Personalised number plates being studied – MoT

Following today’s announcement of the ‘Malaysia’ special number plate series, which will be open for tender next month, and the upcoming individual state plate series (Selangor, Kedah, Penang), transport minister Anthony Loke Siew Fook said that his ministry is looking at introducing personalised plates in Malaysia.

Elsewhere, personalised plates can be anything, but Loke gave examples of actual names such as “Anthony or John or Ali or Mahathir or Najib.” Whoever has the money, he can do a personalised number, Loke said, explaining that this could be another way of generating revenue for the government, as per the “once in a lifetime” Malaysia plates and its state equivalents.

“Personalised numbers exist in other countries. We are studying the possibilities of introducing personalised plates, and if possible, we will introduce them in the near future,” he told the media at the transport ministry headquarters in Putrajaya today.

Rumours of JPJ introducing personalised plates have been there for sometime now, and we first heard about it in 2012. What do you think of introduction of personalised plates in Malaysia? Looking forward to get one?

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Jpjcool on Jun 04, 2018 at 6:55 pm

Cool!!! We waiting! Personalize plate number is what we want. But plz dont la too expensive.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
    • Don’t you read the second paragraph?

Let me quote it for you then…

“Whoever has the money, he can do a personalised number, Loke said”

If you’re rich, then you can personalised your number. If you are poor, you can just dream about it.

This is a country where the rich get richer and the poor poorer.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 56
      • New MY! Make the rich great again!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 25
        • Tun Daim on Jun 05, 2018 at 5:15 pm

I don’t know you are ignorant or what. If people are poor, they can choose to drive Proton. If people are rich, they can choose to drive BMW. Have you heard of what is living within your means? I bet you haven’t. You only know how to bash and bash the Gov with nonsense of yours.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 13
          • Buying a car is personal. Buying a number isnt cuz it relates to the gov. And isnt this gov supposed to be fair to all? Looks like vanity plate income will only go to Tabung Loki instead of the NGOs for the benefit of the poor.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 13
          • Freddy on Jun 05, 2018 at 5:36 pm

Speak for yourself, oh ye who complains about being “poor” and refuses to pay back PTPTN, while sipping your Starbucks frappes. And now you peeps talk about others should live within their means. Such hypocrisy!

• Tommy Thomas on Jun 06, 2018 at 12:45 pm

Freddy, pls see which side is complaining about being “poor”. It’s the opposition. Guess they run out of money from election, now Starbucks also cannot sip, have to complain in PT. Kecian.

• Rakyat Malaysia on Jun 05, 2018 at 10:20 am

Welcome to New Malaysia! Unless you’re poor, that is.

• Why do the poor want to personalised their number? Even basic living also they have problems and they want to do this? It’s not for the poor, just like buying Birkins.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 9
        • So the poor shud not have personality, the poor shud be discriminated with lousy number plates, the poor must be humiliated kah? New MY indeed.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 30
          • john otak batu on Jun 05, 2018 at 5:21 pm

What do u mean by lousy number plates? Numbers are just numbers. Do the poor really care about numbers if their main priority is living? Are they going to spend a few grands for the number when they can’t even have a meal? If u can’t get the priority right, u want to blame the Gov? Really brilliant.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 6
          • So according to u, the poor must be humiliated and shoved onto their faces with ur vanity plate numbers huh? Just becoz they have diff priorities in life, that gips u a sense of upkeras kah? New MY indeed. Stuck up rich showoff MY!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 13
      • Birkin 1 on Jun 05, 2018 at 10:59 am

Lucky rich Birkin woman.

• Yup, lucky indeed she is. Why must the poor be discriminated with lousy handbags with no personality? Why can’t the poor get designer handbags as cool as hers? Is bcoz of old MY?

• Yes. Becoz of a certain 22 year period, the poor cant afford for yachts with princess names. But if its old MY fault, then why bring it back?

• john penolong pencuri on Jun 06, 2018 at 12:32 pm

Yeah. Not only 22 years, but for 60 years. The poor can’t afford yatchs or superyatch like Equamity. If it’s old MY fault, then Malaysians have the right to know whether it’s our money that used to fund them.

• Afeeq Hasan the MalaysianAmericano on Jun 05, 2018 at 2:44 pm

In the US, a personalized license plate is actually quite cheap ($90-$99 yearly depending on character count) You don’t have to be rich to have one, just have some extra money on hand. Stop being so pessimistic. I don’t think Malayisan ones will be crazy expensive.

• Rakyat Malaysia on Jun 05, 2018 at 3:35 pm

The highly prized ones (but not even personalised), were bid for tens of thousands RM. Meanwhile the poor looks on in envy and destitute.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 11
          • The Poor on Jun 05, 2018 at 5:27 pm

We are more envy of the hundred of designer handbags, the multiple gold bars and the millions of cash found in VVIP of some past leader. We cannot brain how can 1 person can have so many of these things or wonder if they came from our hardworking money.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
          • Freddy on Jun 05, 2018 at 10:36 pm

Its easy. They spend less on frivolous things like Starbucks everyday. That’s why can afford lotsa handbags & millions of cash. You can do it too.

• stastasta on Jun 07, 2018 at 10:09 am

if the rich spend money on license plate, they will become poorer. logic.

• holofanboi on Jun 04, 2018 at 7:28 pm

LOL @ Anthony 1!

Image is’ shopped! Shopped I tell you!

• And one more time spinning the money game machine!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 12
  • YB Albert on Jun 04, 2018 at 7:59 pm

Our dear new YAB Menteri
    I think u should concentrate yr efforts on
    1.Eradicating graft during driving tests
    2.eradicating graft of yr enforcement team when checking commercial vehicles
    3.Upgrading the level of service and comfort at JPJ centres.You need to wear singlets at some of these offices cos the air con is not working well.
    Instead of wasting time promoting fanciful number plates which inflates people’s ego,why not get these people who can spend few hundred thousands or even millions to donate to welfare organisations or Tabung Harapan?
    MOney should be spent helping society,not inflating one’s ego,our dear Menteri.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 8
    • Sufian on Jun 05, 2018 at 11:49 am

There are stingy rich people whom without anything in return they won’t donate…so this is of method to help gov immediately on debts

• Borneo Darul Seram on Jun 04, 2018 at 8:20 pm

Longest fancing number plate please! “Pulau Pinang 9999”

• Benzs on Jun 04, 2018 at 8:24 pm

MoT you have done a very good job. Earn from rich and help government. Besides, special name plate will be popular among tycoon. Since they really like to show off in order to compete with other tycoon. That will increase Malaysia profits for saving our country debt which reach 1T. Thanks MoT

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 14
    • For a country to get profit, the gov need to get foregin country to invest in this country. This can be done by promoting better infrastrutures, promoting investment opportunities in mega projects, etc. When foreign investers interested in investing in Malaysia, then the gov can get the profit from the tax those investers paying… Not by getting profit from the rakyat pockets.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 3
      • turborider on Jun 05, 2018 at 11:29 am

This is just one of the many ways to get fund for country. Also this is not a compulsory buy, whoever has the money can buy it. Normal people just buy normal plate.

• “Normal people just buy normal plate.”
          Yes, the separation of the classes. And I thought class system was extinct. Looks like new MY brought it back.

• pandainya on Jun 06, 2018 at 12:59 pm

During BN times, normal people buy fancy plate kah? Okay….

The separation of the classes does not exist in old MY and now it’s the fault of new MY? “Pandai” lah u john, put the blame of old class system on new Gov.

• U dun get rich by spinning the money around internally. Gov gets rich, rakyat gets poorer. U get rich by attracting foreign investment into the country but PH is doing the OPPOSITE.
      Thanks MoT. Thanks PH. For making our country bankrap a reality.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 12
    • sile-sile on Jun 05, 2018 at 12:20 pm

Sila teruskan menjilat Benzs. Takde bezanya MoT dulu dan sekarang kalau praktis benda yang sama

• Sampan 250kmph on Jun 04, 2018 at 8:24 pm

Why not also charge the owner of personalized plate with annual subscription fee as an extra revenue for the ruler as well?

• I’m in shock and awe that Malaysia doesn’t allow personalised number plates. Seriously, what a limiting country to live in!

• I thought this govt was going to be different. This sounds more nonsensical than before. Sigh.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
    • Arief on Jun 05, 2018 at 12:26 pm

Obviously the previous govt had emptied public coffers. Sigh.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 6
      • Obviously u only followed their tail wagging whichever way it pleases. Sigh.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 9
  • Singh is king! on Jun 04, 2018 at 9:33 pm

Anthony 1?? Wth man..dei minuster u mad ah? We wan singh is king 1 in tht case…50k ppl will bid

• I would love John 1

• AutoFrenz (the original) on Jun 04, 2018 at 10:19 pm

And makes it easier for criminals to follow you home…such a brilliant idea

• Agree. But then again he can choose not to personalize his plate.

• Say Ian Chong on Jun 04, 2018 at 10:30 pm

great idea, perhaps could allow each state have personal name follow by numeric, for example,
    KedahSam1 until KedahSam9999, SelangorAhmad1 until SelangorAhmad9999, JohorMuthu1 until JohorMuthu9999.
    it could generate even more revenue and make the personal number plate so unique.

• johns sekalian should get..!

• Aiseh..allow the plate to grow long=not enough space on plate=reduced font size=JPJ ukur tak comply size= SAMAN = blame gov = (but still) allow the plate to grow..the cycle continue…

• Ahmad on Jun 05, 2018 at 7:47 am

LGE 1… For MOF

• 1L01KE

• Mikey on Jun 05, 2018 at 8:31 am

If anyone willing to pay for personalized number plates, let them do it. It’s their own $$$. It will help the Gomen coffers. At least there is a CHOICE.

• john is otak batu on Jun 05, 2018 at 9:26 am

Yahoo! It’s Vanity plate being considered, but we all hope that gomen consider remove excise tax too !

• Yupp… we can only hope. After all… they calling themself as the Alliance of Hope (pakatan harapan) hehe.

There is potential where they won’t remove the excise tax and again use the 1 trillion debt as an excuse ;)

• Pillock on Jun 05, 2018 at 12:25 pm

Taxes don’t want to pay, but then crying out loud about government debt.

So uneducated one this otak batu.

• Ben Yap on Jun 05, 2018 at 9:59 am

my son study form 5 also graduate. this personalized number plate has been studying longer than a school boy going to school.

• Aniki Tan on Jun 05, 2018 at 10:36 am

Yes! I want Aniki with my birth year or date and month~

• Shaharuddin on Jun 05, 2018 at 12:47 pm

YAB, sort out even the smallest irregularities in yr ministry before considering new things

• Not good idea. It encourage self ego and then envy among citizen. If really want to implement it, should attach with certain conditions like the personalised word should not more 5 letters etc.

• stastasta on Jun 07, 2018 at 10:08 am

according to your logic, expensive cars like merc or bmw also encourage ” self ego and then envy among citizen” . why not ban expensive cars and only allow proton & perodua to be sold ?

• Like that but don t be too expensive. What happen to regular nanti JPJ pening nanti. No 2 plat will be the same.

• Firdaus on Jun 05, 2018 at 2:50 pm

When going to end AP system??
    Maybe Mahathir wont let!!

Malaysians should be free to import any cars they like but must pass puspakom/JPJ inspection….anyone agree??

• Not Toyota Fan on Jun 05, 2018 at 5:11 pm

Been hearing about this Personalised numbers since Long Liong Sik was Minister of Transport. Until today JPJ still can’t explain WHY it was never implemented.

• Alex Cross on Jun 06, 2018 at 12:18 am

Hello Minister! Personalised number plates are all well and good but I rather you to attend to the core issues of the ministry. Issues that affect the daily lives of the people; namely roads that u can drive on, disappearing lane lines, traffic lights blinking like Xmas tree lights, guardrails that hv taken a beating & it still supposed to serve it’s original purpose, electric cables that appears to grow out of ground etc. Take a drive along the Federal highway & u will know what I mean. How about upgrading roads to cope with the volume of traffic. PH talks about doing things according to the current rules & laws. How about instilling road ethics to road users. All these will help greatly, Mr. Minister. Thank you.

• Teh Ta Rik on Jun 06, 2018 at 1:56 am

TehTarik1. Nice plate to have when i stopped at mamak restaurant.

• Datuk Loke, could you please look into the motorbike lanes on both sides of the Federal highway. It’s a mess. I don’t care who created the mess. As it is, all motorbikes have to use the Federal highway with the cars etc. As the new Transport Minister, I look forward to your action to make the lanes great again. Thank you Sir.

• I want to propose a licence plate. Will the new government see my proposal without having to go through bureaucracy like before and when others can kidnap my proposal..

• maumakanyou 010