporting bent can opt for a 2013 Golf GTI, available for just RM145,000, while brand connoisseurs might want to check out a 2011 Passat CC R-Line – the 300 PS 3.6 litre naturally-aspirated V6 model has just over 14,000 km on the clock, and can be yours for RM138,000.

Interested? The Volkswagen Fest 2017 is happening at Setia City Convention Centre Carpark B, from 10 am until 12 am today and tomorrow, and until 10 pm on Sunday. There are test drives, free 20-point checks for Volkswagen owners, a display of classic and current VW models, food trucks, music and live performances for visitors to enjoy, too.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Lee Kum Kee on Aug 11, 2017 at 8:33 pm

VW should just exit MY. With so may cars unsold, its alarming how they do accounting balance every year, and still hoping for light at the end of tunnel.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 133 Thumb down 107
    • I stick wit BMW of asia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 14
      • U cant afford it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
        • SALang on Aug 12, 2017 at 12:33 pm

VW copy P1 sales tactic..kudos

• YB KK on Aug 13, 2017 at 10:02 am

who are you to judge people whether they can afford it or not?

• Surprised Surprise on Aug 13, 2017 at 10:09 am

Went yesterday. Lot ppl buying those pre-owned. So I think price matters and ppl willing to give it a try still.

• Albert Yong on Aug 12, 2017 at 8:34 am

The Government should be blamed for this. This is because when VGM was selling faulty DSG cars 10 yrs ago, Government did not take any action. You see, all Governments all over the world, take stern action on car companies if they try to do nonsense.

Look at how Toyotaa in the US kena. The US Government themselves sued Toyota. The same with VW in Germany. The German Government came down hard on them.

In Malaysia, VW and DRB are kroni GLC companies. So, the past 10 years when consumers were complaining about their faulty VW DSG cars, Government just kept quiet cause it was their GLC involved.

Now, the problem has become so big, it has blown on everybody’s face. Prices have collapsed. 2nd hand market has collapsed. Just see this lelong.

All because Government refused to take action on VGM the past 10 years and protect the consumer by asking VGM to compensate all VW buyers. Now all total collapse.

Siapa rugi? Well our banks and also our fellow VW buyers. People who bought RM200k wil see their cars become RM40k

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 262 Thumb down 18
        • Wait, whut? Now is the perfect time for u to get ur cheap cars that u clamour for! Heres ur Rm30k car thats even cheaper than bog standard Axia! Stop complaining about RV and ini salah gov.

When price high, u says too exp. When reduced prices, u pulak hentam no RV. So mana mau ni?

Which world u came from that has bog standard cars with super low price & super high RV?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 10
          • john is otak batu on Aug 14, 2017 at 10:52 am

Dear john, time to fork in all your savings for all these cheap “utterly rubbish” stock while u can?! actually a lot of us hoping u should’ve do so long time ago

• Look, i dun add anything at all. I just repeat what u said. Why blame me? Dun get angry at urself. Be positive! :-)

• not our gomen dont take action, they r just not smart enough to know such issue can take action, most of them got fake phd n master degree ^^

• Kau yu on Aug 12, 2017 at 12:57 pm

They said oh I see,

• Why waste money with a Jerman car? Our money go to Jerman only. Better buy Proton. Proton cars are 1000x better than any Jap or Jerman cars. Our money also remains in Msia.

We should all support Proton cars cause it is our National car. It is not a joke that Proton is better than BMW and Volvo cause it is TRUE!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
          • Its true. P1 has more reliability than sausages. Go for P1 better.

• Danny Yap on Aug 12, 2017 at 2:41 pm

Used car dealer beg me to take 1 yr old Passat for RM65k. I turn it down. I don’t want problems in my life.

• Like Tong Sampah on Aug 11, 2017 at 9:13 pm

What to do.. Thanks to VGM. If they exit again would be the 2nd time in Malaysia history.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 13
      • Albert Yong on Aug 12, 2017 at 9:40 am

got 855 comments on this tpoic on pt facebook page. all 855 comments say vw stinks and to stay away from the brand

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 158 Thumb down 13
        • Brian on Aug 12, 2017 at 8:05 pm

Out of that 855 comments, 60% of them don’t even own VW cars. Talk to real owners. Ask them about their cars…I own a VW and I met VW owners, even some Jetta owners that had shitty experiences but still said they would still buy the car if they had to do it all over again. The problem is with the type of service provided from the service centres. That the issue that needs to be addressed.

• john is otak batu on Aug 14, 2017 at 10:56 am

Cause the 60% are smarter than those who bought them! VW issues to be addressed???!! Sorry,U’re on your own!

• Its their own fault if they exit. They should have stopped selling all the problematic DSG models when the problem first came up but they decided to continue to push sales through to achieve their numbers while ignoring the pain of customers.

• Brainless on Aug 11, 2017 at 9:49 pm

You should exit Malaysia. At least VW is constantly in the top 10 best selling car list in Malaysia. What have you achieved you oyster sauce?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 28
      • Danny Yap on Aug 12, 2017 at 2:51 pm

New Passat B8 over RM200k. Who will buy RM200k? Marketing team in VPC tak ada otai?

• I wonder how all the Malaysian banks can absorb all these terrible car loans. So many people top up cash on loan to sell the car, or banks seize the cars because people get stuck. Somebody has to take all the loss… Consumers or banks.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 21
      • What safety? on Aug 12, 2017 at 7:29 am

At the moment, our banks still record profit year after year. Also no mentions yet about huge drop revenue from their loan business. Banks are still fine.

• KL Has Fallen (2017) on Aug 12, 2017 at 12:34 pm

Pipu no money, huge drop bank deposits.

• Kevin on Aug 13, 2017 at 5:50 pm

Banks don’t take the loss. If they seize the car, sell it off and fail to get full settlement they will sue the borrower for the difference.

• Another disgruntled non VW owner talking
      Lame

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 16
      • Danny Yap on Aug 12, 2017 at 2:44 pm

VW owners are hiding in shame now. Pity them, once so arrogant, once upon a time they look down on Japs and Korean cars saying people who buy Japs and Korean cars are poor and cannot afford their high and mighty VW

See now

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
    • Just take care of your oyster sauce! I wonder what type of car you drive.

• :)

• i love volkswagen on Aug 11, 2017 at 8:58 pm

wow, 30k, still have unit? or just few only..

• AhKeong on Aug 11, 2017 at 9:34 pm

Buy Myvi high spec better. Less headache and maintenance.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 76
  • 30k?! Hey, wheres that guy that keeps clamouring for 30% diskaun? I got here a better offer for him, a 61% price reduction! DOUBLE of what he demanded!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 42
  • VWM is stupid! Why put a 2016 B8 Passat Highline up for sale at rm165k?? VWM is killing resale value again by their own doing. So now they just set the depreciation standard for this new model: first year loss is at least rm40k!! I feel so sorry for the people who just got a new B8. Actually for the B8 Highline, they had a good chance to reverse the horrible resale value of Passat, but they messed it up. Stupid.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 47
    • timbuktu on Aug 12, 2017 at 10:00 am

it’s painful and i hate it as a VW owner myself, but i can see why VM is doing this. they are left with not much choice as their new cars are not moving sales. look at the b8 passat highline.. wet clutch and all but how many on the road? the problem is that regardless of what clutch or what engine, the horrible reputation VW has built on himself is hard to erase.. and it will take time. and in the meantime, VW need to forcefully push some sales to stay afloat.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
    • Just bought the B8 Passat. I’ve to say is a very nice car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 10
    • gandalf on Aug 12, 2017 at 10:37 am

Wah u so smart ah. Think about it for a moment. They are the world’s biggest car company and they haven’t even penetrated the S.E.A and US market yet.

Quits stupid ah?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
    • tokmoh. on Aug 12, 2017 at 12:03 pm

Meanwhile haters say Volvo no RV.

Now u see the truth, no Conti have RV. Even merc and bmw, just check at mudah and see for yourself. If cannot afford Volvo because no RV, u can’t afford any Conti car.

Just stick to getting conned by Sam Loo if want RV. Conti cars are for richfags that can afford to throw money into sea.

• Donkey Kong on Aug 11, 2017 at 10:20 pm

Funny thing some of this sales price just like a new car price in Europe…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 2
  • slirh on Aug 11, 2017 at 10:26 pm

VW is late in the game of Msian market. Audi nearly missed it but managed to catch the tail. what VW need to do is persevere with their marketing and improve the after-sales service especially the maintenance. Generally Msian has accepted the product quality of VW but not their services

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 3
    • Car and Car on Aug 14, 2017 at 6:44 pm

Audi sales in Malaysia is really bad compare to MErz and BMW. VW is never targeting the high end market globally if you understand their portfolio. It is similar to Toyota and Honda by focusing on general consumer market. It is slight more expensive here for obvious reason …why do the government needs to approve all the selling price for each car ? Let the market decide by itself and the companies fight among themselves for the market. Lastly, the education level in this country doesnt help to provide more professional people to work in the workshop. Some comments about the resale value, guys, these cars are not new cars, 2011 polo at RM30k is considered crashing RV market ???? Check out a 2013 1.8 Altis, selling at 58k …. do the comparison before putting up guess

• NIZZAN on Aug 11, 2017 at 10:42 pm

Wow drop gaogaolat really no value as what Sam Loo used to say.

• But then periperi now can shaddup and show his money (if got lah!). Heres a 61% price reduction he been demanding for.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 6
      • YB KK on Aug 13, 2017 at 10:06 am

Why our national car company not giving 61% also? After all, nobody also buying their cars and time to do lelong also

• Why still complain when its even cheaper than std axia? Oh wait, u dun even have moolah to get ANYTHING. So stop complaining and work harder.

• People on Aug 11, 2017 at 10:47 pm

Cars also got warehouse sales…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
  • Film asspert on Aug 11, 2017 at 10:47 pm

All brand under VW Group also available?

• Reduce the maintenance & spare part cost too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
  • Semi-Value (Member) on Aug 12, 2017 at 1:05 am

dsg problems…and they are 2nd hand or worse cars

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 13
  • Uncle Paul Tan, you highlighted a 2013 GTI for 145K with 60K mileage. OMG!!!!

Hicom selling a 2015 Mk7 GTi with tech pack for 163K with only 4.8K mileage and another branch selling a 2017 Golf GTi for 215K brand new with 190 kms

• Tinsekut on Aug 12, 2017 at 6:25 am

Only buy if you already got another car coz service and repair like siput. Even worst if the vw car still under warranty. Need to wait here n there…might take up to months just to do a minor repair.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 6
  • Brian on Aug 12, 2017 at 10:38 am

I really don’t know what you guys are griping about. It clearly states that these vehicles are preowned or pre-registered. So the resale value is in fact the market rate for a 2nd hand model. The way everyone is griping here is like they are directly impacted and have to sell off their cars now. It’s ridiculous. I noticed this in every Paul Tan or other car forums….and this is for ANY car model or update or whatever ANY BRAND….you will always find Malaysians complaining about something or other. By the way, I’m a new Vento GT 1.2 Tsi owner. To the people heading down to have a look at these cars. Ignore the noise because these are amazing machines.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 81 Thumb down 100
    • If vw has high quality products, the they would be no after sales issue. Issue arose because the extensively high volume of cars with defects and after sales just cant manage. The ones making noise today are the onewho ignored the warnings and fell for eye candy

• Ismail Mohd Yusof on Aug 12, 2017 at 2:04 pm

Enjoy it while it may last

• ahaha on Aug 12, 2017 at 4:07 pm

I feel sorry you had to buy a vento. Good luck owning it though. You damn sure gonna need it. ahahahahahhahahaa

• Sonyman1 on Aug 12, 2017 at 4:38 pm

More like a used car. Cause the milage all above 100000 km. Like a used car status. The Passat is like 168k km already

• tiredofBS on Aug 12, 2017 at 5:49 pm

True…. They dont own any of that stuff.. Bt the noise they make like they have 5 vw in their garages…. They make perceptions waay bigger than wat it is… Anyway who cares abt them… I enjoy my Jetta….

• Keyboard Newbie on Aug 12, 2017 at 11:41 am

If you guys have done full reading, and go through the photos, you all will realize …

* Focus on mileage

• seancorr (Member) on Aug 12, 2017 at 12:10 pm

The B8 highline is a steal. Not surprised no new Tiguan for sale as the high spec still has a waiting list according to the sales rep when I went over to the showroom for a test drive to compare it with the new CRV. The low spec Tiguan however has a small discount going on at the moment

• Karma binti Kamelia on Aug 12, 2017 at 12:16 pm

Buy VW might look like super offer, super deal. Later, when the car breaks down…….it would be super nightmare financially…..again, again and again.

Dont take my word for it. Go check out mudah and see the prices drop like nobody business…..

• Ben Yap on Aug 12, 2017 at 1:26 pm

how come their price is higher than others selling outside?

• C. P. MOHAN on Aug 12, 2017 at 1:26 pm

All cars eventually depreciates. The real issue is not the second-hand value but the initial cost. If initial cost is lower the second-hand value also low.

• Ismail Mohd Yusof on Aug 12, 2017 at 2:02 pm

Nah. I won’t trust my luck on any Vw. Be it cheap or not.

• Happy Man on Aug 12, 2017 at 2:31 pm

Hello,,,, you all complain car too expensive in Malaysia, now also cheap already u still complain ah,,, haiyaaaa what you really want ah

• Good stuff!

• MenteriPasola101 on Aug 12, 2017 at 5:21 pm

These is a headache for me, need PT reader input which car will have more unscheduled visit to service centre , VW(Like) or Proton(Dislike)

• Sharfox on Aug 12, 2017 at 10:32 pm

VW – not for a weak heart and slim pockets

• Andrekua on Aug 13, 2017 at 12:09 am

Beauty in the eye of beholder.

Who are we to judge them (buyer)? Just enjoy the ride while it last. Hopefully I could hear less about these people complaining 25k harness or 7k gearbox repair bill or horrible resale value.

• Levin on Aug 14, 2017 at 10:14 am

I went to the event on Sunday. Was quite shocked to see the condition of the so called “RM145k Golf GTi MK7”. Seeing it personally, the front left headlamp is stained with some sort of acid burn, rear right tail lamp chipped and plastered with glue and front right wheel curb rashed. The driver side side skirt also has a visible dent in the mid section. I mean VW should at least rectify those parts first before displaying this car on sale.

• Leafable on Aug 14, 2017 at 11:59 am

Only idiots in Malaysia will think Japanese cars will hold the resale value better. The older generation will die off very soon so do the old mentality will change. New generation will not pay over the odd for an old banger with 2 airbags Jap cars anymore.