KL Cycling Corridor bike lane separators a danger?

Many motorists in Kuala Lumpur are now aware of the blue Cycling Corridor lanes on city centre roads. These lanes form the Cycling Corridor and Network, with the working title Bike4U and are due to be officially launched on February 9.

Intended for use by delegates attending the ninth World Urban Forum in Kuala Lumpur from February 7 to 13 and thereafter by local cyclists, the cycling lanes connect the Kuala Lumpur Convention Centre to various hotels where the delegates are staying. The lanes are a voluntary collaboration between Urbanice, under the umbrella of the Ministry of Urban Wellbeing, Housing and Local Government and town planners AJM Planning and Urban Design Group (APUDG).

Also involved in the creation of the cycling lane system are Cycling Kuala Lumpur, Bicycle Map Project, bike share provider oBike and Kuala Lumpur City Hall (DBKL). Originally envisaged to cover 11 km of city streets, the first phase of this five-year plan – which kicked off in April 2017 – now has 5 km designated as cycling lanes.

The lanes are marked by blue road paint, demarcated by lane separators that measure some 50 mm tall, and designed as a passable barrier. It is intended to safely separate slower moving cyclists from the main traffic flow.

However, Facebook postings have emerged stating the separators are a danger, especially to motorcyclists, and the cyclists themselves, should either stray from their respective lanes. Speaking to Jeffrey Lim, project coordinator for Cycling Kuala Lumpur, Bicycle Map Project, he emphasised that the lane separator or divider is a physical barrier, an added feature to deter encroachment and ensure, to a certain degree, the safety of users in their respective designated lanes.

Asked about the concerns of riders falling should they run over the separator, Lim said, “Yes, there are concerns, of getting caught and falling, there are also concerns of encroachment and causing hurt or fatality to the non-motorised vehicles or pedestrians due to encroachment by motorised vehicles.” Lim said that this separator was chosen as being the most neutral, as seen from photos provided from the Cycling KL Facebook page.

Commenting on the blue paint used to demarcate the cycling lanes, where a Facebook user alleges he slipped on the wet surface while riding his motorcycle, Lim said to the best of his knowledge the paint has anti-slip properties, within certain conditions and limits.

“In practise it’s never used to cover lanes in its entirety, only used sparingly where extra caution and demarcation is needed. But in this instance, it has been used throughout. I believe as a higher impact, for visibility and introduction of a new segregated lane,” he said.

The aim of the Bike4U project – part of the DBKL cycling and pedestrian master plan – is to provide connections for urban workers and dwellers to transport hubs such as bus and train stations. The aim of the project is to reduce traffic congestion in the city centre, and reduce the use of cars for short point-to-point journeys within the city.

In addition, the project intends making conditions better and safer for both cyclists and pedestrians. “It’s a transition, and everyone is doing it in the best interest to make it work, with the limitations and circumstances that we are faced with,” said Lim.

Coming with diverse and extensive experience in heavy engineering, Mohan enjoys making anything with wheels go fast, especially motorcycles. His weapon of choice is the Desmoquattro engine, and he has a penchant for anything with a dash of Italian design. Strangely enough, he insists he's a slow rider.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Jan 22, 2018 at 12:04 am

so badly planned out…all it did was gave kl a worse jam

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 21
    • Albert Yong on Jan 22, 2018 at 9:33 am

no need to look so far. Even our Federal Highway also now so many months still bikes go on car lanes.

Just to repair bike lane take nearly a year…..tido oh tido

Better call Mainland people to run JKR

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 10
      • KL Has Fallen (2018) on Jan 22, 2018 at 3:38 pm

Federal Highway still bikes go on car lanes.

Part of population control plan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
      • closure of motorbike lane laaaa

• Fahmi Zainal on Jan 25, 2018 at 10:37 am

DOnt see any JKR contactor doing anything..just close korek2, then nothing..damn it

• Zamzuri on Jan 22, 2018 at 10:12 am

Take KL monorel, safe & punctual

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 12
    • Agreed, another syok sendiri project, beneficial to the minority only

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 9
      • JonLing on Jan 22, 2018 at 4:51 pm

Similar like Selangorku free bus which had greatly reduced traffic congestion in Selangor towns. Delegates could commute using GoKL city bus

• Are you serious? Its a waste of public fund as most of the time the buses were empty.

• Please charge all cyclist a road tax before allowing them using the special lane.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 22
      • sg klang on Jan 22, 2018 at 3:43 pm

Lead healthy lifestyle. More cycle & less selfie… $80m blue Cycling Corridor lanes well spent .

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
      • Aaronyap on Jan 22, 2018 at 4:11 pm

Wow ,u r a true idiot. Charge people for bike lane?? I will willing to charge you by walking on the sidewalk !! Pathetic!! This encourage people to use bicycle then cars. I support this action by the BM. Bcuz bicycle are dangerous on the road with cars. Bicycle need their own lane . People like you make me SICK!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 8
      • yeah..sick Mour..shame on you.

i support the initiative but not the way it is implemented

• No pity here to motorcyclist who hits the barrier. You want to move past a car, pass through his/her right.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 19
    • Albert Yong on Jan 22, 2018 at 9:39 am

Have we ever seen a single Cabinet member riding bike lane to show rakyat an example to healthy? All go in big limo plus 10 cars escort (mostly penjilat bola) to anywhere they go.

In UK, full Ministers take the Tube Underground to Parliament daily. No escort at all. No bodyguard also

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 2
      • deepak on Jan 22, 2018 at 12:02 pm

Cabinet big limo plus 10 cars escort wont help to reduce traffic congestion in the city centre, and reduce the use of cars for short point-to-point journeys within the city…

• Why yes. There r ministers like KJ and SSK who rides regularly to work.

• TreeHugger on Jan 22, 2018 at 1:52 am

All road surface paints no matter how good their anti-slip properties should not be used too much like painting the whole cycling lane with it. Please realize this is Malaysia where we normally get heavy downpours and not just light drizzles like some other countries. Today, even super-wide pedestrian crossings at crossroads are dangerous to motorcyclists during wet weathers as the surface became very slippery whereas you are trying to carefully take a corner at the crossroad. These cycling groups intention is noble but please think of other road users safety as well. Don’t be like MIROS/PLUS who are so smart and got too excited that they install speed breaker strips not only before a corner, but also IN the corner (where 2-wheeled vehicles need the most steady and highest contact between their tyres and the road surface). Oh negaraku Malaysia…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 5
    • Albert Yong on Jan 22, 2018 at 10:54 am

There will be massive injuries to cyclist. Too close. Even Standard 6 boy see the road also can tell you the same.

And DBKL is full of top engineers. I wonder what is in their brains? Basic also don’t know how to figure out

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 4
      • Gabriel on Jan 22, 2018 at 3:49 pm

DBKL is quite safe with Lane Keeping Assist System activated to keep away tipper trucks

• This a commendable job by DBKL, our country leaders can lead the cycling to World Urban Forum.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 19
  • Jafree on Jan 22, 2018 at 7:06 am

The road getting narrow and endenger the motorcyclists as they try to slip in between cars. Traffic congestion become worse especially during rush hours. This will be another white elephant project as KL weather is not suitable for riding bicycles except for fun ride.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 20
    • Amriji on Jan 22, 2018 at 9:43 am

Mahu seribu alasan, tak mahu seribu dalih…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 7
    • “as they try to slip in between cars”. Don’t you think that’s the problem there already? If you’re lane splitting, take the responsibility for mishaps. Not blame it on the other drivers every single time, the authorities, the weather, the cat that ran across the road, etc.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
  • IgnorantBusPeasant on Jan 22, 2018 at 7:14 am

There are some things we can mimic western countries. Biking is not one of them with our humid and hot climate. Cloudy means might rain means don’t bike. Sun is up means too hot to bike. Unless rider is a masochist.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 18
    • Cyclists don’t pay road tax because – like pedestrians – they cause no damage to the road surface.

People say KL not suited to cycling. I work an office job in Brickfields and cycle to and from work every day. So far I’ve cycled over 1000 km on oBike.

The only places not suited to cycling are hilly cities or one full of lazy people. KL is quite flat…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
      • Oyllie on Jan 22, 2018 at 3:23 pm

Steady brah. Everyday I’m cycling too from hilltop home Bkt Tunku to KLCC ofis..No sweats

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • panjang on Jan 22, 2018 at 7:43 am

i believe rider falling down and otentially get run over is a ‘higher impact’ that visibility.

• Ben Yap on Jan 22, 2018 at 9:51 am

i’m a cyclist and those cyclist that cannot control their bikes and ran over the separator causing them to fall or cyclists that lack experience and skills.

as a cyclist there are certain skills that one must master. else they are better off walking.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
  • pengayuhbasikal on Jan 22, 2018 at 10:04 am

apa punya decision…sudah letak warna…apa pasal mau letak separator marker…tebal pulak tu.. tarak fikir panjang punya orang…ini kerja tangkap muat…janji siap saja…. banyak tidur mungkin

• heybadigol (Member) on Jan 22, 2018 at 10:16 am

I always thought that any paint on tarmac is slippery when wet. That’s why even F1 drivers avoid the painted lines (and kerbs) on the edges when its raining. Honestly, i rarely drive into KL city centre. So have not noticed these blue lanes yet. But thanks for the heads up.

• Car drivers didnt even noticed huge toll plaza. what else tiny blue lane.

• musang on Jan 22, 2018 at 10:23 am

Who take money out in pocket…dbkl so much money..

• Justin on Jan 22, 2018 at 10:41 am

Are bicycles paying road tax? (thinking aloud)

I’ve already seen on Whatsapp group chats that several cubchai riders have crashed due to this barrier.

• Clement on Jan 22, 2018 at 4:23 pm

Road tax is not license to use the road. Even motorcycles below 150cc don’t pay tax so why should bicycles?
      It’s the motorcyclists fault for riding iver those barriers. Are they going to blame road dividers if they ran over those too?

• Justin on Jan 25, 2018 at 10:26 am

Motorcycles below 150 also pays road tax.
        I’ve a 125 cc cubchai and I just renewed it.

• Shafie on Jan 22, 2018 at 11:14 am

Motorcyclist surely fall if they come into contact with this separator, might cause serious injury or fatality. What are they thinking? Mcyclist should be more careful at night, early morning when riding at this area.

• 4G63T DSM on Jan 22, 2018 at 11:21 am

I don’t see a problem, given the only complaint, was from a MOTORCYCLIST inadvertently going into a bicycle lane.

Besides, if actual full height curbs don’t stop motorcyclist getting on pedestrian sidewalks, why are they complaining of a 50mm lane separator?

As for the paint, I agree that some areas had used too much paint. They can get slippery for bicycles and motorcyclist alike. Had a few surprises when the tail/front just let go going over pedestrian crossings.

with too much paint on the road, a motorcyclist can’t make the turn at no where near the same speed as a normal car does in the wet, risking someone rear ending you.

• kuriang on Jan 22, 2018 at 11:45 am

JKJR / MIROS please get involve and do your study. For me this is hazard.

• The barriers are not the only implementation issue. The white demarcation of lanes on roads where these lanes are installed were redrawn and painted over black. The old lines painted black are more reflective. Just try to drive along Jalan Raja Laut on a wet day – it’s impossible to tell the old lanes from the new lanes.

The next question is, are the new narrower lanes according to specifications? These are destined to be white elephants that will be relegated as motorcycle lanes in the not too distant future.

• Power on Jan 22, 2018 at 1:48 pm

Need also comment motorbike parking between Bagunan Mara and pertama complex very small. Not easy motorbike park. Just imagine superbike want to park this area . No brain DBKL.

• superdriver on Jan 22, 2018 at 2:09 pm

One fine day a cyclist will slip and fall on to the road. The car going to climb over him and snap his body like a crushed watermelon. After that they will introduce kempen basikal selamat. Spend millions on stupid programmes. Else will call for a ban of cyclist in Kuala Lumpur traffic roads. What ever it is going to happen, money is spent already. Its gone down the drain… quite literally.

• Clement on Jan 22, 2018 at 4:27 pm

Motorcyclists fall on the road all the time and some even got crushed by passing vehicles. I don’t see anyone banning motorcycles…

• superdriver on Jan 22, 2018 at 6:30 pm

Dude motorcycles are a staple part of life for many people in Malaysia to go to work and return home especially for the low income earners. Its used to travel or traverse long distances by motorist with distances like from Genting Sempah to KL on a daily basis. But no matter how sturdy and dependable the motorcycle may be , it is prone to mishaps and dangers as well especially on Malaysian roads. Lorries and cars crush their fallen riders and pillions so frequently, its just unbearable to speak of. A cyclist fully depends on the cycles ability and vice versa. The power comes from the riders legs and stamina. No matter how good the rider is , he will never be able to out do or sustain any impact should he or she meets an accident with a car, lorry or even a motorbike. Exposed to the elements and other iron beasts on Kuala Lumpur roads in the thick of a major traffic jam especially on a bicycle is pure madness. You at risk and can die from the actions of other motorists , let alone you own actions.

Bikes are really cool. I really like them but not if my loved ones are riding it next Malaysian lorries and drivers. Its just not worth it.

• Parsified on Jan 22, 2018 at 2:55 pm

How can we entrust the job to design the new cyclist road divider to the lousy buggers who cannot even design and standardize the speed bump for cars across the country?

A matter of course that the final product shall look exactly like their Tank Stopper counterpart that is wrecking havoc on the undercarriage of so many pitiful citizens now. Except this time, it will be life they are toying with now.

• Middle Age Driver (Member) on Jan 22, 2018 at 6:45 pm

A cyclist & pedestrian is suppose to walk or cycle on the road against traffic so that the pedestrian/cyclist can see & avoid on coming vehicles especially fast moving motorbikes that travel on the side of the road. Hopefully they get this right or else more accidents are going to happen.

• farizul latif zulkifli on Jan 22, 2018 at 9:54 pm

Well, it’s time Malaysians learn to stick to their own lane. This is good.

• Abdullah Idris on Jan 23, 2018 at 10:05 am

I am a cyclist on weekend. Sorry to say most motorists were not beware on the road. Its a bad habit at all.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Jan 24, 2018 at 9:21 pm

yes you weekend cyclists dont even know how to control the bike properly…veer here veer there

• Mr Kawtim on Jan 23, 2018 at 7:25 pm

Some motorbiker are like sakai. Pure sakai….

• How much has this project cost?