October 2017 week two fuel prices – up three sen

Here’s another week of new fuel prices, which will come into effect from midnight.

After a September that saw fuel prices go up three weeks in a row before moderating slightly, we entered October with RON 95 priced at RM2.16 per litre, RON 97 at RM2.46 per litre, Euro 2M diesel at RM2.12 per litre and Euro 5 diesel for RM2.22 per litre.

This week, RON 95 petrol is up three sen to RM2.19 per litre, while RON 97 is up three sen to RM2.49 per litre. Diesel is up by five sen to RM2.17 per litre. Euro 5 diesel, as always, is 10 sen costlier at RM2.27 per litre

This is the 28th weekly fuel pricing update since the system’s implementation on March 30. Compared to March 2017 prices, which was the last month before weekly pricing took effect, RON 95 is down by 11 sen (from RM2.30 per litre), RON 97 by 11 sen (from RM2.60 per litre) and Euro 2M diesel is down by three sen (from RM2.20 per litre).

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Somebody on Oct 04, 2017 at 6:13 pm

Our fuel prices are climbing slowly towards the price when the system was first implemented. Let’s see if it will go beyond that

• Kancil Hybrid on Oct 04, 2017 at 6:28 pm

Tetapi masih murah jika dibandingkan dengan Singapura.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 72
      • Tetapi Brunei jauh lebih murah jika dibandingkan dengan kami.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 80 Thumb down 2
        • Rightwinger on Oct 04, 2017 at 10:35 pm

Bro, a few facts for you to digest. Brunei has 400+ thousand population and produces 109K barrel/day.

If you say that our fuel prices should be lower becoz we produce more (660K barrel/day), bear in mind that we have 75 times more population.

Chew on this- Indonesia produces more than us (833K barrel/day), has way more population than us. The average fuel price for Indonesia between 26/06/2017 and 02/10/2017 was RM2.64, with a minimum of RM2.62 on 26/06/2017 (RM1.91 over here) and a maximum of RM2.66 (RM2.20 over here) on 11/09/2017. For comparison, the average price of gasoline in the world for this period is RM5.63 .

You guys are free to hate/ disagree, but facts don’t care about your feelings.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 26
          • Hahahahah…macai conveniently omitted Arab Saudi.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 9
          • Ever1canTalk on Oct 05, 2017 at 7:50 am

Don’t fact here and fact there, just let the fuel price calculation formula open and transparent, that all we request and committed by G but never capati..

• 4bini on Oct 05, 2017 at 9:54 am

talk rubbish average price of petrol is RM5.63

What about their salary? The guy angkat sampah in UK earn 1500 pounds…RM10k per month

• Tak suka boleh move to Sg and refill there pls

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
          • rightyourhead on Oct 05, 2017 at 2:53 pm

using RM is comparison standard? reminder: our currency drop 1/3 in 1year not long ago.

• 4bini on Oct 05, 2017 at 9:41 am

If oil now US$50 already, when it goes up to US$100, petrol will be RM4.40

Habis lah Msia. This is why currencu alredy tak ada nilai

• 4bini on Oct 04, 2017 at 8:40 pm

Another conjob by Malaysia. All oil producing countries sell their petrol super cheap to the rakyat. Saudi for example sells it for USD 25 cents. That is RM1.10

Brunei also sells super cheap to the rakyat.

Malaysia is the only country that sells petrol at super high prices.

And the best part, the oil in the ground belong to the rakyat.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 4
        • Rightwinger on Oct 04, 2017 at 10:38 pm

Bro, Saudi is producing 10.4 million barrel/day, all on shore. We produce 660k barrel/day, all off shore = higher transport cost.

Facts don’t care about your feelings.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 21
          • 4bini on Oct 05, 2017 at 9:55 am

Then why do we sell our high quality sweet grade to Arab? and we buy their cheap high sulphur oil?

• it wasn’t that cheap compared to singapore. not to mention our toll and public transport isn’t exactly cheap either.

• GET A BIKE on Oct 04, 2017 at 7:07 pm

Fuel prices are slated to hit RM3 by year end or at Q1 2018…its time to accept this reality and make amends to our life styles..getting a bike is a good counter agaist these adverse risk to our funds..tq

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
    • YB Albert on Oct 04, 2017 at 9:15 pm

70 percent of the announcements…..HIGHER price of petrol even when Brent/WTI world prices dip.Our menteri blame it on falling ringgit.
      This whole thing “seems “like OPEC CARTEL price fixation.
      No one give a damn now with all these wayang.Just go and pump every wednesday.No need wait for 5pm anouncement.
      Unless u got a dozen cars or 4 wheel drives,just accept that the price will seldom dip even when world prices dip.
      Now PDAM members celebrating in 7 star hotels,all night long.Now,they r opening more outlets.

• Go up, mesti bash
    Unchange, lagi bash
    Go down, kawkaw bash
    Gip free, bash count > 9000!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 60
    • 4bini on Oct 04, 2017 at 8:41 pm

This is the same guy who says Malaysia has the cheapest petrol in the world and cheapest car prices in the world.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 1
  • Syukur…Up 3cents only.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 18
  • Ben Yap on Oct 04, 2017 at 6:25 pm

Good job paultan on releasing the fuel price early this round.

• toyotafan on Oct 04, 2017 at 6:26 pm

The basis has changed slightly from a Tue to Tue to Sun to Sun basis. Presumably to address dealer issues.

• Johnson Potien original on Oct 04, 2017 at 8:24 pm

I going to sell my car and start cycling to work and leisure place.

• 4bini on Oct 04, 2017 at 8:54 pm

Bukan sahaja itu, duit Brunei is 3.3 to the Ringgit. Brunei dollar is at par with Singapore Dollar.

Not only Malaysians pay for overpriced oil, our Ringgit

• Ini helah kerajaan. Apa kaedah untuk pengiraan ? Mengapa ia tidak boleh dikongsi ? Setelah beberapa kali mendapat aduan dari pihak kroni yang juga pengusaha stesyen minyak. Sekarang, ada kemungkinan kaedah atau strategi ialah untuk mengelirukan rakyat. Apabila anda ingat harga akan turun kerana harga minyak dunia turun, sebaliknya harga naik dan sebaliknya.
    Cuba periksa suratkhabar, ada lagi pengusaha stesyen minyak membuat aduan tentang kerugian ? Kenapa senyap ?
    Fikirkanlah.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
  • NoRightNoWrong on Oct 05, 2017 at 9:35 am

Just take any of those e-hailing services. I bet entire Malaysia now has them. No need pump petrol, no hassle looking for parking, no need stuck in jam.
    Complaint also no use, we Rakyat have no say on the fuel prices even though we are an oil producing country. I already fed up with our gomen and everyone complaining. So if you think it ain’t worth it, don’t drive!

So many e-hailing promos out there guys, just use it.

• Mr Setongkol on Oct 06, 2017 at 4:02 pm

Syukur harga Petrol masih murah berbanding Jepun….
    Syukur Malaysia negara aman damai……everyone hepi everyday.