Audi to drop W12 engine from its line-up after D5 A8

The Audi A8 has been offered with a W12 engine since 2001, but that may all change going forward. According to a report by Car and Driver, the current-generation A8 (D5) will be the last model to use a 12-cylinder engine.

“We will not have the 12-cylinder forever. There are customers who really want the 12-cylinder and they are happy with it and are going to get it. But this is going to be the last installation,” said Peter Mertens, member of the board of management of Audi AG, technical development.

Details about a W12-powered A8 aren’t out yet, but the engine will reportedly be a detuned version (585 hp) of the one used in the Bentley Continental GT, which offers 626 hp and 900 Nm of torque. That is still more than what the 3.0 litre V6 in the A8 55 TFSI makes – 335 hp (340 PS) and 500 Nm.

The decision to drop the big W12 is largely due to the more stringent requirements of the Worldwide Harmonized Light Vehicle Test Procedure (WLTP) emissions programme in Europe. Mertens added other engines within the Volkswagen Group will likely be dropped in order to make electric powertrains. “Think of every engine and transmission combination that has to be homologated. That’s a hell of a job we are doing,” he said.

The 5.2 litre V10 used in the R8 may be the axed well before the demise of the W12 from Audi’s engine line-up. Reports indicate a twin-turbocharged V6 model will be introduced, one that is less expensive than the V10, which is shared with the Lamborghini Huracan.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Meaning no more W engines for Bentley and Bugatti? NOOOOO!!

• tokmoh. on Mar 19, 2018 at 10:39 am

Dr Peter Mertens was in Volvo from 2010 to 2017. He was instrumental for developing Volvo’s Drive-E 4-cylinder only powertrain.

There were some mourning for Volvo’s sweet 5-cylinder engine’s death, but many also understand Volvo was in a really difficult condition after years of being under Ford.

Looks like he’s doing it to Audi now, adieu W12 engine. To please politicians, sacrifices had to be made :'(

• Chow Chow on Mar 19, 2018 at 10:56 am

Damn I miss the sound of Volvo’s 5 cylinder engines. Especially the S60R/V70R’s B5254T2-R engine. A Borla exhaust coupled with that engine is just eargasmic. Wish they sold it in Malaysia back then.

• tokmoh. on Mar 20, 2018 at 12:58 am

Ah, i see you’re a man of culture as well.

Just earlier today i spotted a V70R in Subang. Magnificent beauty, with R calipers, R seats, R instrument panel, the owner has excellent taste.

Finishing it off with a cheeky Prancing Moose badge, oh delightful!

• Chow Chow on Mar 21, 2018 at 11:32 am

Tell me!!!!! Where did you spot that “monster” of a Volvo in subang. I will hunt it down, and stare at it forever. (if it is still there xD). That V70R is the ultimate sleeper, it’s one of my dream car’s to own. It’s a breakaway from the world of cars with brake callipers more colourful than the rainbow, wings that are more outrageously designed than a Eurofighter Typhoon and Plastic bodykits that give you instant ricer status. That Volvo is simple on the outside yet sophisticated underneath, it’s docile yet it can rip off the face of a robber when you ask it to. It’s the ultimate car for a dad who has a family but has a passion for cars. I say Volvo should resurrect the V70R.

And that is enough internet ranting for the day xD

• Just make more good cars for us

• Regret buy bentley on Mar 19, 2018 at 11:55 am

In Malaysia no need big cc car or extra pistons because sure paid unreasonable roadtax , insurance and very poor rv value

• All those dun affect the rich. They got money to throw, so let them be.

• Add twin turbocharged in the W12. Full stop.

• stastasta on Mar 20, 2018 at 12:54 pm

you just come out from cave? w12 has already been twin turbo since donkey years ago.