Grab says driver safety as big a priority as passengers

In a posting on its Facebook page, Grab Malaysia has said that it prioritises the safety of its driver-partner as much as its passengers. “The safety of our driver-partners is just as important to us as our passengers and a threat to their safety is something we do not take lightly,” the ride-hailing service said.

This comes after one of its drivers was recently murdered while completing a trip. According to a report by The Sun, the man, identified by police as a 27-year-old from Nilai, Negeri Sembilan, was found dead in the backseat of his car in a parking lot in Gombak on Saturday.

Grab said that the driver was a “hard-working and a top performing driver, and based on passengers’ feedback, he was well appreciated by his passengers.” It added that it extended its deepest condolences to his family and urged those with information on the incident to come forward to the authorities.

The company had put in place a number of safety and security measures last year, including providing free dashcams to its 3,500 top performing female and platinum drivers nationwide. It also added an emergency button in its passenger app and introduced a telematics system that detects unsafe driving behaviour.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Muhammad on Jun 25, 2018 at 11:57 am

Nope…

If from beginning they implement rider verification as driver, this thing won’t happen.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 0
    • Gagak on Jun 25, 2018 at 12:08 pm

Nope. rider verification applicable to all red white Teksi passenger too.

• Disposable Driver on Jun 25, 2018 at 3:33 pm

nay… Just one Templatized Response.

• Bad breath driver on Jun 25, 2018 at 10:37 pm

Taxi no need rider verification, taxi is more gangster than grab Driver

• Grab driver on Jun 25, 2018 at 12:28 pm

Grab n all e-hailing companies MUST impose on riders id registration n verification prior to riding any e-hailing cars. What have been done so far is just insufficient

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 0
    • Domotomo on Jun 25, 2018 at 12:56 pm

why can’t grab implement now?
      such malaysian mentality
      sudah kena baru mau buat

• Ben Yap on Jun 25, 2018 at 12:23 pm

So will Grab compensate the family or not? or buat diam only?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
    • John L on Jun 25, 2018 at 4:43 pm

Last time passenger punched driver, Grab told the driver to retract his police report. So what do you think?

• Seriously grab? Hahaha. You just a parasite sucking driver’s monies & time.
    Ever you think about drivers who kena permanently ban due to unfair judgement by your team? Bias against driver? Passenger is always right?

I say screw you. Its because you monopolize the market, you can make anything you like.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 1
    • Afrojoe on Jun 25, 2018 at 2:12 pm

Totally agree with you, what about the compensation to the his families? Driver top priorities my ass.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 2
    • stastasta on Jun 26, 2018 at 9:52 am

drivers not happy with grab ? then quit grab and drive teksi. dont whine and cry here like a baby. you are an adult, be responsible for your own choices.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 8
  • Frank on Jun 25, 2018 at 1:12 pm

Grab never care about driver when get into trouble. One simple mistake by picking up nasty rider who make trouble with you and do report. 100% Permanently ban forever without any appeal. They don’t entertain banned driver even get threaten by rider.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 0
  • Ollie on Jun 25, 2018 at 3:34 pm

Common sense would ask why is the word “murdered’ being used here? Mobile phones and belongings are in the car. “Strangulation marks” are reported as blisters in varying news reports. I really question WHY at such a preliminary stage is murder being the only theory stated?

It is highly plausible that this driver died of exhaustion. Will Grab reveal how long this driver was driving? I’ve met drivers telling me they work non-stop and sleep 1-2 hours in between from Mon-Sat, going home on Sunday. They sleep in their car and change clothes and wash up in between.

Will Grab take responsibility? Grab is saying he was a good driver, “well-liked” by passengers. So what? Does it mean if he was a bad driver with poor ratings, this case would matter less? Why are they so quick to run with the murder story? Death by exhaustion, dehydration, hunger are possibilities.

How do I know? I have been in that situation, non-stop requests, Grab pushing requests before trip is completed, need to keep acceptance rates up, before you know it you’re driving 6 hours non-stop and wonder why you’re becoming dizzy and realise that you haven’t taken any water or food in 6hours straight.

There is no concern by Grab/Uber on how long their drivers are driving – to them the drivers must be online making money for Uber/Grab. But their call centre only operates during office hours while the drivers drive 24/7. Blood-sucking deplorable company.

I really want to know what the post-mortem says. And Grab, don’t rush to conclusions, your time is coming up.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 8
    • hondaman on Jun 25, 2018 at 4:41 pm

I drove more than 8 hrs while fasting when stuck in the jam going back to hometown wayyy up north but i was not dizzy or exhausted. This is murder laa… can’t blame Grab if you didn’t take enough liquid to hydrate your self.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
    • John L on Jun 25, 2018 at 5:33 pm

Some news reports said that there are marks on his neck. Possibly strangulation.

• I’m a Grab driver. Call centre is on all the time. Only Grab office is during office hour. One thing I wish Grab to improve on is the rating by passenger. Why make it tough on drivers? Some riders put low Star, even tho the driver do the best possible, u accept the low Star without bother to know why. This kind of riders are doing bad favour for the good service we do. Shame on such uncaring people.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 0
    • Ollie on Jun 26, 2018 at 5:04 pm

“Adik (Aiman) tidak pulang ke rumah malam itu, tapi itu biasa kerana dia kerap begitu.

“Jika tidak pulang, adik akan tidur di rumah kawan atau dalam kereta kerana kepenatan. Paling lewat Aiman akan pulang esoknya dan menghubungi ibu bagi memaklumkan mana dia berada,” katanya ketika ditemui di Masjid Dato Klana Petra di sini, hari ini.

Harian Metro – 24 Jun

• John L on Jun 25, 2018 at 4:51 pm

Complete bullshit. Drivers are required to submit their personal data, but passengers only need a phone number. This issue has been raised numerous times by drivers but Grab did nothing. When the case where a passenger punched a driver, Grab pressured the driver to retract his police report. The only thing Grab knows how to do is talk cock.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 0
  • Grab company if you serius handle this issue, please remove this term from your driver agreement

You shall be solely responsible for any and all claims, judgments and liabilities resulting from any accident, loss or damage including, but not limited to personal injuries, death, total loss and property damages which is due to or is alleged to be a result of the motor/passenger vehicle and/or taxi/passenger delivery service howsoever operated;

• Hello grab….anak u all ke yg mati…die adee family.. so..semua lepas ni kene ade i.c no atau pasport..sekali gambar

• Mun Kit Ng on Jun 25, 2018 at 10:13 pm

Will Grab compensate for victims family? The same thing happened to me last year but I’m lucky enough to still alive, lost 2 handphone and some my earnings that day. After I was saved by some pedestrian and police report was made, Grab just contact me by my mom’s handphone and asked me to take a good rest at home.. Compensate??? Any???

• Ollie on Jun 27, 2018 at 4:50 pm

Please publish your story online and provide the link. Paul tan please take up this story. Thanks

• Grab driver on Jun 26, 2018 at 1:23 am

Grab,I would say 90% of riders are foreigner, they come here in malaysia they just dont care. rules, sensitivty etc. pls implement immediately full name passport number and photo same as to driver or remove drivers photo,ratings for rider from driver, where is it?? lot of things can happened if drivers photo shown to rider.it can up to bomoh or assination if rider unsatisfied with driver. Another thing, wheres the medical insurance or group insurance for fulltime driver? Kwsp etc. Its embarassing to u grab on how u run the company. Youre failure ehailing company. Am leaving grab soon and finding another opportunity.

• Palani on Jun 26, 2018 at 3:32 am

Grab car is only interested in making money n taking care of the riders, not the drivers.

• There’s already a petition online requesting Grab to implement stringent riders identification verification in change.org

• Ajitpal singh on Jun 26, 2018 at 6:54 am

Grab should introduce rider to register with their full details.example rider photo.if driver to fetch the rider with different photo rider should cancel the job for driver safety.this always happen rider name is a lady but the rider turn up to be a guy.how sure is the driver whether is safe to bring the guy rider.

• I don’t get it. Everyone is blaming Grab.
    Does taxi driver need to ID all the customers before getting into their car?
    Does Uber do validation too for customers?

Just blame the murderer!

What is up with Malaysian blaming policy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
    • Jonathan Ng on Jun 26, 2018 at 2:01 pm

I don’t think it is blaming grab. If this happen to Uber or other ehailing service, the feedback would be the same. What everyone is saying is to improve the system. Afterall, ehailing as a service is making use of technology and improvements can be implemented.

Ehailing cannot be compared with the “old school” taxi service whereby technology usage is limited. If you have to compare, then compare apple with apple and not apple with orange…

• LetUber4SEAsiaback on Jun 26, 2018 at 8:45 am

Bullshit Grab! There’s no such thing driver as partner term. Better Uber than Grab. At least Uber rider know what e-hailing concept is all about, furthermore Uber is more in taking care of driver. Grab driver are more like “lembu kena cucuk hidung”

• kulawang on Jun 26, 2018 at 8:56 am

grab only know how to maximise their profit. for them, the driver is only their slave

• Kak diva on Jun 26, 2018 at 6:18 pm

Guys, it is government.. The government under the PDPDA that restricts the riders’ details to be obtained. PUSH THE GOVERNMENT too.

• OnceAdriver on Jun 26, 2018 at 6:25 pm

A serial killer can easily pose as monkey can ride Grab because they dont care, they just want 15-20% of their share

• When grab driver received job passenger availble to view photo ,plate number n car colour and on the other side for grab drivers didnt have any type of images , identity or information about his passenger.should look into safety first.

• Pls indicate, qty ride and rating for rider also.