Mitsubishi Outlander 2.4 – new Police Highway Eagles

The highway patrol for the Royal Malaysian Police (PDRM) has gained a new fleet. Highway concessionaire PLUS recently contributed 15 units of the Mitsubishi Outlander 2.4 to the force for the enforcement of traffic laws on the country’s highways, and the handover ceremony was conducted at Persada PLUS in Subang Jaya.

Contributed for use as Expressway Mobile Patrol Vehicles (EMPVs), the Outlanders will be known as Police Highway Eagles which will enhance efforts in enforcing traffic laws especially during festive seasons, said police inspector-general Tan Sri Mohamad Fuzi Harun.

“We are delighted to know that besides being one of the best safety-specced vehicles on the road, the Outlander meets every requirement of the PDRM to assist them with the enforcement of traffic laws on the highway,” said chief executive officer of Mitsubishi Motors Malaysia Tomoyuki Shinnishi.

“With the Outlander’s safety function, power and stability, we are confident that (it) will do its part in assisting our police force in eradicating traffic offences and eventually lower the risk of road accidents,” he added.

In a separate ceremony, the police force also acquired eight Mitsubishis consisting of the 2.4 litre Outlander and the Mitsubishi ASX, which were contributed by highway concessionaire ANIH Berhad. The contributions made by both highway concessions were valued at an estimated RM3 million, according to Mitsubishi.

This won’t be the first appearance of Highway Eagles, as such. The PDRM had previously pressed the Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution X into duty as Helang Lebuhraya Polis, which the police force at the time said will be deployed for high-speed chases, particularly in cases of carjacking and kidnapping. On that note, when was the last time you’ve seen a Malaysian Police Evo (not the movie)?

GALLERY: Mitsubishi Outlander 2.4 CKD

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• seancorr (Member) on Jul 25, 2018 at 12:17 pm

So this is the new Helang after the Evo? I think the STI models would be better suited for the task.

• John May 9 Nangis on Jul 25, 2018 at 1:09 pm

In overseas, police use BMWs. Some even have Lamborghinis.

Here, we have Outlander. Mana boleh kejar penjenayah?

In overseas, when polis and kastam rampas drug lord Lamborghini, they then use the car for official use like patrol cars.

In Malaysia, when polis or kastam confiscate Lamborghini, the car is then bought at a cheap price by Kastam officer.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 42
      • Same L00 on Jul 25, 2018 at 3:00 pm

Outlander has no problem chasing race-car-wannabe Waja/Saga/satria neo/persona.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 7
        • Our car prices are one of the highest in the world. Majority of crappy junk vehicles on Malaysian roads like Myvis and Axias with tiny engines only. LOL. Drive so fast, nowhere to go, masuk Longkang got la bro.

• viosfan on Jul 26, 2018 at 8:02 am

Race car wannabe is vios TRD

• Nowadays the wannabes are MyVis (Jazz wannabes) and Vivas since they have the largest sales volume and market share.

• 4G63T DSM on Jul 25, 2018 at 4:14 pm

Nothing can out run a Motorola.

• rightwinger on Jul 25, 2018 at 8:09 pm

cut cost, save money, let criminals run away better than catching them, less manpower needed. got 1 trillion to pay wor…

• You think high-speed chase follow racing rules, where all cars start at the same time and the car with more power rules? No, more than one police car will be involved and basically it’s a criminal car trying to get away up against a squad of coordinated police chase cars. BTW, those Lambos you mentioned used by other police forces? They are used for other reasons, such as the Italian police using their Lambo to deliver important donated organs to needy patients.

• #hatersgonnahate on Jul 25, 2018 at 9:25 pm

If PDRM really use Ferraris or Lamborghinis as patrol cars, I can guarantee at that time you will whine and bitch about how it is a waste of public money, police shouldn’t use such nice cars and bla bla bla. Haters gonna hate no matter what.

• seancorr (Member) on Jul 25, 2018 at 12:19 pm

I think our EVO X patrol cars are parked in some station rotting due to lack of maintenance like all the other patrol cars

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 8
    • Them EVOs were in service since 2009, so 9 years old performance cars clocking high mileage will certainly be costly to maintain and even those lalabeng EVOs dun clock as much mileage consistently. Replacing polis EVOs is thus understandable.

• Evo Lancers are known to be maintenance-intensive and parts are not cheap.

• policeman on Jul 25, 2018 at 12:25 pm

RIP Evo Helang

• Just saw the Outlander Police Highway Eagles on North South Highway heading north near Bemban area.. stopping a 3 tonne lorry loaded with durian. Hopefully they carry out duty efficiently and not asking for free durian la

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
    • Mikey on Jul 25, 2018 at 4:08 pm

If the Police is smart, they will not take/eat any durian bcoz the smell of gases from the front or back(fart) will be used as an evidence. He he he. Cheers

• Yes…. Civil defense should be given better cars and equipment to do their job… They should be well treated as well in oder to carry their task effectively…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
  • jinggo on Jul 25, 2018 at 12:47 pm

Haiyaa… why proton boyue so late? Got CEO chinaman also lazy.. see, mitsu won lorr..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 13
    • Habis la boyue

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 8
      • Shiraz on Jul 26, 2018 at 1:08 am

Selecting 2.4 outlander is a wrong choice for PDRM.

Only can catch or chase up Perodua Kancil and Axia .
        or perhaps those Japanese SUV with around 150 to 180 HP

While those high performance European premium SUVs from 200 HP to 450 HP I think Outlander better stay away cos it is OF no match . If persist, I GOT A FEELING that most Outlander will land themselves in workshops more often than be on the highway patrol duties.

Make me laugh when Malaysia PDRM selected Outlander for highway Patrol.

• P2 suv Mana?

• Patrol on Jul 25, 2018 at 12:58 pm

I can see many Inspira…..

• arowana on Jul 25, 2018 at 1:00 pm

wow.. just look at the tummy of our traffic officers..

• N this how MMM way of clearing aging stock, or dead stock…

• Kia forte 2010 owner on Jul 25, 2018 at 1:29 pm

Kia stinger better

• The police must be relieved now…. “better get an Outlander now before being forced to use the crappy Geely boyue”.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 15
  • 1 trillion on Jul 25, 2018 at 4:04 pm

uselah diesel powered vehicle. cheaper fuel and better mileage. PH we put you in Putrajaya to save more cash. pls research firstlah.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
    • Mr. Octopus on Jul 25, 2018 at 4:22 pm

U think PDRM use the car for Grab is it?

A police car needs to be fairly tough and fairly powerful for chases and pit maneuvers. A diesel engine, no matter how powerful does not give the right power modulation that the police needs. Only a petrol engine can do that for now.

• maseratista on Jul 25, 2018 at 4:39 pm

these are given by highway operator lah. what PH involvement in this?

• Machawai on Jul 25, 2018 at 5:47 pm

Dumbo, the cars were part of PLUSs’ contribution and not from PH’s pocket money

• PlaySafeDriveSafe on Jul 26, 2018 at 9:21 am

Governments in Europe are moving away from diesel, yet you want us to consume diesel? Hopefully MMM will bring the Outlander PHEV here.

• Yes, Diesel engines have lower maintenance and more durability too.

• Dale Ismail on Jul 25, 2018 at 4:34 pm

Please shed some light, is PLUS Highway actually a private road?

• transformer on Jul 25, 2018 at 8:48 pm

PDRM should train and certified these driver! don’t let them wrecked it!!! its tax payer money!

• Pekcek on Jul 25, 2018 at 9:45 pm

Its been months since i last saw the evo. Thanks for reminding us that the Evo still exist. Ingat dah jual dah

• Fareed on Jul 26, 2018 at 1:17 am

Ha..Ha.. Ha..

Outlander having the highest safety specs and performance
    Plain bull shit .

Can only chase a turtle in the making.

• i think pdrm really love mitsubishi

• Bobby on Jul 26, 2018 at 12:07 pm

Maybe one of top ranking officer or MP got good connection with Mitsubishi Malaysia sales division. You help me and I help you.

Not really they like Mitsubishi but had to accept as it is

Some officers also dream of better SUV than Mitsubishi but cannot push thru I suppose.

• Leonardo on Jul 26, 2018 at 10:00 am

This makes me wonder…is this Outlander a replacement model in lieu of the Evo X, which is almost extinct due to spare parts issue, presumably? And from the same company?