Volkswagen Jetta Allstar launched in M’sia – RM110k

Volkswagen Passenger Cars Malaysia (VPCM) has launched its third Allstar special edition model today – following in the footsteps of the Polo and Vento is the Volkswagen Jetta Allstar, which comes with similar accoutrements as its siblings, as well as a significant discount over the standard model.

The Allstar is priced at RM109,990 excluding on-the-road fees (registration, road tax) and insurance, making it RM8,000 cheaper than the mid-range Comfortline variant on which it is based. Included is a five-year, unlimited-mileage manufacturer warranty. All four of the standard Jetta colours – Candy White, Platinum Grey, Reflex Silver and Deep Black – are available here.

Setting the Allstar apart from the Comfortline are RM3,000 worth of accessories, such as a bootlid spoiler and “Allstar” badging on the B-pillars. Inside, the special Jetta is embellished with aluminium pedals, “Allstar” scuff plates and “Allstar” carpets.

Otherwise the kit count is identical to the standard model, with halogen headlights, 16-inch Navarro alloy wheels, a multifunction steering wheel, manually-adjustable front seats, “Sienna” fabric upholstery, Climatronic dual-zone climate control with rear air vents, an RCD 330G touchscreen head unit and six speakers. Safety-wise, there are six airbags, ABS with EBD and brake assist and stability control.

Power comes from a 1.4 litre TSI turbocharged and direct-injected petrol engine, making 150 PS and 250 Nm. Drive is sent to the front wheels via a seven-speed DSG dry dual-clutch transmission.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Solid conti marque. habislah proton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 23
    • P1 not competing with VW, bengong.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 5
      • Buyer is looking for nex generation JETTA under MQB platform. Who’s care about all-star or full-star …?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 5
        • Operation Manager on Aug 11, 2017 at 5:58 pm

Luckily not Honey-Star … nex-gen JETTA MQB platform when launch ?

• Henry Ford the XII on Aug 12, 2017 at 6:44 am

2018. That would be the equivalent of Mk7 Golf, whereas Mk8 Golf is coming out in 2019.
            Always thought hatch/sedan sisters launches are like 1 year apart at most (e.g City/Jazz) but not these 2.
            When the facelift Mk7 Golf with 1.5 TSI Evo coming here?

• DSG? Abes la gearbox

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 22
    • Basher says: habislah RV!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 8
  • Gracke on Aug 11, 2017 at 3:38 pm

This is the best performance and handling by far now and worth to buy in such great price!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 12
    • beautiful Vida on Aug 11, 2017 at 4:55 pm

not really. 0-100 sec 8.5 sec. no supercharger to help anymore. handling also normal only.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 24
      • Gracke on Aug 11, 2017 at 6:07 pm

Don’t forget it is still 1.4 TSI turbocharge, smooth and powerful engine with great acceleration, and price is RM109,000.00, others are far away from it. What do you want anymore in such price??
        Want like Golf GTI is impossible, wake up please!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 11
        • Cut-Cost Lor on Aug 11, 2017 at 9:23 pm

The twincharger is really a charm. YouTube clips show it did faster century sprint 8s flat on stock and stage-1 mod 6.6s

• CBU 2013 on Aug 13, 2017 at 10:22 am

I own the last batch of CBU Twincharged. Pickup is dead easy. Drive in KL traffic alot. DSG is sweet but gear-1&2 a bit laggy unless U use the paddle shifter to maneuver. No breakdown in the past 4 years. To me, RV is the only thing to complaint.

• cynical on Aug 11, 2017 at 10:37 pm

The gearbox feels jerky in KL traffic. If you stay in kampung ok la, the road is stretched out for you. In start stop traffic in the city, it’s a no-go

• ex-VGM staff on Aug 12, 2017 at 12:33 pm

Because clutch is control by motors, instead of legs. The same thing when you drive a manual car.

In the wet clutch DSG, the vibration and jerkiness is absorbed by the hydraulic fluid

• Salgoodguy on Aug 11, 2017 at 10:50 pm

Hahaha..detected! Sales very suck? Find other job

• Gracke on Aug 12, 2017 at 10:24 am

Sales know nothing about it….. they just sell it and read catalogue. But, we are DRIVER!

• Proton oh Proton on Aug 11, 2017 at 3:56 pm

I’m still fobia with ‘seven-speed DSG dry dual-clutch transmission’

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 15
    • Kaohsiung on Aug 11, 2017 at 5:17 pm

Dude, nothing new to comment ah? I’m the owner of a 2014 twincharged Jetta, the car is reliable, never had any issues. Bored of your talks lah, seriously. If you don’t own a VW , better just keep quiet

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 26
      • Proton oh Proton on Aug 11, 2017 at 10:45 pm

I think you are the lucky one… Pls refer VW malaysia FB… I’m not simply put words here bro… You are saying they all lie???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 6
        • timbuktu on Aug 12, 2017 at 10:07 am

they didn’t lie. the clutch issue is real. what is also real is that they have made several revisions to the clutch and the latest one is reliable. i’m saying this because i’m a VW owner who changed my clutch pack within 1 year. there after, my clutch is still good after 4 years. u know what i mean?

• tkhengong on Aug 12, 2017 at 12:30 pm

I also owned a 2014 Jetta and had clutch problems too. I was not able to drive it up car park ramps in shopping complex and my condo several occasions. It just won’t move even when I stepped hard on the accelerator. I had to kill the engine and restart to get it moving.

• sagajetta on Aug 11, 2017 at 5:18 pm

Looks like oversized Saga FLX to me

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
  • Mee Kuning Halus on Aug 11, 2017 at 6:55 pm

This is the dream car for Ah Pek or Unker that have becoming bored with their usual Camry…..and to upgrade to conti…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
    • Toyitafan on Aug 12, 2017 at 5:29 am

Yes the design is also similar, too squarish. Good for unker oni

• alldisc on Aug 12, 2017 at 12:35 pm

Don’t forget, Toyota and VW are both the largest car maker in the world. It seems the strategies are working well for them.

• horrayooi on Aug 11, 2017 at 7:56 pm

Uncle design. The design team should get inspiration from
    Hyundai Elantra, Honda Civic and Toyota C-HR.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 7
  • Time to clear stock for next generation Jetta

• 3pedaler on Aug 12, 2017 at 12:42 am

Better buy than the Honda civic, 30k cheaper Wei…

• DSG issue solved???

Thats why Honda Dual clutch has torque converter….clever la Japs