Subaru BRZ facelift officially launched in Malaysia – six-speed manual priced at RM224k, auto for RM231k

At long last, Motor Image has officially launched the facelifted Subaru BRZ in Malaysia, with enthusiasts around the country jumping for joy. Why? Unlike the previous BRZ that was offered with a six-speed automatic transmission, the new one can now be had with a six-speed manual as well (previously available on a special order basis).

Both transmissions are mated to the familiar 2.0 litre D-4S direct-injected, naturally-aspirated boxer-four petrol engine (200 PS and 205 Nm), with drive going to the rear wheels. Subaru quotes a higher fuel consumption for the manual (7.8 l/100 km) compared to the automatic (7.1 l/100 km), following the ECE cycle.

Aside from the introduction of a manual option, the BRZ’s suspension has been revised with updated springs and dampers, as well as a larger rear anti-roll bar for improved responsiveness, stability and comfort. Rigidity also gets bumped up thanks to strengthened strut tower braces, transmission crossmember plate and rear wheel housings.

The facelift brings with it a new front fascia that features a more angular U-shaped spoiler, full-LED headlights that incorporate C-shaped LED daytime running lights and LED indicators, plus the fog lights are now LED-type units.

Down the sides, sharp-eyed fans will spot the redesigned side slits on the front fender as well as the new 17-inch machined-finish 10-spoke wheels. The latter, along with the new LED taillights, can also be found on the BRZ’s brother-from-another-mother, the Toyota 86.

Inside, you’ll find a new multifunction steering wheel, redesigned instrument cluster with a wrapped visor, updated controls for the dual-zone automatic climate control and a new 4.2-inch colour multifunction display. The last item is now able to display vehicle performance data and a lap timer should you enjoy track days often. For further reminder that this is a sports car, red stitching has been applied throughout the cabin, and there’s a new BRZ logo embroidered into the seat backs.

Standard kit includes keyless entry, push-button start, cruise control, dual-zone auto climate control, leather and Alcantara upholstery and a 2-DIN radio/CD player with six speakers. Safety-wise, there are seven airbags, ABS with EBD and brake assist, new Hill Start Assist and revised Vehicle Stability Control (VSC) with a more lenient Track mode.

On to the most important part then, the price, where the manual is the most affordable option at RM224,389 on-the-road without insurance, followed by the automatic at RM230,749 (now RM10,000 less than the pre-facelift model). Both variants are significantly less expensive than their Toyota siblings by up to RM33,000.

GALLERY: Subaru BRZ facelift in Malaysia (the enthusiast’s choice)

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Syiok Syiok Sendiri on Aug 24, 2017 at 11:47 am

OMG RM231k. Without insurance. With insurance nearly RM250k.

So shocking. Reasonable priced car all over the world, here, it becomes the price of BMW and Mercedes.

Where is the 30% car price reduction promised to us? Did we get cheated?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 17
    • takNakP1 on Aug 24, 2017 at 1:33 pm

why bother? is still a luxury priced car.

Talking about cheated, take note this is a FACELIFT and not a BRZ 2017.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 8
      • targa on Aug 24, 2017 at 3:25 pm

The facelift with the upgraded engine and revised gear ratio is only available at selected regions such as USA, Australia, Japan and a few other countries.

• Greedy UMW on Aug 24, 2017 at 3:15 pm

Well agree that it is expensive, but if I am in the market of sports car, I will buy this BRZ over 86 not just because it is less expensive but I don’t want to give greedy UMW my money.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
      • takNakP1 on Aug 24, 2017 at 3:57 pm

greedy or not, i can’t imagine how to enjoy with RM2k car loan for 9 years.

• Car & petrol prices orso manipulated. Insuran premium still cheap cos not manipulated.

• Well, if someone can afford these cars I don’t think fuel price are something they ever need to be worried about ._.

• Outdated underpowered toyota on Aug 25, 2017 at 7:34 pm

A VW GTi can easily bungkus this underpowered car mated to a slow automatic transmission.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
    • nemesis on Aug 24, 2017 at 4:23 pm

this brz price is the same price bracket with kia cerato koup turbo in australia… in malaysia, the cerato koup turbo is 135k while this brz is rm231k…

and 200ps/203nm torque only? for those who dont know how it feels to drive a 200nm car, go get into any 2.0 camry or civic and mesh the pedal…that weak push high screaming sound is what you will get when buying this car….
      atleast the cerato koup has 265nm to shove at 1750rpm…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 5
      • 7yrsold on Aug 24, 2017 at 10:39 pm

Camry and civic are much heavier

• torque-to-weight ratio on Aug 24, 2017 at 11:30 pm

We should look at torque-to-weight ratio and power-to-weight ratio, instead of just the torque and power numbers. This car is lighter than the Camry.

• nemesis on Aug 26, 2017 at 10:13 pm

this brz is not superlight weight bro.. and when i said go test the civic or camry on 200nm power feel of na car which the peak torque is at 4k rpm plus… its a no match to power felt on a turbo charge 265nm at 1700 rpm no matter what… try the golf gti with 280nm at low rpm or the bmw 330i with 350nm at 1.7k rpm as well and then try a 2.0 n/a sedan and feel the diff…

• hyundai89 on Aug 24, 2017 at 12:01 pm

In Aussie, BRZ priced @ rm120k. Same same as kia koup, CRZ & veloster.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 0
    • Redidiot on Aug 25, 2017 at 10:52 am

Not gomen’s fault for huge price difference. Ask distributor.

• blur sotong on Aug 24, 2017 at 12:09 pm

pardon my ignorance.. why look like Toyota GT86 ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 15
  • Kudos to Tan Chong & Motor Image for this gem!

• Zoom Zoom on Aug 24, 2017 at 12:45 pm

why get this when you can get a Unregistered new 2016 Subaru WRX sti (300ps/400nm).. at about the same price 239k? lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
    • JB_KIA on Aug 24, 2017 at 5:01 pm

suddenly Optima GT look so affordable!

• drift car on Aug 24, 2017 at 11:32 pm

This is a drift enthusiast’s car. The STi is a road-going rally car.

• syeok sendiri drift on Oct 07, 2017 at 8:21 am

dream on trying to drift with a 200nm car bro… prepare to put oil and water at the parking lot to ease the pain on the car low powered engine haha

• William on Aug 24, 2017 at 1:22 pm

RM224k?!?

• Bernard on Aug 24, 2017 at 1:27 pm

Price should be reduced by 50%

• takNakP1 on Aug 24, 2017 at 1:28 pm

what happen to the extra power 5hp, shorter final drive 4.3:1 and the red aluminium intake manifold for manual version?
    WAIT!!!… it said FACE LIFT… not BRZ 2017.
    Sighhh…

• Blue interior and exterior will be legend trademark

• Wonder how slow is the 0 too 100 with that amateur output?

• Meng Seng on Aug 24, 2017 at 3:29 pm

People buy this car not for 0-100 sprints. You buy this to enjoy its handling even on or off track.

• Skip thiz crap on Aug 24, 2017 at 4:42 pm

Who buys manual trans anymore ?? Silly car this for uneducated people..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 32
      • nemesis on Aug 29, 2017 at 4:29 pm

those who are trapped with the marketign gimmick will think that he buys this car for fun drive…at that weak power…the real demo drift car using this model will have to put in the turbo and big mount intercooler to get this car to drift.

• heybadigol (Member) on Aug 24, 2017 at 5:00 pm

The car can make you smile on the twisties, even when not pushed to its limit. So you can enjoy it safely without injuring yourself.

• Henry on Aug 24, 2017 at 6:23 pm

Unfortunately most drivers can only drag on a straight road. Come to the twisties their knees turn into jelly. These are also the drivers who only talk numbers.

• Getting 100hp per liter on a naturally aspirated engine is not ‘amateur output’.

• Buys a Ferrari but worries about fuel economy?Get a bicycle and hug your trees, peasant.

• heybadigol (Member) on Aug 24, 2017 at 4:55 pm

Want an 86? Buy the BRZ, then pocket the savings for modding the BRZ. Both cars are literally identical, save for suspension tuning differences, and slightly different finishing touches/trim. Oh, and apparently, the 86 is more driftable. But honestly, why is UMW Toyota charging RM33k more for the same thing?

• Hi Guru,

Please advise…
    Which is the better one?
    MX-5 RF or BRZ
    Top up a bit and you can get…
    Q-60 or SLC or 420?
    No sunroof for BRZ? New STI edition? Manual 205ps Auto 200ps, performance difference?

Thank you!

• Henry on Aug 24, 2017 at 6:25 pm

Why choose? Buy all of them.

• MX-5 RF on Aug 24, 2017 at 11:38 pm

Definitely the MX-5 RF, because you can have loads of fun even while driving slowly. That means you’ll be enjoying yourself on the roads also, instead of just on the track.

The BRZ is more of a track car, or at least you need to go a bit faster on the twisties to enjoy it.

• Guru pop on Aug 25, 2017 at 10:43 am

Yoy come to wrong place to ask for advise, this blog full of political posts by that few dudes only but with multiple names.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Aug 24, 2017 at 9:30 pm

problem is its priced too close to the sti….so unless u getting a much cheaper recon version..which u might as well cos u are probably gonna modify it and ruin the warranty

• Always been a fan of manual transmission!

This car is nice, but I would rather spend my money on WRX

• 4AGE NA is the best on Oct 07, 2017 at 12:12 am

This car in corner will be king, this power and torque.just nice, unfortunately ppl like staright road, like turbo, I still prefer NA , always fan of NA

• Bukansyioksendiri on Oct 07, 2017 at 10:05 am

200nm? Hahaha..its like an obese person dragging his feet running in a marathon…not worth it..with that price better buy an f30 330i..minyak also jimat…