2018 Yamaha X-Max 125 scooter released in Europe

With an October 2017 release date, the 2018 Yamaha X-Max 125 is the Iwata, Japan, firm’s take on a rider-friendly, urban mobility scooter for the European market. Designed for use on surface streets and suburban commuting, the X-Max 125 joins Yamaha’s X-Max-series of scooters.

New for the coming year is an increasing level of sophistication in small-displacement scooters, something we witnessed when we reviewed the 2017 Yamaha NVX 155. In the case of the X-Max 125, Yamaha’s Traction Control System (TCS) is standard equipment.

Using a sensor to monitor rear wheel speed, power is reduced the moment wheel spin is detected. This technology is shared with the larger X-Max scooters, the X-Max 300 and X-Max 400. Inside the cockpit are two instrument readouts with a large central LCD display for engine and ride information.

The X-Max 125 carries a 124 cc, liquid-cooled, single-cylinder power plant that is rated at 14 hp at 8,750 rpm and puts out 12 Nm of torque at 6,500 rpm. Power gets to the ground using a V-belt and CVT transmission, with the EU 4-compliant engine fed by EFI.

Braking – ABS is now standard for all EU-market two-wheelers – is done with hydraulic discs front and rear, and the X-Max 125 rolls on a 15-inch wheel in front, with a 14-inch hoop at the back. Wet weight is claimed to be 175 kg, and seat height is set at 795 mm, with fuel carried in a 13-litre tank under the floorboard.

LED lighting is used for the X-Max 125, a twin-headlight unit in the front cowl, and twin tail light. Also standard equipment is keyless start and USB charging port, while the underseat storage compartment swallows two full-face helmets.

To accommodate riders of various heights, the X-Max 125 comes with an adjustable screen, as well as handlebars that can be adjusted fore and aft with a choice of two positions. To increase comfort, a stepped seat is available that comes with a small, separate, rider’s backrest.

There are four colour options for the X-Max 125 – Radical Red , Sonic Grey, Phantom Blue and Blazing Grey, with availability slated for October 2017. No pricing was announced for the 2018 Yamaha X-Max 125, but the previous generation model had a retail price of 4,322 pounds sterling (RM24,175).

Coming with diverse and extensive experience in heavy engineering, Mohan enjoys making anything with wheels go fast, especially motorcycles. His weapon of choice is the Desmoquattro engine, and he has a penchant for anything with a dash of Italian design. Strangely enough, he insists he's a slow rider.

• what a beauty. please bring in to malaysia.

• sohai on Sep 13, 2017 at 3:43 pm

oh Mohan…
    you teased and wet my appetite..
    and then you end your article with RM24,175…
    such anti climax…
    Had you put this on your title, I won’t even click this page.

• Haffeel on Sep 14, 2017 at 4:12 pm

Hi Mohan,

Can you please find out if Yamaha Malaysia intend to bring in Yamaha Force 155 which was released in November 2016 in Indonesia, it is a more sportive version of NVX 155 which was recently released in Malaysia.

Yamaha Force 155 is definitely a very agile scooter for urban riders. Please check for me. TQ

• Huy Vũ on Oct 17, 2017 at 9:02 am

Please bring it to VietNam :)

• Huy Vũ on Oct 17, 2017 at 9:03 am

Perfect Model!
    VietNam market needs it to replace N-MAX!