August 2017 Malaysia vehicle sales up 6.5% from July

The Malaysian Automotive Association (MAA) has released vehicle sales data for the month of August 2017, where a total of 51,720 vehicles were delivered. This result represents an increase of 3,167 units or 6.5% from the month prior of July.

The association cites promotional campaigns organised by car companies and fulfillment of back orders (with the ‘e-daftar’ system returning to normalcy) for the surge in vehicle sales.

Compared to the same corresponding month in 2016, sales volume in August 2017 was 499 units or 1% lower. In terms of total industry volume (TIV), the year-to-date figure as of August stands at 384,730 units, which is 4% higher than what was recorded during the same period last year (370,152 units).

For the month of September, the association expects similar results to what was obtained in August, because of the shorter working month and on-going promotional campaigns.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Proton Oh Proton on Sep 20, 2017 at 7:26 pm

Most important is Proton’s figures. How many cars did Proton sell and is it enough to reduce the RM4 mil per day loss?

• Muthusammy Loo on Sep 21, 2017 at 6:33 pm

Most important is Poodua’s figures. How many cars did Poodua sell and is it enough to pay their management’s big fat 24 months bonus? coz later on that one with Dato’ Dr easily get angry when the poo car sales figure doesn’t achieve target.

• Bright Future Malaysian on Sep 20, 2017 at 9:20 pm

Syabas! This is very good indication. Malaysia economy is very bright and strong. We are on the right track to becoming high income nation. Time to ditch my Proton and buy Conti.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 11
  • Where is John? on Sep 21, 2017 at 9:26 am

MAA always like to give car sales figures but they never fight for lower car prices.

We have the highest car prices in the world. MAA should see to it that car prices are reduced instead of just tabulating sales figures

• 12yrsold on Sep 21, 2017 at 12:30 pm

Sorry to tell U MAA does not have the POWER to reduce price of cars.

• Zulkiefly Omar on Sep 27, 2017 at 8:33 am

Boycott buying new cars… buy good secondhand cars… then the price will come down.

• Ben Yap on Sep 21, 2017 at 9:34 am

i bought a new car in august because my trade in value for my old car hasn’t drop yet. once it’s october, it is not worth buying unless got year end discount.

• Mikey on Sep 21, 2017 at 10:01 am

Total Sales year-to-date figure as of August stands at 384,730 units.

Total Production year-to-date figure as of August stood at 342,958 units

Meaning 384,730 less 342,958 = 41,772 are 2016 models.
    Thank you for the info GL.

• talldisc on Sep 21, 2017 at 1:01 pm

you totally forgotten CBU cars and CBU asean cars.

• kzm (Member) on Sep 21, 2017 at 1:28 pm

And u think all car in boleh made in bolehland? Most truck are imported fyi

• tokmoh. on Sep 21, 2017 at 11:12 am

Maslan : saya tengok minyak makin mahal pun rakyat beli lagi banyak kereta, KFC full, starbucks full. Mana rakyat terjejas? bingung.gif

• BeFaire on Sep 21, 2017 at 3:01 pm

Sorry to break it to you but Singapore is ahead of us in terms of cost of car ownership.

The sales are still good despite high car prices. I can assure you we will not see the drop in car prices if Malaysians continue to buy new cars. Only if we stop buying new cars then will they feel the pressure and take actions.

But susah lah, buy old car no face. Malaysians are all about show off. No house tak apa, janji drive BMW kasih org tengok.

• Raja Bomoh Petrol on Sep 21, 2017 at 6:35 pm

Many ppl still buying new cars…..If no new cars, how to go dating, wei?

• Hi Gerard, Can you please share the maa source link for the aug car sales data. Thank You.