Volvo releases video on child safety in cars; teams up with Volvo Trucks, KidZania to spread awareness

Volvo Car Malaysia (VCM) has launched a new video showing the importance of keeping children safe in the car. The film puts specific focus on the correct usage of seat belts and child safety seats – things that parents in Malaysia unfortunately often overlook. It’s being released just in time for the coming festive season, which usually sees a spike in road accidents.

Globally, Volvo’s stated aim is to ensure nobody is killed or seriously injured in a new Volvo by 2020, aided by the advancement of automotive safety technologies. But for that vision to come true, all drivers and passengers must first be properly secured in their three-point seat belts for these innovations to work, and that’s an important habit that many Malaysians still have not picked up.

It’s even more important for children to be correctly strapped into the right seats, as their body proportions, bone density and vertebrae differ greatly from an adult’s. This puts them at great risk of serious life-threatening injuries in the event of an accident, and the video is aimed at educating parents on how to keep their children safe and prevent such unfortunate occurrences.

The company has already partnered with Volvo Malaysia, distributor of Volvo Trucks, to embark on a road safety education campaign designed for children. This includes the setting up of a “dealership” within the KidZania theme park in Mutiara Damansara, as well as conducting road safety roadshows at various schools.

“I believe that all parents would want to protect their children to the best of their ability but there exist a lot of misconceptions of what is considered safe,” said VCM managing director Lenart Stegland. “Our safety campaign aims to better educate the parents and inculcate good safety habits in children.”

An award-winning Children & Cars Safety Manual has also been provided for download on VCM’s official website for parents who would like to know more about in-car child safety. It covers a variety of issues such as child restraints, the differences between front-facing and rear-facing child seats and the safety of pregnant women and their unborn children.

“We hope that the manual will provide enough information for parents and answer questions that parents might have about in-car safety for children, such as what is the best place to place a child in a car, or whether a seat belt causes harm for a mother-to-be,” Stegland added.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• VOLVO GEELY >>> all

• Osaka boy on Nov 30, 2017 at 3:35 pm

My cx3 has more fun than the xc60

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 14
    • Lousy CX3 SUV on Dec 04, 2017 at 11:28 pm

Osaka boy

Please compare your Non Premium CX 3 with those of Japanese non premium SUV .

XC 60 is a premium SUV and it is a sheer waste of everybody time and senseless to compare XC60 to your peanut, small, cheap looking CX3.

Uand it is a waste of time comparing with your peanuts CX 3.

• Bernard on Nov 30, 2017 at 4:43 pm

I think we should not ask for the impossible to happen. Things will change but it will take another 100 years at least for us to reach the level of the Scandinavians.

Also, who reads the manual here?
    What is basic is rocket science in Bolehland!

• thank you volvo
    i love u volvo

• All skools shud make a visit to this section in Kidzania. Kids have been proven to better influence their parents than any form of hard enforcement. When these kids grows up and becomes parents themselves, they will know what to do.

• tokmoh. on Nov 30, 2017 at 6:57 pm

Volvo > all

Hopefully Volvo Trucks also educate about blind spot. People need to know those prime movers have bigger blind spot, and must be careful when manouvering nearby one.

Recently got viral kids in Norway IIANM, they simply crossed the road, nearly hit by a Volvo FM, but lucky it has AEB, the kids were saved by it. But here in Malaysia, most trucks (and vehicles) on the road don’t have such feature, so we must be educated to stay away from their blind spot.

• I disagree. Even thou it looks big, a truck (w/o its trailer) has better vision around blind spots than normal cars do. Theres even a special mirror to see blind spots in front of the truck.
      Compared to Volvo Cars, Trucks has long been at forefront of safety techs, being the 1st to come out with blindspot detection for oncoming & crossing pedestrians. And their AEB system can stop a 40tonne truck within seconds.

• Farid Apandi on Dec 02, 2017 at 12:47 am

Kidzania is a great place for children to learn and Volvo being a smart company takes that advantage very well!

• Maybe it should read “..nobody is seriously injured or killed in a new Volvo…”.

• Hilmy on Dec 04, 2017 at 3:25 pm

Seriously killed? How about killed and seriously injured for a change?

• Jonathan Lee (Member) on Dec 04, 2017 at 3:31 pm

Ah yes, error on my part, must have been hungry.

The article has been amended. Thanks for pointing it out!