2018 KTM 790 Duke “The Scalpel” in Malaysia, RM65k

After much anticipation from the Malaysian riding public, the 2018 KTM 790 Duke “The Scalpel” is now in Malaysia and priced at RM64,800, excluding GST, road tax, insurance and registration. The replacement model for the much-loved hooligan bike, the KTM 690 Duke, The Scalpel is thoroughly updated and now comes with two cylinders.

Carrying a parallel-twin LC8c engine displacing 799 cc, The Scalpel is said to produce 105 hp at 9,000 rpm and 87 Nm of torque at 8,000 rpm. The eight-valve, DOHC mill is fed by EFI and features two counter-balancer shafts to reduce vibration, one located in front of the camshafts and another in-between.

Power gets to the ground via a six speed gearbox and KTM’s PASC slipper clutch, which reduces clutch effort at the lever while eliminating rear-wheel hop under hard down-shifting.

Weighing in at 189 kg wet, The Scalpel places KTM’s split LED headlight out in front, with necessary information for the rider displayed inside the cockpit with a TFT-LCD screen, as previously seen on the KTM Super Duke R, Super Duke GT and 390 Duke.

Go-to suspension brand for KTM, WP Suspension, does the duties front and rear using a 43 mm upside-down fork in front and monoshock at the rear, along with a WP steering damper. Braking is with KTM OEM brand callipers, the four-piston unit in front clamping a 300 mm diameter disc with a single-piston unit at the back grabbing a 240 mm disc.

A full suite of electronics now comes standard on the 790 Duke, with Bosch 9MP two-channel ABS along with traction control and four ride modes. One unique feature of The Scalpel is “Supermoto” mode, which lets the rider switch off the rear wheel ABS, allowing the wheel to be locked up at will for sideways corner entry stunts.

Adding to the ergonomics of the 790 Duke is a four-position 760 mm wide handlebar, made from aluminium. Seat height on the 790 Duke is a very reasonable 825 mm, letting most riders mount the bike with two-feet down confidence.

For Malaysia, the 2018 KTM 790 Duke is a CBU unit, with units expected to appear in official KTM dealer showrooms very shortly. Amongst local competition for the 790 Duke is the Triumph 765RS priced at RM62,900, the Yamaha MT-09 at RM44,706, the Kawasaki Z900 at RM47,901 and the Ducati Monster 821 at RM67,830.

Coming with diverse and extensive experience in heavy engineering, Mohan enjoys making anything with wheels go fast, especially motorcycles. His weapon of choice is the Desmoquattro engine, and he has a penchant for anything with a dash of Italian design. Strangely enough, he insists he's a slow rider.

• TreeHugger on Jun 08, 2018 at 8:58 pm

Wow..how can this be more expensive than the 3-cylinder Street Triple and MT-09? A supposedly replacement of 690 Duke that costs double the price of 690 Duke? Never thought KTM street bikes would be competing in the same premium price range as Ducati.

• najibest on Jun 10, 2018 at 3:02 am

Indeed disappointed in the pricing.

Unfortunately it’s priced as such because it’s CBU (though I have no idea the originating country, Austria perhaps?)

Hopefully in the future it would be CKD’d or CBU from Philippines (the main regional assembler I believe) so that it can be priced competitively.

At the current price there is no reason to choose it over Triumph Street Triple RS which is cheaper by a few thousand. Was hoping it to be priced at most at Street Triple R level… Now Yamaha MT09 seems like a bargain….

• Don’t worry, we have a clean Government now. This means our ringgit will get stronger and prices will come down due to better exchange rate

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
  • Abdul Wahab Khalid on Jun 08, 2018 at 9:53 pm

Good bike and car prices have come down. It was silly to pay GST when we had the highest car and bike prices in the world before.

I am thankful a good and clean Government is giving us affordable bikes and cars now

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 19
    • If u cant afford it then, u still cant afford it now. Get a better job than being a cybertroller.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 7
    • Mohd Shahab on Jun 10, 2018 at 12:09 pm

Not just cars and moto, groceries also now so cheap. So happy we chose a caring and not a pencuri gomen like before

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
      • Albert's Fake News Pvt Ltd on Jun 10, 2018 at 3:52 pm

You chose an administration that robbed us for 22 years to come back. How’s that an improvement?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
  • hondaman on Jun 09, 2018 at 10:59 am

GST??

• John Kalah Teruk on Jun 09, 2018 at 11:01 am

I like this bike. It exuberates quality!

• Abdul Khatib on Jun 09, 2018 at 11:28 am

Now with LGE running the country finances, I am sure ringgit will improve and prices will come down later

• https://paultan.org/2018/05/28/vehicle-prices-could-go-up-following-the-return-of-sst/

• Better get the kawa 900 limited edition. Once you’ve ride the 4 cylinder, you’ll feel the difference when you ride on a 2 cylinder.

• Pretty darn expensive for a motorcycle that is known for its unreliable engine

• Gracke on Jun 09, 2018 at 6:36 pm

Fantastic!!! Price is quite good.

• Heng Lee on Jun 10, 2018 at 6:42 am

The 3-cylinder Street Triple is made in Thailand, that’s why it’s cheaper.

• mumbo-jumbo on Jun 11, 2018 at 12:55 pm

Awesome bike but not at this nonsensical price of 65k. UK price is only around GBP8.5k or RM45k. U do the maths guys.