Alfa Romeo plans new Giulietta and 4C replacements

It appears that Alfa Romeo has revealed plans to revitalise the Giulietta and 4C sports car. According to a report by Auto Express, both renewed models will help complete the brand’s new generation of products, which now includes the Giulia compact executive sedan and Stelvio SUV.

“In order to complete the Alfa range of products, we need another couple of pillars – something in the C-segment and then obviously a sporty product, a very sporty product,” Alfa Romeo’s chief technical officer Roberto Fedeli told the publication.

The Italian automaker hasn’t set a date to the Giulietta’s arrival, but word is it may use a shortened version of the chassis which underpins the Type 952 Giulia. Does that mean the next-generation Giulietta may be rear-wheel drive, as opposed to being front-driven? Maybe, maybe not, but that’s not Alfa’s biggest concern with the model. Making it profitable is, because the segment is made for “a very local market and not a global one,” which means “it’s very difficult to make a profit,” said Fedeli.

Similarly, Fedeli also recognised the importance of having a competitive sports car, which brings us to the 4C. Apparently, the company will first update the outgoing 4C (both coupé and spider) before deciding whether to completely remake the 4C with a new engine and chassis.

“Being in the market with that kind of car is not a choice, we have to do it. We have to have a pure sporty car. We make some small modifications but then we have to decide if we want to install [a] different engine, or switch the architecture. As you can imagine we have some options, we are working on more than one option,” Fedeli added.

Fedeli, formerly the chief engineer of Ferrari, said no matter what happens to the 4C in the future, there will be no option for a manual transmission. To recap, the 4C Coupé is powered by an all-aluminium 1.75 litre four-cylinder turbo that produces 237 hp and 350 Nm of torque. The engine is paired with a TCT seven-speed dry twin-clutch transmission, enabling a 0-100 km/h time of 4.1 seconds and a 258 km/h top speed.

Alfa Romeo is also planning on a new Audi Q7 rival (the most profitable segment today) as part of its latest product offensive, one that may feature the company’s new mild hybrid system. No update on a new Mito just yet, though.

Matthew H Tong

An ardent believer that fun cars need not be fast and fast cars may not always be fun. Matt advocates the purity and simplicity of manually swapping cogs while coping in silence of its impending doom. Matt's not hot. Never hot.

• ganni on Jan 02, 2018 at 9:19 pm

please bring back AR in Bolehland so ppl could have a choice to opted for them instead of german trio..and i’ve been waiting many years for giulia to come here but still no news..or else i will opted for the german rival..