Ops Selamat 13 – drop in accidents, deaths this Raya

Here’s some good news. The nationwide road safety operation dubbed Ops Selamat 13 for this Hari Raya travel period showed a 9% drop in fatal accidents, with 189 cases recorded from 207 cases in the corresponding period last year, Bernama reports.

Bukit Aman Traffic Investigation and Enforcement Department director SAC Shahrul Othman Mansor said motorcyclists and pillion riders were still the major contributors to the fatal accidents. He said the number of deaths also went down by 11%, with 200 cases recorded this year compared to last year’s 225.

“The number of accidents causing severe injuries also decreased by 34 cases, which is 72 cases compared to 106 last year,” he said during a press conference in conjunction with a special operation at the Sungai Besi Toll Plaza.

However, Ops Selamat 13, which ends today, saw the number of summonses issued increase by 40% to 201,835. The traffic cop said revealed that exceeding the speed limit was the top offence recorded, with 175,745 cases.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• In summary, more offenses, less eksidens, less deaths. Safer cars now on the road most probably pushed the figures lower.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 22
    • #johnsohai on Jun 22, 2018 at 11:11 am

Nice analysis from someone who can’t even spell properly

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 6
      • Hasmizan on Jun 22, 2018 at 1:03 pm

Reduced speed limit at federal and state roads for Raya, as decreed by MOT proven right

• 12yrsold john on Jun 22, 2018 at 3:20 pm

You are right. The best part is john think it’s funny. If you read too much of john comment, you will also fail your spelling. Better avoid him with a 10 foot pole.

• rightwinger on Jun 22, 2018 at 5:23 pm

ekcheli, mispeling was intensyenal.

• Nancy Tan on Jun 22, 2018 at 11:29 am

Actually, new Government now. Less corruption and less duit kopi. So better and more honest enforcement. This has resulted in lower accidents.

Bravo to a clean Government.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 17
      • Rightwinger on Jun 22, 2018 at 3:57 pm

Lols… overnight transformation my foot. The officers were not all corrupt In the first place.
        People like you are the one going around undermining everything by any and everyone in the force. Painting them in a bad light and casting aspersions.
        If the force so corrupt, don’t call them if you’re a victim next time.

• True dat bro. But then they turn around and says Polis is cruel for not rescuing them.

• Rajoo Selvam on Jun 22, 2018 at 11:48 am

so says the guy who says we have the cheapest petrol prices in the world…oh wai

• John Dedak on Jun 22, 2018 at 3:56 pm

dont forget also he told us Malaysia has cheapest car prices in the world too

• yeah guys i do think that after just 1 month suddenly everything becomes cheap

• Tell me. When highways are all jammed up. Slow moving sometimes stationary. How to accident? This is good. Sell more cars.

• BTW, isnt it premature to end today when most wud becoming back either tomolo or Sat? Then wud eksidens & death in these 2 days not counted in?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 16
    • Khairul Annuar on Jun 22, 2018 at 3:38 pm

Are you part of PDRM? I think they know better.

• Hafiz Hisham on Jun 22, 2018 at 4:21 pm

Then are you part of PDRM? My family and plenty more of us are still in kampong readying to return home either tonite or early tomorrow morning. You don’t speak for us.

• panjang on Jun 22, 2018 at 10:57 am

This figure can oso be used to reflect living cost…higher living cost,lower death rate from accident as people less travel?

• Incorrect. The higher number of saman indicates that more percentage of pipu were travelling. That despite the so-called higher living cost.

• U-Tun on Jun 22, 2018 at 12:09 pm

No lah..they travel overseas instead of balik kampung. That’s why less people die on the road meh

• mokkf on Jun 22, 2018 at 11:19 am

Surprisingly, this year RAYA I saw a lot of police vehicle along PLUS highway.
    Not like last time, can’t see any. If got pun during R&R area.

• Waters on Jun 22, 2018 at 11:45 am

Still 189 people lost their lives. :(

• Ben Yap on Jun 22, 2018 at 11:49 am

traffic jam and no one can go fast. so no one died.

• kaizen on Jun 22, 2018 at 3:06 pm

basically,
    1. stricter and more enforcement,
    2. less duit kopi
    contribute to
    1. less accidents
    2. less death
    that’s why
    1. more summonses issued.

• Which had been the trend since the past few years. But less eksidens and deaths r more likely due to more car users and safer cars nowadays.