PM ends weekly fuel pricing, says it’s not good for all

Prime minister Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad has said that the weekly fuel price system, in place since March 2017, will be discontinued, adding that weekly price changes were not good for both petrol station operators and the public. He was answering questions from the media at the just-concluded Pakatan Harapan presidential council meeting.

In a press conference yesterday evening, Mahathir said that fuel prices will be maintained, without elaborating if the weekly price mechanism will be scrapped. “No increase or decrease, if the global oil prices go up, the government will subsidise,” he said. Yesterday was the first Wednesday since Pakatan Harapan won in the general elections.

What this effectively means is that current fuel prices, set by the previous administration, will be maintained until further notice. Pump prices have been unchanged for seven straight weeks now.

RON 95 petrol is currently priced at RM2.20 per litre and RON 97 at RM2.47 per litre. Euro 2M diesel is RM2.18 per litre while Euro 5 diesel goes for RM2.28 per litre. The last time there was a change in fuel prices was during the fourth week of March, which saw a 10 sen increase across all fuel types and grades.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Leafable on May 17, 2018 at 4:28 pm

Oh dear we going back to 3rd world country mentality again.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 46
    • DPCraft on May 17, 2018 at 6:40 pm

Previous govt said they don’t have control over the price… Heh3

• Deswai Malaysians yg rugi coz not choosing kerajaan yg prihatin. Lets UBAH

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 21
      • Sudah UBAH, BN belah.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 5
      • New Government New Hope for 30% on May 18, 2018 at 9:53 am

Rakyat has rejected BN. BN lost badly despite cheating maximum.

Now Pakatan Government need to rebuild the country that was raped of its money.

Enough of cybertroopers coming here and spreading malicious lies

• Abu Garcia on May 17, 2018 at 9:26 pm

Crude price have been up for the past 4 weeks. Wtf r u yapping abt? Complaining like this is 3rd world mentality, just like u!

• YB Albert on May 17, 2018 at 4:35 pm

So,PDAM members can smile now.Captain Malaysia has come to your rescue.No more playing golf,urut oleh cun cun amoi,buy few big cc cars,…work hard.. Remember,Tun prefer u to work hard,instead of bailouts n handout s.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 6
  • PDAM r rejoicing! Bapak Kroni has saved you all!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 14
    • Jimmy on May 17, 2018 at 6:14 pm

When I am 88 years old, I have nothing to lose, and I will do my best to save my country.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
    • passion on May 17, 2018 at 6:45 pm

Syukurr Kerajaan baru amat prihatin…

• Phudda singh on May 17, 2018 at 10:07 pm

So yrs ex najis what he did to country our cmg generations would suffer as well bez of billions of USD corruption. At least my county is in safe hand and matured and well educated r ministers so Enuf already. Rests leave to them and I’m believe sure they have excellent benefits for rakyat just wait n c

• Petoron Sagu on May 17, 2018 at 6:23 pm

Tun : i do nothing wrong…. If anything wrong, its my cabinet decisions. I have nothing to say on the decision. Mmm…. As always….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 5
    • Se Won on May 17, 2018 at 9:35 pm

If u can find this one book called Economics for Dummies, please read up before u’re brain dead. Seriously, shitty comment.

• MeToo on May 17, 2018 at 7:08 pm

Plz save MAI too

• Petron RON 100 and VPower Racing prices?

• True Defender on May 18, 2018 at 2:29 am

There you goes againnnnnnn…seee people????cant you alll open your eyes and mind????there you go.. the same thing happen again but in different ways to manipulate peoples mind…come on…….open your eyes for god Sake!!!!

• If subsidies introduced back, habislah rich pipu that drives ferrari fuel up their gas tank min RM100 will get more benefits than pipu drives axia fuel up their gas tank min RM10.

• harapan on May 18, 2018 at 9:37 am

Typical…
    First let the price be fixed, so they can warrant an adjustment needed…
    Our current roti canai and teh tarik benchmark isn’t going to shift down in any time….

If you get a deep wound, it will take time to heal and apply the medicines to work…
    This is not going to be instant changes….citizens need to know.

FYI: Fuel prices seem to be going up now…

• Amran on May 18, 2018 at 10:50 am

Hari ni pakatan menang, esok minyak turun rm1.50.. tggu esok punya esok punya esok… ooo 100 hari.. ok 91 days remaining