Porsche 911 GT2 RS – 700 hp, RWD, from RM2.9 mil

Zuffenhausen’s latest and greatest has finally landed in Malaysia, and it was aptly launched at the Sepang International Circuit, no less. The Porsche 911 GT2 RS, which officially debuted nearly a year ago in Goodwood, England, is the most hardcore iteration of the 991.2 model range, and it comes with an eye-watering base price of RM2.9 million (with duties, before insurance).

Let’s dive straight into the meat and potatoes. Powering the GT2 RS is a 3.8 litre twin-turbo flat-six engine, producing a beastly 700 hp and 750 Nm of torque – that’s 80 hp and 50 Nm more than the previous 911 GT2 RS’ 3.6 litre flat-six unit. The engine is based on that of the Turbo S (607 hp/750 Nm), but here it gets a larger turbocharger and a new cooling system that sprays charge air (not unlike the BMW M4 GTS) with water.

All that power is directed exclusively to the rear wheels (911 Turbos are AWD, which makes the GT2 RS even more bananas) through a customised seven-speed dual-clutch (PDK) transmission. It rockets from zero to 100 km/h in a blistering 2.8 seconds, and onwards to a top speed of 340 km/h. It sits on a race-inspired chassis with rear-axle steering, and it’s fitted with a specially calibrated Porsche Stability Management (PSM) with a Sport mode to provide optimal driving dynamics.

To complement its immense output, the coupé gets huge 20-inch wheels up front and larger 21-inch hoops at the rear. They are shod with 265/35-section front and 325/30-section rear Ultra High Performance (UHP) tyres – carbon ceramic brakes are standard.

There’s heavy aerodynamics at play, evident through the front bumper with large air intakes, a sizeable splitter and NACA ducts in the bonnet. Over at the back, the engine lid features twin intakes to provide a ram-air effect, along with large twin pipes that lead to a titanium exhaust system (saves seven kg from the one on the Turbo) and of course, the massive GT rear wing.

With a full fuel tank, the GT2 RS tips the scales at 1,470 kg. The optional Weissach pack (RM138k) will shave 30 kg off, thanks to use of carbon-fibre reinforced plastic and titanium. This covers the roof, anti-roll bars and coupling rod for the front and rear axles as well as the bonnet. The pack also comes with magnesium wheels, which further reduce weight and unsprung mass.

Inside, it gets a black leather and red Alcantara upholstery, the latter extending to the roof. Also on are carbon-fibre trims, sports steering wheel with paddle shifters and Porsche Track Precision app that tracks driving data on a smartphone. The Chrono Package can also be specified, complete with a lap trigger.

Also for the first time, in conjunction with the debut of the GT2 RS, Porsche Design is releasing a special timepiece made of titanium which will be available to owners. The movement (01.200 calibre with a flyback function) is developed by PD and features a load-path-optimised movement bridge and an COSC certificate of authenticity. Each unit will be individually produced.

The Porsche 911 GT2 RS is not just one to talk. Watch as Lars Kern set the Nurburgring world record behind the wheel of the hot coupé, upsetting the previous record holder Lamborghini Huracan LP640-4 Performante with an impressive lap time of six minutes 47.3 seconds.

Matthew H Tong

An ardent believer that fun cars need not be fast and fast cars may not always be fun. Matt advocates the purity and simplicity of manually swapping cogs while coping in silence of its impending doom. Matt's not hot. Never hot.

• Awang Selamat on Jun 29, 2018 at 7:06 pm

Porsche GT2 and GT3 RS are amazing cars. They actually go up in price!!!!

If i had lots of money, I will buy a GT3 RS and sell it 10 years later for triple the price

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 5
    • Jho Low on Jun 29, 2018 at 8:15 pm

Send one of every color to me

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
      • Mukak tak semacam nama. Ini machem nak tipu ni….

• Where is the real Jho Low? Najib needs u

Pls show up and clear his name

• Why need clear his name when hes not guilty? Funny lah u.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
          • Andrew on Jul 02, 2018 at 8:09 am

john, you forgot to change your name. I think you just got kantoi.

Tupai akhirnya jatuh

• Sathia on Jul 02, 2018 at 9:14 am

ha ha ha. poor chap. changing dupes, finally forgot to change his dupe.

• Err nope. Im just replying on behalf of Faiz above. So whats the problem Andrew, or shud we say AlbertKunta?

• Najjb on Jun 30, 2018 at 12:19 am

Just bill all to me

• John May 9 Nangis on Jun 30, 2018 at 12:22 am

Sell your yacht, you can buy one in every colour….oh wai!

• sdfup on Jun 30, 2018 at 4:39 am

Many think the amount, RM2.9 million is actually more than RM2.6 billion.

• Cayman on Jun 30, 2018 at 2:45 am

You have to be careful if you have one of those in Malaysia as someones GT3 RS got wreck by some Proton recently. They think they have more than 700hp.

• Awang Selamat on Jun 30, 2018 at 10:07 am

Most Proton drivers think their car got 700bhp. Syiok sendiri

• onlyyou on Jun 30, 2018 at 9:34 pm

Only you claim it

• But most Mivi drivers think their car got 1000bhp. Lagi shioker sendri not knowing their cars r so unsafe.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
          • Awang Selamat on Jul 03, 2018 at 7:57 am

But they don’t dare to race with Porsche unlike Proton drivers.

• onlyyou on Jul 01, 2018 at 4:34 am

Only you clamed that

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
          • Awang Selamat on Jul 02, 2018 at 2:21 pm

What do you mean “clamed” that? I think you need to learn English from john.

• Are you forgetting the favorite car of tailgaters, the cucuk king Myvi? Nothing says syok sendiri more than seeing Myvi drivers tailgating and trying to race with Golf GTis.

• Andrew on Jul 02, 2018 at 8:10 am

Myvi is Malaysia’s best selling car. Enough said

• ohwai on Jul 02, 2018 at 3:58 pm

Latest one myvi and vios, both godcars raced with each other and got ending (accident)

Ohwai

• topkek on Jun 30, 2018 at 2:24 pm

Oh , why no count deaths by most popular p2? It has been vscless for a long time until Iriz came out

topkek

• Sathia on Jul 02, 2018 at 9:15 am

PErodua owned by UMW. UMW owned by Gomen. Previous Gomen rather see Malaysians have no safety.

Hopefully New Government not like previous gomen.

• Previous gov oso owned P1 when Iriz came out with top of the line safety. Ur logic taboleh pakai lor…

• heybadigol (Member) on Jun 29, 2018 at 8:40 pm

Honestly, if I had the money, i’d buy it. Considering that it may eventually appreciate in value in the long run, RM2.9 million is not too bad. That already includes duties too. Not a Langkawi price tag. Not so sure about getting the Weissach pack though. Unless one plans on tracking it, but it may affect resale value if you track it too much.

• No worries. Start menabung like Bapak and u will get ur Posh. Oh wai…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 10
    • One of a few cars in the world that you can sell a few years later and make a huge profit. But seriously, very few who own this car ever sells it.

• macan on Jun 30, 2018 at 2:26 pm

Basher syoik sendiri and cannot afford so can just sembang lebat and makes fake porsche keyfobs

• Unfortunately, even if you had the money, you won’t get one.

When the 959 came out many years ago, a rich Saudi ordered five in different colours. He got not a single one, as the customers for this limited cars are usually hand-picked from a loyal customer base.

Same goes for other manufacturers of this kind of cars: Ferrari, Bugatti, McLaren, etc. For the LaFerrari you had to file a purchase-application together with a huge sum of money.

• matt farrel on Jun 29, 2018 at 9:50 pm

Wait, i thought this car sold out dy

• heybadigol (Member) on Jul 01, 2018 at 9:46 am

According to some sources, these cars brought to Malaysia are for delivery to the customers. So all accounted for already. And quite a lot reached Malaysia. Not bad eh? Didn’t know there were that many petrolheads who appreciate good cars here. Hope they don’t end up as garage queen’s though.

• stastasta on Jul 06, 2018 at 10:00 am

i bet malaysian buyers are either sultans or (former) government cronies.

• A typical malaysian on Jun 29, 2018 at 11:35 pm

Good car TV very high, buy now RM2.9mil 6months later sell at RM4mil no problem.

• Yebwoy on Jun 29, 2018 at 11:39 pm

Finally a paultan post where the comments isnt just a bunch of morons insulting something they cant understand/afford

• Malaysia’s allocation for GT2 RS has all been taken up even before it was launched.

• Yang mahal on Jun 30, 2018 at 6:09 pm

Thanks to TUN M, we can buy this RM2.9 million with 0% GST

• Thanks to Bapak the rich gets subsidi while the poor gets poorer.

• Andrew on Jul 02, 2018 at 8:12 am

This is fake news. Old bapak caused us 1 trillion debt. This is worse.

• Previous tered, LGE himself came here to confirm true debts is at 687 Billion lor. So shud we belip LGE or fake news dupe?

• Andrew on Jul 02, 2018 at 9:03 pm

The LGE that came here is your fake dupe? Yeah, we should belip you.

• Donno on Jul 01, 2018 at 11:55 am

An early 90s Porsche 993 GT2 was recently sold for 2.4 million US dollars. Yes porsche GT2s are very collectible automobiles.

• Farhan on Jul 02, 2018 at 1:49 am

I’ve always been a fan of Porsche GT2, especially the RS like the 997.2 and this one.

But Lambo’s Hurácan Performante would be a serious threat for this.