Bus companies and drivers with unpaid summonses will not be allowed to operate this Hari Raya – Loke

Transport minister Anthony Loke is getting tough on road safety. The new man in charge said today that express bus companies and drivers who have unpaid traffic summonses will not be allowed to operate over the Hari Raya festive period, explaining that the move is one of the government’s efforts to reduce road accidents and fatalities, Bernama reported.

“The Road Transport Department (JPJ) and the National Anti-Drug Agency (AADK) had carried out inspections at most bus depots a week before the launch of this integrated operation in conjunction with Aidilfitri,” Loke told the media today in Seremban after launching Ops Bersepadu for the upcoming balik kampung exodus.

“Bus companies or drivers who have unpaid summonses have been served with a notice to settle their outstanding traffic summonses before they can be allowed to operate as usual,” he declared.

The minister explained that the presence of AADK officers at bus depots were to ensure that express bus drivers were drug-free. “To have a bus driver with a clean record is very important as it would not only have an impact on the safety of the passengers, but also on the bus companies to renew their licences in the future,” he said.

The integrated road safety campaign and operation will run from tomorrow until June 22.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Expiring soon.
    https://paultan.org/2018/04/05/jpj-summons-70-off-in-april-except-speeding-fines/

• Lets see what happens when those balik kampung cant get tickets or their previously booked becomes burn.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 30
    • Concerned Komuter on Jun 07, 2018 at 8:56 pm

JPJ did nothing for the past 10 years?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
      • Tajuddin Ohwai on Jun 07, 2018 at 9:52 pm

See how the new Government is making and doing so much good? I am glad they are looking after our safety.

john oh john, isn’t safety more important than balik kampung?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 27
        • Hmm, which is more unsafe?
          Less bus means more cars on the roads which results in higher incidents together with some unfortunate souls that no choice but to balik kampung on motors which greatly risks their lives? Or unsafe buses?

Well, fatality statistics shows that private mode of transports have more casualties than unsafe buses. So means buses r still safest mode of transport during balik kampung. And as u said, shudnt we prioritise safety, yes?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 26
          • These unsafe drivers & busses are endangering the lives of passengers and other road users.Have you ever thought how serious the accident could be if they ever cause 1 compared to cars?So how can unsafe busses be safer than cars?I think you don’t even know how to interprete statistical data.Private cars may have more fatalities compared to busses but it is over a much longer period of time.Heavy vehicles like busses & lorries could cause much higher fatalities at 1 time compared to smaller & lighter vehicles like cars.So which 1 is more dangerous? Please use your brain.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 8
          • Yes. Pls use brain. Even when extrapolate to a yearly statistics, private transportation still has highest fatalities. And even if u lengthen the sampling period to a few years, U will still find that buses r the most safest way to balik kampung, other than planes or ferries.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 6
          • John Fake News Sdn Bhd on Jun 08, 2018 at 9:45 am

john cannot understand that all cars are interrelated with each other. If bus is unsafe, means everybody on the road and other road users are not safe

Short term thinking must stop

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
          • Kunta here cant seem to brain that an unsafe driver is more dangerous than an unsafe vehicle. Brain dah kena fried from changing too many dupes but still being found out.

• Bus Passenger on Jun 07, 2018 at 9:57 pm

https://paultan.org/2016/01/29/ops-sikap-from-feb-2-to-16-jpj-officers-to-go-undercover-in-buses-catch-seven-big-sins-offenders/

https://paultan.org/2016/07/14/bus-company-suspended-one-month-following-crash/

https://paultan.org/2016/12/30/transport-ministry-implemented-22-out-of-51-safety-recommendations-after-genting-bus-crash-report/

https://paultan.org/2017/06/21/jpj-wants-the-public-to-report-reckless-bus-drivers/

• Tajuddin Ohwai on Jun 07, 2018 at 10:09 pm

ha ha ha, our regular cybertrooper who likes to post links….oh wai

• Hahaha! Sori but not me. U change name but still malas copy pasta. Oh wai…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
    • TopsyBoXyTurvy on Jun 07, 2018 at 9:40 pm

Lets see what happen if the buses are allowed to operate and accidents happen and people die.

• omegle on Jun 08, 2018 at 12:14 am

The 8pm newscaster will solemnly announce, as they do for every accident these few years:

“Bas yang terlibat dalam kemalangan maut ngeri semalam mempunyai 63 saman tertunggak atas pelbagai kesalahan.
        Manakala pemandu bas berkenaan memiliki sebelas saman tertunggak atas pelbagai kesalahan termasuk memandu laju sejak 2008 hingga 2016.”

• Yearly festival statistics showed that private transportation (cars & motors) has more fatalities than public transports, either safe or unsafe buses.

U rather see more deaths when using their own mode of transports? And why do this so close to HRP? Whats Lokis agenda?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 11
        • rally_fan (Member) on Jun 08, 2018 at 8:46 am

so you want buses with outstanding summonses and drivers on drugs to continue operating? why so close to HRP? why not? the guy just started work less than a month ago. he has a job to do. FYI, he is putting the responsibility back into the bus companies to take action. clean up their act, or they cant do business. With an ultimatum like that and threat of losing their license, they will definitely comply because in the past, they have been allowed to keep getting away with it. i fully support what the minister is doing.

• Mikey on Jun 08, 2018 at 9:03 am

I think the real reason is john got many summons unpaid hence he is NOT allowed to drive to cari makan. That is why he is complaining kow kow. Make sense?

• rally_fan.

I agree with your comments 100%.

It’s about time this country moved into the real world of road and traffic policing and I hope the current administration start handing out many more ultimatums to those who use the roads.

Get the shonks and cowboys off the roads, then we start to see some changes. Until then, it will be business as usual.

I totally support the department in their actions, now they need to follow through with full compliance for everyone who has the PRIVILEGE of using the roads.

Having a drivers license is not a right, it should be something that comes with extremely high responsibilities. Disobey them, then be prepared to lose it.

• John Fake News Sdn Bhd on Jun 08, 2018 at 9:53 am

I agree totally. Time for the lazy bus drivers to clean their act. No more lepak. No more ganja and no more rilak. New Government means time to work hard. No more handouts

• @rally_fan
            Yes, he came in 1 month ago and instead of looking into this since HRP is coming, he went off tangent and wormed his way around vanity plates, abolishing SPAD that has worked their socks off to ensure safer travel during festivals (the irony), replacing it with toothless APAD (now busy hiring pipu instead of enforcing), and doing kneejerk reaction to saman pipu instead of informing them their airbags needs replaced. So u see, where did his priorities go? Or did he have an agenda against those going back?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 5
  • vVivi Zurianti on Jun 08, 2018 at 7:40 am

Alamak….now cannot kaw time oredi with officer??

• pengayuhbasikal on Jun 08, 2018 at 9:32 am

let see how APAD will handle the situation when so many people stranded at bus terminal due to no bus and driver…

• thepolygonal on Jun 08, 2018 at 10:34 am

why bus and driver dunwan pay saman…

• Khairul Izam on Jun 08, 2018 at 10:42 am

Tu lah. Nak buat, buatle awal-awal dulu. Bagi masa pada bas-bas operator untuk menyelesaikan masalah diorang. Ini cilakak buat hal seminggu sblm Raya buatpe? Beterabur dia kacau hal lain tapi ini dia leave the best for the last.

Uols ingat kite takyah balik kampung ke? Ni la kerajaan Paling Hampeh!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 6
      • Telor goncang on Jun 08, 2018 at 11:16 am

Tu lah. Pucuk pimpinan yg lama 10tahun tak buat ape. Hampeh!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 10
        • I will only say please look at what “Bus Passenger” posted above. Tak buat ape? Phui!

• S.Ibrahim on Jun 08, 2018 at 11:33 am

Walaupun keluarga saya tidak pakai bas balik kampung natijah dari kebodohan pemimpin sebegitu ada kesan yang amat teruk terhadap perjalanan saya.

Macam saudara Khairul Izam dah bagitahu, ketirisan bas dan pemandu akan menyebabkan ramai orang terpaksa balik pakai kereta sendiri atau pakai motor, kedua-duanya diketahui lebih risiko berbanding dengan bas. Lebih banyak kereta akan mengakibatkan masa perjalanan saya lebih memanjang.

Saya nak tanya si Menteri Pengangkutan baru. Kenapa tidak menyuruh syarikat-syarikat bas untuk pemeriksaan sebelum ini? Kenapa mahu tunggu sampai masa genting sebegini sebelum Raya? Adakah dia terlalu kencang dengan kerja yang tidak bermanfaat sebelum ini?

Janganlah ingat kita bodoh dan hanya terima keputusan sebegitu sahaja tanpa bersuara.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 3
        • Felda boy on Jun 08, 2018 at 12:04 pm

Tidak perlu risau. Dari sembang lebat kat sini, baik pegi bayar saman. Beres sekian..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 6
        • I really feel for my fellow rakyats that celebrates HRP. They got played out by Loki.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
        • vVivi Zurianti on Jun 08, 2018 at 7:17 pm

The usual bus companies have their obligation to settle their saman ASAP. No need to wait for notice etc. However, these stwepid companies prefer to drag their feet….buat taktau, with lots of BS excuses…
          Then, when the Govt take action, the companies cry like babies….

If these companies bosses cant even run a bus company, better close shop and sell bicycles…..

• Ghani on Jun 08, 2018 at 11:08 pm

Close them down because they were unsafe? Yes, I agree. They why didn’t Loke do it 1st day on the job, or even 1st week on the job? Why wait until tickets have been bought and arrangements made? Now its too late to find alternatives because nobody know which bus agents are affected. Why not do it on CNY or Christmas instead?

• stastasta on Jun 11, 2018 at 12:28 pm

Ibrahim , why you keep using the words “sebelum ini” ? dont you know the minister just appointed few weeks ago and is already moving very fast on various issues ? or you expect him to time travel ?
          if the bus accident happen during raya, and caused by driver on drugs with lots of unpaid saman, the same stupid person like yourself will surely blame the minister for not taking action.

• Vincent Cheng on Jun 08, 2018 at 10:09 am

What? When BN time, PR (PH) making clear that block user to renew roadtax for summonses is wrong doing as Malaysia Law is Öne is not guilty until proven guilty. Only court can decide if someone guilty, not enforcement department. If one willing to pay summon, it mean they agreed that they guilty. But enforcement cannot force one to pay summon by set rules to block them for renew roadtax! Why now set law to clock them go on road? How can PH go above the law? Please lar.. do not disappoint us!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
  • Bernard on Jun 08, 2018 at 10:32 am

Just imagine that we have to conduct tests to determine if the drivers are drug free??

If in a Scandinavian country, the citizens would react in shock and disbelief but in bolehland, its something we are very very used to.

Lucky for us with Anthony Loke and PH , we can be rest assured that they will do everything in their power to eradicate this menace.