Volvo XC90 T8 PHEV now cheaper in Thailand due to Malaysian assembly, but still RM224k costlier than MY

The Volvo XC90 is now cheaper in Thailand, thanks to imports from Malaysia instead of Sweden, the Bangkok Post reports. Malaysian assembly has reduced retail prices by around one million baht in the Land of Smiles.

The top-of-the-range XC90 T8 plug-in hybrid, in the richest Inscription trim level, is now priced at 4.89 million baht (RM628,134), which is 1.1 million baht (RM141,298) cheaper than the similar car imported from Sweden.

The English language daily points out that Volvo’s flagship SUV slightly undercuts the Mercedes-Benz GLE 500e AMG Dynamic, but is 191,000 baht (RM24,537) costlier than the BMW X5 xDrive40e. Like the XC90 T8, both the Germans are plug-in hybrids, but the Volvo’s 407 hp/640 Nm and 40 km pure electric range is superior.

Volvo Car Thailand is also selling the seven-seater in the lower Momentum trim level, priced at 4.49 million baht (RM576,939). Not available in Malaysia, the 2.0 litre diesel (225 hp, 470 Nm) XC90 D5 is priced at 4.19 million baht (RM538,197), comfortably undercutting oil burning variants of the Audi Q7 and Land Rover Discovery in Thailand.

Here, the only other country in the world to produce the big SUV outside of Sweden, the CKD XC90 T8 Inscription is priced at RM403,888 thanks to hybrid local assembly incentives. That’s a massive RM224k lower than the Thai price, which makes the car quite a bit of a bargain here.

GALLERY: Volvo XC90 T8 Twin Engine

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• FXpert on Aug 28, 2017 at 3:42 pm

Volvo XC90 T8 in UK @ £60,455 = RM 332,782.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 23
    • Leafable on Aug 28, 2017 at 3:55 pm

£61k is lower spec Momentum trim with minimal features which Volvo Malaysia don’t offer.

The one Volvo Malaysia selling is a top spec Inscription with almost all the option’s boxes ticked for £72k = RM396k quite close to Malaysia”s current price. Check the fact before blasting out something misleading.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 67 Thumb down 6
      • Rooney on Aug 28, 2017 at 4:17 pm

And CBU here in merseyside.

• Bangkok boy on Aug 28, 2017 at 5:03 pm

Hardly see volvo in Thailand. I believe malaysia same right?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 17
        • This is because the price is out of reach for most Thai ppl. Most Thai ppl that has the money will go for BMW or MB. The mentality of Thai buying cars is how Malaysian 20 years ago.

In Malaysia, it is everywhere. All of the XC90 is T8 Inscription.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 22
          • But but but basher says in tomyam, Mekdees workers drive their Beemers and Benzes to work wor. U mean basher tipuing?

• Hussain ong on Aug 28, 2017 at 7:31 pm

Today those Malaysian who are rich also go for BMW or Benz since it is one class higher. Nothing change since 40 years ago.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 12
        • tokmoh. on Aug 28, 2017 at 11:09 pm

Rubbish. I’m in Bangkok for holiday, i can spot Volvos just fine. XC60 is most easiest to spot, quite a few XC90, some V60 and S60.

Even a number of classics like 740 and 940.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 7
          • Cipek on Aug 29, 2017 at 9:26 pm

You went to Bangkok volvo showroom for holiday. Well done.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 15
    • Basher logic says tomyam economy & currency is free falling wor…

• tokmoh. on Aug 28, 2017 at 11:14 pm

THB 10 = rm1.3, everything feels quite expensive, even Msia cheaper.

RON95 here about 24baht, about rm3.10ish.

Yet, Toyota, Honda penuh, not that many use motorbike, even kl has more motorbikers. Mana rakyat terjejas?

• If you configure the car with the same spec as sold in Malaysia, you would end up with £69,255 OTR without insurance. Yes, it still cheaper than in Malaysia, but not much.

• Harry on Aug 28, 2017 at 6:01 pm

Average Briton annual salary £60,000.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 9
        • Briton VAT 20% and income tax 60%. Mana mau?

• Graduan JPA on Aug 29, 2017 at 10:20 am

Briton sosial welfare benefit veli good. Msia jobless youth 10.7%..

• Yes, veli gud. Their gov is heading towards bankruptcy becoz of it, yeah. Their NHS almost no money to pay for even basic treatment.

• So what! U think car price is suppose to be based on salary? If thats the case, might as well sell our raw material (i.e OIL) to other countries based on the countries average salary as well.

• Ohwai on Aug 28, 2017 at 7:20 pm

And they have high income tax too

• Joshua on Aug 28, 2017 at 7:46 pm

That’s total bullshit. They make at best 20k to 30k a year. Part of it goes into paying for retirement and taxes.

• turbocharged on Aug 29, 2017 at 9:44 am

No la…fresh graduate only can get 1800 to 2500 pound only… if u fresh phd holder from imperial like my friend who worked with rolls-royce than can get 5K pound permonth…

• FuXpert on Aug 28, 2017 at 5:20 pm

Since you like to compare, try comparing UK’s economy against Malaysia’s economy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
      • UK economy is predicted to barely missed going into recession, meanwhile MY economy is predicted to do better than earlier predictions.

• Don’t forget, compare their income tax and VAT, against ours. Also, labour and service cost as well.

• Basherlogic on Aug 28, 2017 at 7:23 pm

No need. Basher will compare US pricing with bolehland. No matter how the economy is, currency, tax structure, market size etc

And the end of day, if follow their logic, every mcd waiters can buy luxury cars.

• Redidiot on Aug 29, 2017 at 8:12 am

Your point being??

• Tomyam more exp than MY?! Ini mesti salah… oh wai

• Jimmy on Aug 28, 2017 at 10:14 pm

Thai and Indo learned from Malaysia. Malaysia is the best example in this context, every country should copy.

• tokmoh. on Aug 28, 2017 at 11:22 pm

We always call DrM bapa industry automotif Thailand.

Now they follow our policy charge duty over 9000.

• Jay Lee on Aug 28, 2017 at 4:19 pm

Volvo Geely 》all

• tokmoh. on Aug 28, 2017 at 11:15 pm

Ah, I see you’re a man of culture as well.

• Cipek on Aug 29, 2017 at 9:29 pm

Man of culture cukur enough. Might as well pay more to get a proper and one class higher German car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 10
  • Geng Cukur on Aug 28, 2017 at 4:28 pm

Rakyat amat cukur ada kerete hi-spek yg murah di negara yg penuh dengan cukur ini

• Mikey on Aug 28, 2017 at 5:05 pm

What is the purpose of this article??
    1) To tell Malaysian that Malaysia can assemble vehicles as good as SWEDEN.
    2) That its RM224k lower than the Thai price
    3) That the Volvo’s 407 hp/640 Nm & 40 km pure electric range is superior compare to both the Germans.
    TokMoh, this one is for U. Cheers …

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 4
    • tokmoh. on Aug 28, 2017 at 11:19 pm

And what a timing to read this while I’m holidaying in Bangkok.

Tbh, i feel i see quite a number of Volvos here vs ratio of seeing Bmw/merc.

Unlike msia badge snobs, merc, bmw pecah sales record, Volvo only reserved for men of culture.

• Lou Kean Keong on Aug 28, 2017 at 5:20 pm

What is the purpose of this article for locals?
    That we should be grateful or consider ourselves lucky?

• To tell bashers that everything is relative, and not to cherry pick comparisons as their liking when bashing MY.

• Topkek on Aug 28, 2017 at 7:26 pm

Why dun basher persoaled the tomyamland price? If it is expensive here tau pulak nak bash

• tokmoh. on Aug 28, 2017 at 11:26 pm

Apa sarahan Volvo?

• dugongx on Aug 29, 2017 at 2:01 am

The purpose of this article is to teach uneducated ppl that the high excise and import duty here is not due to proton. Proton is just the scapegoat used as excuse to increase the mad tax.
      Gomen no money they will increase car duty whether proton is dead or alive.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Aug 28, 2017 at 8:40 pm

syukur harga malaysia murah

• ckcheong on Aug 29, 2017 at 10:59 am

How good is Volvo? I really want to know. I choose other brand than Volvo is not other brand is superior better. I stay in Ipoh. Now Federal Auto has closed down Volvo showroom. If I get a Volvo, I need to go to nearest such like Penang or KL. Would you drive 100km+ to service? My uncle used to hv a Volvo S80, his next car is Toyota. I believe many ppl once drive Volvo will buy back Volvo. I asked my uncle why not buy a new Volvo? He told me if you want to pay over RM1k+ for every time going into workshop then you carry on, even small services. This making me to think twice again.
    I got a friend who got a Volvo XC60, he tried to trade to get a new car, he told me buying a Volvo is easy, when selling it, it’s a pain in your arse. It’s like you knee down to beg someone to buy your car with the buyer prefer price. You got no bargain chances at all.. again, let me think for this again.
    For someone who comment those who stick with BMW, MB, Audi etc…. sometimes ppl not buying those cars because of what others is buying. As u know, choices in bolehland is limited, either this or that. Why less ppl choosing other brand are might be they want to be less hassle when selling in future. Everyone know for cars, price drop is normal but when you face the problem is not the selling price, is the demand then you know.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 16
    • Redidiot on Aug 29, 2017 at 3:15 pm

What do you mean ‘choices in bolehland is limited’?

• If you buy car for the sake of resale value, then don’t go for continental car at all. Even BMW resale value is crap. Trade in price for a 2013 BMW 316i & 320d is about RM100k only from about RM200k-RM220k last time.

• Simon on Sep 16, 2017 at 2:41 am

Even other brand like mercedes and BMW are facing the same problems trying to get rid of it too. Even worst getting rid of AUDI CAR

i got a friend who own a 2010 S CLASS , He was also begging for buyers to buy the car as low as RM 70K .

Imaging an S class losing hundred of thousand RM . WOW!!

Just sharing the same experience with you too .

VW passat even worst lost 55% of original value after three years and many are still sitting in dealership yards left unsold with hotspot offer and yet nobody buys.

What logic is that other brands can sell well when many are left unsold secondhand ??

• oliver on Sep 21, 2017 at 6:35 pm

Do not forget AUDI A4 and Q5 resale Value are like crap too . Begging for buyers too to buy at buyers price offer even worst than Volvo.

Same goes for Mercedes C and E class . RV is also crap . lose almost 45% after three years .

No need to mentioned BMW X3 and X5 , even worst than AUDI, NO BUYERS wants it especially for high mileage vehicles ( no warranty ).