Toyota C-HR – first 50 M’sian customers get their keys

The first 50 customers of the Toyota C-HR have received the keys to their brand-new cars during a handover event organised by UMW Toyota Motor (UMWT) before the start of the final round of the Toyota Gazoo Racing Festival. The crossover model is offered in a sole 1.8 litre variant that comes fully imported (CBU) from Thailand, priced at RM145,500 before insurance.

Malaysians first got up close with the C-HR back in July 2017, where it later went on tour at various showrooms across the country as well as Toyota Gazoo Racing Festival events. It was later previewed for a second time in November, where final specifications were nailed down.

“Since being previewed last year, interest in the all-new Toyota C-HR has been high. To date, we have received around 1,500 bookings for the model and because this is a unique model, we wanted to personally hand over the vehicle to our first 50 customers,” said Ravindran Kurusamy, president of UMWT.

Under the hood, the C-HR is powered by a 2ZR-FE 1.8 litre naturally-aspirated engine with Dual VVT-i, which is rated at 140 PS and 171 Nm. Drive is directed to the front wheels via a CVT with seven virtual speeds and a manual mode.

In terms of equipment, the C-HR comes with halogen projector headlights with LED daytime running lights, front and rear fog lamps, 17-inch five-spoke alloys shod with 215/60 profile tyres, keyless entry and start, dual-zone climate control, black leather seats, a 4.2-inch multi-info instrument cluster display and a seven-inch DVD-AVX unit (upgradable to a DVD-AVN navigation system).

Safety-wise, there are seven airbags (including one for the driver’s knee), ABS with EBD and brake assist, Vehicle Stability Control (VSC), Traction Control (TRC) and Isofix rear child seat anchors, plus Blind Spot Monitor and Rear Cross Traffic Alert (RCTA).

There are five exterior colour options to choose from, including two-tone options that feature a black roof – Blue Metallic and Red Mica. These two, along with White Pearl CS, will cost an additional RM848 on top of the retail price. The other two colours – Metal Stream Metallic and Attitude Black Mica are excluded from this requirement. For detailed specifications of the Toyota C-HR, head on over to CarBase.my.

GALLERY: Toyota C-HR previewed in Malaysia

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• TooPentive on Mar 22, 2018 at 8:10 pm

Congratulation 50s dudes for buying overprice chr. Tell us any review afterward.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 249 Thumb down 19
    • Ganapathy on Mar 22, 2018 at 8:55 pm

HRV is RM50k less. OMG OMG.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 89 Thumb down 14
      • Gomez on Mar 23, 2018 at 12:54 am

Rm150k can buy GLA.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 17
        • Same L00 on Mar 26, 2018 at 12:09 pm

Same like CX3, Mini, MX5, Golf, you say expensive but people still buy.
          It is always the issue “you can afford or not”. Toyota is way cheaper than Proton. You definitely don’t need to spend the money equivalent to whole new car to repair a Toyota like you do for Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
      • Guesguez on Mar 23, 2018 at 9:22 am

In thai, base entry model (1.8 na) is rm120k and top 1.8 na spec is rm128k. Top spec 1.8 hybrid is rm145k. So mesia bring in base entry 1.8 na model tat is rm120k in thai, n sell it wif top hybrid model price for rm145k here. Hmm…

• Helmy Hadry on Mar 23, 2018 at 10:00 am

UMW is doing so well. This month, Toyota had biggest jump in sales in Malaysia.

Also, Perouda Myvi already sold 60,000 units in 3 months.

Way to go Perodua and UMW. Everybody in Malaysia want 2018 Myvi

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 13
    • Hanum on Mar 22, 2018 at 8:57 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 80 Thumb down 200
      • Nothing wrong with RM while u can get cheaper HRV or XV. Do RM up n down coz by this CHR?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 103 Thumb down 77
      • HRV is only RM110k, u sure its nothing wrong on ur end kah?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 105 Thumb down 80
        • Taufik Farid on Mar 23, 2018 at 10:01 am

Ringgit tak ada nilai lagi. Ruppiah sekarang lagi tinggi

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 18
          • Sendri papa kedana pulak complain nape org lain ada duit. Kesian kesian.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
    • sohhai on Mar 22, 2018 at 9:05 pm

1,500 CHR bookings X $145K

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 18
    • AutoFrenz (the original) on Mar 22, 2018 at 9:24 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 184
      • khairul on Mar 22, 2018 at 11:01 pm

Mazda CX-3 CBU JAPAN people said overprice.. but Toyota CH-R cbu THAILAND people said reasonable… strange

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 120 Thumb down 1
    • Rimau on Mar 22, 2018 at 10:30 pm

Buy 3008 also have balance cash in pocket.CHR good RV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 20
  • YB Albert on Mar 22, 2018 at 8:12 pm

Gerard,can u kindly update when is the new vios n Camry arriving in Bolehland?There r many hardcore fans waiting.By the time they arrive Honda would have launched their latest models.So forever,Umw is playing catch up.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 32
    • Abu Hassan on Mar 22, 2018 at 9:04 pm

The 50 rich buyers are mostly from Putrajaya.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 26
      • Yeah after this you claim you see all pipu there using luxury cars

Haha!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 31
        • Pipu there oredi upgrade to yacht & submarine @ tasik putrajaya

Hahah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 7
          • So whats this bollocks about MY pipu being poor?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
  • Some people have more money than common sense. Well, it’s their money so no one has the right to tell them how to spend. But, these ‘C-HR diehard fans’ can’t stop other people from derisively question their choice as well.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 70 Thumb down 11
    • Panjang on Mar 22, 2018 at 9:34 pm

Malaysians median mthly income is RM5,228… so CHR RM1.5k/mth mmg kacang puteh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 69
      • Ya..but use recycle engine oil during service. Yup.. my style.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 30
      • Fanny Chiew on Mar 23, 2018 at 11:26 am

fake news. EPF own data shows 76.3% of all its contributors only earn RM1500 and below

• Semi-Value (Member) on Mar 22, 2018 at 8:30 pm

i thought u got to be something wrong to buy this car…ok…i still think u something wrong…but then a bmw x2 costs 320k…and got people buy also…,maybe u need to be something wrong only can be so rich

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 81 Thumb down 6
    • Kelisaku on Mar 22, 2018 at 9:54 pm

Mampu tinguk jer. P2 Kembara wei huk3

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
    • xoxox on Mar 23, 2018 at 8:49 am

Camry 2.0G X From RM155,400.00
      Camry 2.0- Sedan Auto From $145,988*

C-HR Luxury (Mono-tone) M1 1.2T From $139,988*
      C-HR 1.8 RM145,500

hmm….?

• Henry on Mar 23, 2018 at 9:25 am

No, people who are “something wrong” will be in Hospital Bahagia. They wouldn’t know how to spend any money on any car, BMW or Toyota C-HR.

• RM140k for halogen headlamps!!???
    Honda CRV RM140k get Full LED headlamps already lor…. what is wrong with Toyota???

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 159 Thumb down 10
    • Yeah i read it twice. Its halogen headlamps. What kind of loser this car is. Better buy from ap direct import from japang

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 3
    • Pls lah Toyota on Mar 23, 2018 at 7:26 am

Also that cheap rims looks….Yucks!!!! Pls lah Toyota

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
  • pariah on Mar 22, 2018 at 9:19 pm

of only Nissan is bold enough to bring in the bike…

• safety 1st on Mar 22, 2018 at 9:50 pm

Safety-wise, there are 7 airbags, ABS with EBD and brake assist, VSC, TRC and Isofix plus Blind Spot Monitor and RCTA. Safety acronyms of a few car segments above. Stay safe and funky

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 81
    • Pls lah Toyota on Mar 23, 2018 at 7:27 am

These safety spec should be min requirements or standard…. Pls lah..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 1
    • Gintoki on Mar 24, 2018 at 10:52 am

Nothing to be proud of. Safety isn’t the first top priority?

• Salgoodguy on Mar 22, 2018 at 10:41 pm

I drove 1.8 dual vvti + cvt 7 speed (virtual) , than change to hrv 1.8 sohc + cvt ( honda version) instantly feel likes downgrading my ride to 1.5..

But 145k for this is to much..

• Bernard on Mar 22, 2018 at 10:47 pm

Well at least it happened finally….

One would thing it happens only if one buys a rare car but no ….

• macampondan on Mar 23, 2018 at 6:53 am

hahaha… CHR starts production back in Nov 2016 and only now MY started to get the car. It’s almost half way to facelift….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
  • carazy on Mar 23, 2018 at 9:00 am

I don’t know what to say to them, “Pitty” is the right word maybe??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 3
  • I don’t know why are they cheering and smiling after buying overpriced product…

• azhar on Mar 23, 2018 at 9:32 am

i bet most buyers are single…CHR is suitable with those kind of buyer..single & dont need much space

• thepolygonal on Mar 23, 2018 at 9:37 am

In Thailand, this is the price for the Hybrid version :D

• 12yrsold on Mar 23, 2018 at 9:52 am

When there is NO CHR, basher said Toyota better close shop. When they finally introduce the CHR here, many still bash bcos they are too slow & expensive compare to HRV & basher are correct.

The reason they are more expensive compare to HRV is bcos they are imported hence the price is higher. Now that they have tested the water with 50 units, UMW know there is a demand for CHR even when they sell at RM145,500.

Question is when will UMW/Toyo CKD this CHR since it was a success given its high price also sold out ??! Am sure it will be cheaper if they build it locally. Common UMW, Bila Nak Buat(CKD) di Malaysia ??

• CHR future owner on Mar 23, 2018 at 10:03 am

Those people who keep comparing this car to HRV and CX whatever are nothing but a bunch of sour grapes. Just keep quiet and be happy with ur Honda and Mazda . People who bought this car are not dumb. They buy what they like and above all they can afford it. If bringing down and judging people make u feel great just coz u can’t afford it, u’re an abosolute jealous jerk.

• Lua Beng Ex on Mar 23, 2018 at 10:17 am

Again Toyota Malaysia taking advantage on loyal customers by offering lowest standard car for Malaysia market as usual and expected

• Phaser on Mar 23, 2018 at 10:30 am

You can question their purchase decision but I’m willing to bet there are 50 people who woke up super happy today because there’s a Toyota C-HR parked in their driveway.

• simon on Mar 23, 2018 at 10:52 am

147K? I rather get a pre-owned Volvo V40 T5 at 140K

• akbar suki on Mar 23, 2018 at 11:01 am

Thats the price you have to pay for the value that you want. TOYOTA engine no doubt! learn TNGA, then you will know.

• Sadiq Sigaraga on Mar 23, 2018 at 11:06 am

actually the car get u advanced safety (like blind spot monitor, 7 airbags, tire pressure checker) n features (like dual zone aircon, sport driving mode, colour display speedometer)….so i would say 145K pretty good deal! Kudos Toyota! I am gonna book one :-)

• Bernard on Mar 24, 2018 at 3:25 pm

But if anything goes wrong, no one knows how to repair. How then?

• hyundai ioniq is a way better deal.

chr cheaply made/design speedo nice meh?

• Assagaf on Mar 23, 2018 at 11:07 am

Its honestly a nice car to have. These people probably have plenty of cash at home and dont mind splashin a bit for the c-hr, after all it does make a statement with the designs etc. same way people go for iphones and LV bags which arent practical anyway

• Harry Elle on Mar 23, 2018 at 11:08 am

The car is a stunner you must say. It does turn heads and say something when you bring it out. Believe me there are people who would pay a premium for these

• Bernard on Mar 24, 2018 at 3:26 pm

See it on the road for a while, not stunner anymore. It’s just temporary…

• Aqua Zaman on Mar 23, 2018 at 11:09 am

Cantik betul kereta ni. Design superb terbaekk.

• Sadiq Sigaraga on Mar 23, 2018 at 11:11 am

Actually if u compare vs HRV, the car is significantly better, like safety (BSM, 7 airbag, tire pressure checker) & advanced features (dual zone aircon, sport drivng mode, colour speedometer, full leather seat, anti glare mirror)….so i would say 145K is good deal over HRV (50K difference) :-) Gonna book one soon!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 22
  • Kraken on Mar 23, 2018 at 11:11 am

Well, its like an expensive pretty girl. You dont care if she can cook or can give you a great masaage. Shes just hot. Really hot!!!

• Priya on Mar 23, 2018 at 11:12 am

Was just wondering, most of the comments here seems to be envious in nature. Call them silly but end of the day these people are happy with their purchase. You dont judge someone by who they decide to marry. As long as their happy why need to be bitter

• Kandarawoli Priya on Mar 24, 2018 at 8:49 am

Priya, everyone has rights to give their opinion like you did. So dont judge other like others do. The fact, its not worth the price of this car. And dont involve marriage in car buying page!

• CleverMan on Mar 23, 2018 at 11:13 am

Actually if u compare vs HRV, the car is significantly better, like safety (BSM, 7 airbag, tire pressure checker) & advanced features (dual zone aircon, sport drivng mode, colour speedometer, full leather seat, anti glare mirror)….so i would say 145K is good deal over HRV (50K difference) :-) Gonna book one soon!

• John is otak batu on Mar 23, 2018 at 1:23 pm

Brader, wait 1.5t version . U will definitely outclass this CHR

• ex-IGP mom on Mar 26, 2018 at 11:30 am

Why changed name and repost … your post is similar to the above post by a dude called Sadiq Sigaraga lol.

• Luke the Man on Mar 23, 2018 at 11:14 am

Now thats what i call a sexy car!

• Karen Tan on Mar 23, 2018 at 11:15 am

You dont see concept cars turn reality that often. This car is beautiful!!!!!!!

• Ahmadjr on Mar 23, 2018 at 11:22 am

Yang bawak mazda n subaru senyum je tengok 50 orang ni

• Pondanmacamawak on Mar 23, 2018 at 11:24 am

Cun la this car wanna book soon. I wanna the black roof one. Need to pay extra ka?

• Wow. a bit expensive 145K but i think way way better HRV in terms design, safety & advance features! Kudos UMWT. Book soon!

• honda fan on Mar 23, 2018 at 11:45 am

baik beli honda civic TCP teborr

• Those 50 is never look at actual already placed the booking, now very regret.

• Tan KS on Mar 23, 2018 at 11:52 am

Was there at the event yesterday. My uncle was one of the buyers there and for all that matters, he loved the car. And hes a rich dude. A really rich dude. He owns beemers and yet still wanted the c-hr. There is an appeal to the car im sure. All the other buyers seem to share the same persona

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
    • Hahaha on Mar 23, 2018 at 7:09 pm

You are right! This car only for rich ppl. Not suitable for moderate ppl. Whoever would like to waste money would buy this.

• Muahaha on Mar 23, 2018 at 12:00 pm

1500 noobs spotted!

• CarzyMobilo on Mar 23, 2018 at 1:49 pm

Hahah…. Just wait la… Later unsold units will have upgrades such as LED light la, all round camera la, so called bodykits la and will be added with a huge discount…

• Benzs on Mar 23, 2018 at 1:54 pm

50 buyers will be facing depreciation fast. CH-R is way too expensive compare to other small SUV. Honda HR-V cheaper RM50k and same CC. MMC Eclipse (Previously ASX) Cheaper by at least RM35-40k, power by 1.5 Turbo. Perodua Nautica/Kembara (3rd Gen SUV perodua) Cheaper by RM90k. As far I can see, CH-R price equal to Honda CR-V, MMC Outlander and Nissan X-trail (Lowest Spec). Does it really worth buying CH-R? Unsure…

• Shellky on Mar 23, 2018 at 3:05 pm

What a sexy design..

• Karpal on Mar 23, 2018 at 3:09 pm

The kind of car u always dreamt of owning..bila la boleh dapat..

• Joanne on Mar 23, 2018 at 3:11 pm

How soon can i get it once i order? Cant wait!!!

• Joannekl on Mar 23, 2018 at 3:11 pm

How soon can i get it delivered after order? Cant wait!!

• apamau on Mar 23, 2018 at 4:07 pm

Good, the earlier they get the key the better, at least 2 years from now, can buy a used one already..hopefully the price drop fast fast.

• Lua Beng Ex on Mar 23, 2018 at 4:16 pm

Again very disappointed,but Toyota fans don’t mind

• 145k i rather spend a bit more to get a CX5

• This car is meant for the Polis k its for punshing criminals before going to prison..parents could oso use it to disiple yr kids…ie the back seats k

• vVivi Zurianti on Mar 23, 2018 at 7:37 pm

See?? Malaysia economy very very strong. Gaji nak every year. Implement GST 10% oso can. We are surely becoming developed country in recod time. Ppl are very happy buying low spec car while willing to pay higher price.

Semua ok. Semua gaya.

• Ahmadn on Mar 23, 2018 at 9:48 pm

Super sleek! With looks like that confirm awek ushaaa..

• Norhas on Mar 23, 2018 at 9:49 pm

You have to admit it is a dashing lineup of cars those c-hr parked like that

• Congratulate to these 50 die hard fans!!! You are willing to pay more just to support Toyota.

• Myvi owner on Mar 25, 2018 at 7:53 am

honda civic TCP teborr , hahahaha under power car simply can tapau by myvi 1.5 without turbo

• Kye reyes on Jun 12, 2018 at 7:22 am

What do you think with these side steps installed in C-HR?