Alibaba brings ‘City Brain’ traffic control system to KL

Here’s something interesting for KL motorists. Jack Ma’s Alibaba Group will set up a traffic control system harnessing artificial intelligence (AI) for Kuala Lumpur, its first “City Brain” service outside China, Reuters reports.

The cloud computing arm of Alibaba Group, Alibaba Cloud, said yesterday it plans to make live traffic predictions and recommendations to increase traffic efficiency in KL by crunching data gathered from video footage, traffic bureaus, public transportation systems and mapping apps.

Alibaba Cloud is will be partnering with Malaysia Digital Economy Corporation (MDEC) and DBKL to roll out the Malaysia City Brain technology, which would be localised and integrated with 500 inner city cameras by May this year.

This development comes after Alibaba founder Jack Ma and prime minister Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak launched an “e-hub” facility last year, part of an initiative aimed at removing trade barriers for smaller firms and emerging nations. Alibaba Cloud, which set up a data centre in Malaysia last year, is considering a second facility to further develop a local ecosystem, its president Simon Hu said.

Hu declined to elaborate on the company’s total investments made and planned for in Malaysia, but said it was “no small amount” and that the investments would continue if there was demand for cloud computing tech.

“The initiative is driven by MDEC and Alibaba Cloud to avoid or significantly reduce congestion and to increase road safety and emergency services efficiency. A proof of concept project has already been conducted locally in August 2017 in collaboration with a number of data providers from the private sector and MDEC providing project management and data analytics together with Alibaba Cloud providing platform and subject matter expertise,” said Federal Territories minister Datuk Seri Tengku Adnan Tengku Mansor.

“As Malaysia City Brain develops, AI technology will help to benefit the rakyat. These will include better traffic flow, faster response times from emergency services and handling of road traffic incidents and safety,” he added.

According to statistics from Alibaba Cloud, the traffic management system in the Chinese city of Hangzhou had resulted in reports of traffic violations with up to 92% accuracy, emergency vehicles reaching their destinations in half the time and overall increase in traffic speed by 15%. The City Brain system was launched there in September 2016.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Dug Ong on Jan 30, 2018 at 10:29 am

Lucky we have China to help us with everything. From Bailouts to traffic jams.

Thank you China for always helping Malaysia. We need you and we need your brains. Please send more people from Mainland to Malaysia as we need you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 21
  • Dug Ong on Jan 30, 2018 at 10:30 am

Hopefully China sends millions of Mainland people into Malaysia. Efficiency will go up substantially!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 22
  • Ah Kow on Jan 30, 2018 at 10:34 am

Hope DBKL will update Jack Ma those bright blue cyclo lanes.

• komarad on Jan 30, 2018 at 10:34 am

Jack Ma is a good man…

• Jalalludin on Jan 30, 2018 at 3:36 pm

He cud sponsor more cameras…

https://paultan.org/2014/06/13/itis-cctv/

• tiadaid (Member) on Jan 30, 2018 at 10:58 am

Well I do hope this tech will help alleviate the incredibly lousy traffic around Klang Valley. Seriously, when you have Malaysians who don’t know how to drive properly & the abundance of cars on the roads, you get our traffic system.

• And yet some pipu still demand for cheaper cars. Lolz!

• MenteriPasola101 on Jan 30, 2018 at 1:44 pm

Expensive car like vellfire and S class good for traffic ??

• Yeast Lump on Jan 30, 2018 at 5:49 pm

How about those cement mixer trucks and gravel/sand loader trucks? Aren’t there more expensive than vellfire and S class?

• Malaysia is indirectly ruled by China on Jan 30, 2018 at 10:59 am

In the good side, China is helping to develop Malaysia. In the other side, they are ‘monitoring’ our country. In future, our country will be more susceptible to their ‘incoming’.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 1
    • Looking at the language being used, I can say we ourselves alredi put 1 leg thru…

• Not Toyota Fan on Jan 30, 2018 at 2:36 pm

Monitoring = Surveillance. Increase surveillance including facial recognition will turn KL to be like Beijing, one of the cities with largest surveillance cameras in the world.

Orwell’s 1984 comes to mind.

• What happened to our very own Integrated Transport Information System (ITIS) which costs taxpayers millions of ringgit?

• Will be integrated into City Brain. ITIS will feed info to the AI and then disseminate the processed results to road users. Brilliant ekceli.

• MenteriPasola101 on Jan 30, 2018 at 1:49 pm

And it’s still jam!!

Should ban ALL PRIVATE registered vehicle entering KL from 6am to 10pm

Only pedal powered wheels allowed !!

• Fully agree. Those non-wilayah address can use public transports.

• Muzammil on Jan 30, 2018 at 12:01 pm

Papan salam… “Selamat Hari Wilayah Persekutuan 1Februari 2018”

• Mohammad Hafiz Abdul Rahim on Jan 30, 2018 at 11:13 am

they have invested a lot of money so what do they get in return?

• tokmoh. on Jan 30, 2018 at 11:34 am

Real world Sibyl System.

• Bernard on Jan 30, 2018 at 2:59 pm

Jack Ma is not aware that nothing in the world can help msian drivers….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
    • Perhaps like Geely, he saw something that we din. Maybe thats they they advanced and we dun.