Decision on LPT3 to be announced in Budget 2019

A decision on whether or not to continue phase three of the East Coast Highway (LPT) connecting Kuala Terengganu to Pengkalan Kubur in Kelantan will be made soon, and the outcome will be announced in Budget 2019 this November, Bernama reports.

According to deputy works minister Mohd Anuar Mohd Tahir, the government was looking into whether the construction of the 147 km-long expressway – which was proposed during the 11th Malaysia Plan in 2015 – could be managed, taking into account the latest government finances.

“The previous government somehow postponed this programme as their consideration and focus had shifted to other (programmes). In the context of the new government, we will review whether what Barisan Nasional (formerly) did not do can be implemented now,” he said at the Dewan Rakyat in response to a question from Datuk Che Abdullah Mat Nawi of PAS on whether the government had intention to continue the construction of the LPT to Kelantan.

“Of course it is not easy, we do not have Aladdin’s lamp. We should see our capability, not only of the works ministry alone. It is not that we are not sympathetic, we need to get the views from the cabinet and other ministries,” he added.

Meanwhile, Datuk Tuan Ibrahim Tuan Man, also of PAS, asked if the government had plans to abolish the toll that was causing congestion at the LPT, especially between Karak and Bentong. Mohd Anuar replied that the government was giving attention to the matter. “We take note of this because the government is in the process of structural removal of the toll as I have mentioned all this while. It will happen when the time permits,” he explained.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• John May 9 Nangis on Aug 08, 2018 at 10:38 am

Better to postpone it cause we got lots of debts caused due to previous heavy duty corruption.

Like LRT3 from RM9 billion can lompat to RM32 billion.

This LPT3 sure can reduce to 1/4

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 32
    • M.Hamzah on Aug 08, 2018 at 11:51 am

This article is talking about LPT3 not LRT3. Stick to the topic, otherwise follow the golden rule if you have nothing better to say.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 6
  • Khairul Izam on Aug 08, 2018 at 10:45 am

Asal jangan tol, sudah.

• punishment for non PH believers on Aug 08, 2018 at 10:55 am

Wow…i guess this is the punishment for east coast states for not voting for the PH govt. Quite unfair and sad for the people living there.

But i guess the govt is still continuing with the central spine road across pahang and into kelantan. If they cancel this too then its a full blown revenge to the east coast voter by the PH govt.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 9
    • 12yrsold on Aug 08, 2018 at 12:21 pm

But but – “The previous Gomen also postponed this programme too wo.” So who should we blame ?!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 8
      • Someone says; dun look to the past, must see the now. So now its New Gov that gets blamed lor.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
        • 12yrsold on Aug 08, 2018 at 2:50 pm

But someone also say – You must look at the past B4 we can see the FUTURE as a guideline.

• The previous gomen postpone only, but never scrap the proposal.

• 12yrsold on Aug 08, 2018 at 3:17 pm

The chance was given. Just too bad they didn’t “Just Do It” – The Nike Way.

• But still postpone which is not equal to cancel..

• RM1.50/L petrol mana? on Aug 08, 2018 at 3:14 pm

Postponed ≠ Cancel

• Rakyat Malaysia on Aug 08, 2018 at 12:51 pm

Like the oil royalties as well.

• Alson P on Aug 08, 2018 at 8:16 pm

Just continue LPT3 project.. No need postpone project for rakyat (public).. LPT3 without toll / non-toll as pakatan harapan manifesto.. Pan Borneo highway project without toll as good example.. Without toll

• Ahmadjr on Aug 09, 2018 at 6:24 pm

Wajib kena tol kalau highway ni. Kalau takde, jadi macam r&r gua musang dan jalan merapoh. Penuh taik dan sampah sarap buang merata. Kalau ada konsesi tol adalah pekerja hari2 bersihkan. Orang kelantan ni pengotor