Penang bridge: one-year lane closure for maintenance

The Penang bridge will be subject to lane closures and diversions over a one-year period beginning August 22 to facilitate bridge inspection and maintenance works. The decision was part of a procedure to ensure the bridge remains stable and safe, said PLUS chief executive officer Mohammad Fuad Khusairi.

“The cable structure must be checked thoroughly on a regular basis for any signs of damage as the bridge cables are exposed to rain, heat and vibrations,” he said. One lane from the island to the mainland will be closed for the first six months, and subsequently one lane from in the opposite direction – from Seberang Perai to Penang Island – will be closed for the following six months.

During peak hours, traffic diversion plans will be issued to help ease congestion. “We also advise Penang Bridge users to get the latest traffic information via the PLUS Mobile app, its Twitter account @plustrafik or traffic apps such as Waze and Google Maps,” Mohammad Fuad said.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• Albert Yong on Aug 17, 2017 at 11:00 am

This is a record. One whole year can close. Just like Syabas, can dig road and make it one lane for one whole year.

Learn to be like Singapore. They only do road works and repair from 12am to 6am. Nobody is affected.

In Malaysia, all do daytime and cause massive traffic jams. Now, a record, 1 whole year can close the lane.

JKR and PLUS becoming like Syabas. Korek lubang for 1 whole year.

Malaysians style, today come, next 3 days nobody comes. Then come again, then 3 days nobody comes etc etc

Hot debate. What do you think? Thumb up 126 Thumb down 168
    • kzm (Member) on Aug 17, 2017 at 11:36 am

Do u really read the article?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 130 Thumb down 55
      • Come on, by now u wud have realised basher dun read anything other than headlines. Sometimes, he hurry hurry wanna bash that he even misreads the headline. Gip him break and let him earn his measly kupang

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 5
        • 12yrsold on Aug 17, 2017 at 4:24 pm

He he he. Agree with U john. Take a break. Have a Kit Kat. It is good for everyone. Cheers…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 1
    • Horizon Sailor on Aug 17, 2017 at 12:01 pm

Does Sinkland had the same bridge like us..?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 104 Thumb down 2
    • jibril on Aug 17, 2017 at 1:31 pm

Well, it is Malaysia. Another good example is the penang tunnel. Even after 5 years, feasibility study for tunnel still not ready (even when payment were already made). Excuse here and there. sign…
      Malaysian style..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 94 Thumb down 5
    • Johny on Aug 17, 2017 at 11:07 pm

Albert Yong is correct. I 110% agreed. Perfect comment.

• my comment :
      1. JKR is not related, it is between LLM (Lembaga Lebuhraya Malaysia) as the owner of the bridge and PLUS as the concessionaire
      2. the bridge is 3 lanes per bound, only 1 lane is closed for 6 months with 2 lanes are opened to traffic
      3. why require lane closure? because there will be scaffolding set up from below up to the top of the tower (51.4 meters height) for inspection. Setting up itself may takes up to 2 months, 2 months for inspection and repair (if required) cables and another 2 months for dismantle
      4. lane closure for only 12am to 6am is impossible, u cant setting up, inspection and dismantle in 6 hours
      5. this is not suka2 inspection work, it is engineering standard requirement for the safety of the bridge. If they dont do inspection and something goes wrong with bridge, who want to take the blame later?
      6. this is not suka2 inspection work, as PLUS need to bear their ears to the complain from user and their toll collection might reduce since user will use the 2nd Penang Bridge (not under PLUS). However, since the safety of the bridge is most priority, they still need to do it

why i know so much? because i work with them

Thanks

• Albert Yong on Aug 17, 2017 at 11:02 am

All over the world, all the biggest bridges, they never close unless earthquake. In Malaysia, the problem is, half the time, the PLUS and JKR workers are sleeping. They make an enclosure, you go peep inside, you see all fast alseep.

Next day, you go again, try to peep inside, all fast alseep again. No wonder it takes 1 year!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 81 Thumb down 150
    • Horizon Sailor on Aug 17, 2017 at 12:15 pm

Are u sure..?

What in your mind actually ? If those guys didnt do the periodic maintenance and suddently the suspension breaks loose and claim the life of motorist. I bet u the one who gonna complaint and curse first…

Thinking about unsual traffic jam..? Get your fat ass move…cycling/walking/use public transport..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 119 Thumb down 6
  • Close for 1 year? That 100+ years Brooklyn Bridge also never closed that long.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 104
  • ex-VGM staff on Aug 17, 2017 at 12:19 pm

does singapore has a 12km bridge? and the city is smaller than melaka in size, you can always choose route A, B or C.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 99 Thumb down 2
  • C. P. MOHAN on Aug 17, 2017 at 12:25 pm

Not concerned about the need to do maintenance for safety and security, but the concern is the 1-year maintenance.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 100
  • tiadaid (Member) on Aug 17, 2017 at 1:16 pm

The bridge is 30+ years old. Better to really do a thorough maintenance job than a half-assed one.

Besides, GO USE THE SECOND BRIDGE!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 113 Thumb down 4
    • Or the Ferry. Jeez! Pipu forgot iconic ferrys once the bridges is up and running.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 0
  • subash on Aug 17, 2017 at 4:01 pm

One year closure for bridge maintenance…..never heard. Just imagine the chaos this will bring to penangites! Cable can be verified using modern equipment without closing. I think there is something amiss here…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 39
    • Theres more to civil works than just the cables. Besides, there is 2nd bridge and have u forgotten the everlasting ferries? U young’uns must have not even known this icon!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 3
      • vakoo on Aug 17, 2017 at 8:15 pm

The wait on the ferry is horrendous and charges for ferry is more expensive than using the bridge.

• Ferry charges are more expensive than bridge?? Herm…….. stupid or what ?

• the cables were replaced not long ago.
    Scaffolding need not be placed on the road lane as can be seen for the external scaffoldings during the construction of high rise buildings. There are many ways to erect the supports without closing the road. All maintenance works should stop during the morning and evening rush hours so as to enable the opening of all lanes. This will prevent any objects from above.

• If u havent noticed, theres been nearby earthquakes lately. The cables MUST BE CHECKED for integrity. And while scaffold may be small, u forget a safety buffer zone is needed for civil works nowadays. Relative to work height, the zone cud be bigger.
      This isnt ur 70s/80s construction work where the lane & walkway on the side of the building under construction is still in operation!

• Petoron Sagu on Aug 18, 2017 at 12:35 pm

Ok ok…. Lets do it like this. Who ever dont want the maintenance work to be done please sign a petition….. If anything happen in future let all this bunch to pay the victim and the repair work…. Amacam….? Ada brani….? Let people do work la….. Safety come first whatever u say….

• Yes do the maintenance work but not to the expense of so many law abiding citizens for one whole year. Look at the situation, steel structures can be build to span both road lanes and supported behind the present concrete barriers. It is a matter of cost. I would think the time, fuels etc wasted by the common people will run into millions of ringgit for that period.