Miros conducts online survey on bike licence age

After a proposal from the Women, Family and Community Development Ministry to reduce the compulsory age for obtaining a motorcycle license from 16 to 14, the Malaysian Institute of Road Safety Research (MIROS) has produced an online survey, linked here. The survey seeks feedback from the public on the minimum age to get a motorcycle licence in Malaysia as well as limiting young licence holders to certain categories of road.

Aside from the usual questions on demographics, the survey asks for opinions on the minimum age for motorcycle licences as well as viewpoints on topics such as riding a motorcycle without a licence. The survey is geared to youth riding motorcycles, especially travelling to school as using public or private transport is sometimes not an option in rural areas.

The earlier proposal by then deputy minister Datuk Azizah Mohd Dun called for the licence age to be reduced to 15 or 14, with riders limited to using motorcycles within housing areas and riding hours limited to between 7 am and 8 pm. Also, new transport minister Anthony Loke recently said he wants to review the minimum age, likely to increase because a large portion of accidents involve riders/drivers under 20.

This is due to the large number of accidents involving drivers and riders under that age. What do you think, dear reader? Should the licence age be raised or lowered and should smaller motorcycles be restricted to certain roads? Leave a comment with your thoughts and opinions, below.

Coming with diverse and extensive experience in heavy engineering, Mohan enjoys making anything with wheels go fast, especially motorcycles. His weapon of choice is the Desmoquattro engine, and he has a penchant for anything with a dash of Italian design. Strangely enough, he insists he's a slow rider.

• Most of these ‘problematic’ riders are kampung pipu.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
    • Start them younger, the better

• Previous Gov said we shud allow rempit woh.

https://paultan.org/2016/04/15/govt-to-proceed-with-road-closure-for-rempit-racing/

• Mohd Azwan on Jun 06, 2018 at 9:21 am

This is why we got rid of the previous highly corrupted Government.

• Add A Comment on Jun 06, 2018 at 7:34 am

Yes, many Kampung young riders are not well educated about the safety and they are boring. But please come to KL and take a look. You will be amazed.

Yes, you can argue they are all come from Kampung.

– I Have Just Added A Comment –

• Horizon Sailor on Jun 05, 2018 at 10:45 am

14 years old with small displacement bike (less 50cc).

• Add A Comment on Jun 06, 2018 at 7:38 am

Nahh…not gonna stop the issue. The Rempit blood will guide them to do Rempit stuff even it is just 50cc. Looks at those bicycle rempit…how many CC their rides have?

– I Have Just Added A Comment –

• Plateohplate on Jun 05, 2018 at 10:47 am

Sound like legal rempit is on it way. Lols.

• Thanks to old MY, we are one step closer to legalising rempit.

http://paultan.org/2016/02/22/govt-to-allow-legalised-motorcycle-street-racing-in-kl/

• Aikon on Jun 05, 2018 at 11:20 am

“The earlier proposal by then deputy minister Datuk Azizah Mohd Dun called for the license age to be reduced to 15 or 14, with riders limited to using motorcycles within housing areas and riding hours limited to between 7 am and 8 pm. What are your thoughts on this, dear reader? Please leave a comment with your thoughts and opinions, below.”

They can never police this. As it is now, with all the kids riding on kampung roads without licenses and helmets and on the wrong side of the roads and with no respect to traffic lights, have they ever been summoned? It is just a bad idea idea to legitimise the bad behaviour and save them from getting summons. I personally do not agree with the proposal.

• komarad on Jun 06, 2018 at 8:50 am

just go to kota damansara especially weekend afternoon you’ll see lot of 10-15 year old on bikes without helmet… at lakeside near section 9…not even kampung roads…

• Assalam on Jun 05, 2018 at 12:03 pm

Hallo old Miros, Any update?

https://paultan.org/2018/01/26/kl-cycling-lanes-miros-to-conduct-month-long-study/

• Dylan Ch'ng on Jun 05, 2018 at 12:29 pm

Why is forum in BM?

• 12yrsold john on Jun 05, 2018 at 3:12 pm

The forum is in BM suggest most motorcyclist are Malays as more than 60% of populations are Malays/Bumis. I believe most youth this age have no problem with BM.

T

• BN has suggested to give more space for rempit to race. So why need conduct study? Just follow suggestion of previous Gov lah.

https://paultan.org/2016/03/04/were-just-giving-mat-rempit-space-to-race-ku-nan/

• Mohd Azwan on Jun 06, 2018 at 9:23 am

so shameful. No wonder they lost badly despite cheating maximum

• Because BM is NATIONAL LANGUAGE

• 1ppl1gaji on Jun 05, 2018 at 4:03 pm

actually tak perlu kaji kaji. Senang sahaja. umur 18 baru boleh tunggang motor. Ini logik akar. Pakailah kepala otak kau.

• The problem is not in lacking of the law but rather in enforcement. I see motorbike beating red lights on daily basis. Not only by youngsters but adults as well. Discipline on the road should be taught in school and the children should be taught to remind their parents to be careful and follow the law.

• Aikon on Jun 06, 2018 at 8:10 am

Yes, I totally agree with you on this. It is terrible that they do this and those beating lights have even nearly t-boned me. Such behaviour is ingrained in them since young and they just carry on doing what their elders practice or teach them.

Yes, enforcement is severely lacking. By the way those kind of behaviour doesn’t just occur on kampung roads, they bring that behaviour to the city as well.

• Fulfil on Jun 06, 2018 at 6:16 am

They need to find what is the cause of accident first. How is it different; a 20 year old with new license versus a 14 year old with license? As starters, they got 1 thing in common; less experienced. They could take a look at the driving license teaching/test modules first as a start.

• Ksatria on Jun 06, 2018 at 8:28 am

Rule of law applies to all.
    Enforcement is very poor. Seems police are scared of rempits. Change this please. Drag the parents to court if needed.

• Yang mahal on Jun 06, 2018 at 1:25 pm

Ban motorcycle