RapidKL issues apology for bus rampage in Ampang

RapidKL operator Prasarana Malaysia Berhad has issued a public apology with regards to the ghastly incident which took place at 8 pm in Ampang last night. The event, which was recorded on a mobile phone device, showed a RapidKL bus driver bulldozing through rush hour traffic, apparently damaging in excess of 20 vehicles. It’s almost like a scene from a movie, except it isn’t.

RapidKL head of operations, Shamsul Rizal Mohd Yusof said his team is still in the process of investigating the incident. He said the bus was operating on Route 221 from Datuk Keramat to Ampang Point when things went awry. Fortunately, no casualties have been reported thus far.

“The bus captain (driver) has been serving for two years and he has a good service record. The cause of the accident is still unknown, however we wish to apologise to the public for causing this incident,” explained Shamsul at a press conference in Cheras earlier today. He said the 32-year-old driver is currently receiving treatment at an undisclosed hospital in Ampang.

“We will fully cooperate with the authorities in their investigations,” noted Shamsul, and he requests that the public form no speculations regarding the incident. When asked on the number of passengers that were in the bus during the harrowing ordeal, Shamsul said the figure is not yet known.

“We have yet to receive factual information, whether there were any passengers on board the bus. We have to inspect the vehicle, but so far we have not been given access to it,” he added. Shamsul also urged the public to call the RapidKL hotline (03-78852585) for further queries.

Matthew H Tong

An ardent believer that fun cars need not be fast and fast cars may not always be fun. Matt advocates the purity and simplicity of manually swapping cogs while coping in silence of its impending doom. Matt's not hot. Never hot.

• tkhengong on Aug 17, 2018 at 2:09 pm

Rapid Penang drivers are nowadays also very aggressive. Driving into the traffic flow from bus stops without a care. Signal and they drive out.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
    • Oh mak lu on Aug 17, 2018 at 3:09 pm

Moral of the story: Dont put an incompetent into driver seat like our previous administration.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 27
      • In previous administration, we din have such cases with Rapid drivers. Only in New Gov have this issue. Indeed, really incompetent driver in current seat.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 49
        • John May 9 Nangis on Aug 17, 2018 at 4:09 pm

Rapid drivers are unruly. They are always cutting lane and pushing their way into lanes without signaling

This is attitude problem. The drivers think they own the country. A mindset needs to be changed.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 8
          • Rightwinger on Aug 17, 2018 at 9:16 pm

That’s because kiasu taukehs, ah bengs and ah Lian’s drive like egomaniacs, with no manners- never give way to public buses expect everyone else to give way to them bciz over inlflated ego and god complex.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
          • Banglaman on Aug 18, 2018 at 1:55 pm

Datuk Keramat to Ampang so congested. Residents there shud ride empty RapidKL.

• Kadir Salleh on Aug 17, 2018 at 4:18 pm

Another fake news. Past 30 years so many bus accidents. Thousands of people have died.

Come on john, enough of fake news please. This is like telling us we have the cheapest petrol in the world. Enough lies

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 12
          • Ya ya. Like that fake new you peddle when you told us that Ertiga was sold in Japan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
        • Dear John, please grow up on Aug 17, 2018 at 7:38 pm

John, this particular driver was high on drugs.

Are you going to blame the current government for it?

Please don’t politicise every single thing under the sky

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 8
          • Albert's Fake News Pvt Ltd on Aug 17, 2018 at 8:03 pm

Is it now? Can please point out in the news article above where did it mention the driver was on drugs?
            And if you want to know who politicise this thing, don’t look at John. See the one above him.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
        • iaana on Aug 18, 2018 at 12:26 pm

Don’t see that this directly a government issue. Is more of attitude of today’s driver. Even a lot of car drivers are like that zip in and out during traffic jam thinking the grass on the other side is always greener.

• Modal on Aug 17, 2018 at 3:43 pm

The Real Moral of the Story: Please don’t replace a competent driver with an incompetent driver like our current administration

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 4
      • John May 9 Nangis on Aug 17, 2018 at 4:11 pm

The drivers are the same type in Putrajaya where they think they can get away with anything.

Or they think everything can maaf maaf. This is why our Civil service also got substandard service. All have tidak apa attitude.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
        • Lets See on Aug 18, 2018 at 9:32 am

This is a car site. It is not a Putrajaya or civil service site. You want to talk about Putrajaya or civil service you go to that site.

Here we talk about cars (& motors).

• stastasta on Aug 20, 2018 at 11:02 am

rapid KL is a government linked company. so the political comment is partially relevant.

• arowana on Aug 17, 2018 at 2:10 pm

i pity those victims’ cars kenak ram.. so Prasarana gonna fully compensate all these victims? they better be..

• Insurance will compensate.

• mabuketum on Aug 17, 2018 at 3:23 pm

Cause & effect.

• Kadir Salleh on Aug 17, 2018 at 4:31 pm

john please use your brain and talk. Insurance cannot compensate for the hurt caused.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 11
        • Stop bollocking. Insurance can be claimed for loss of use. And nobody died or seriously injured. Pls use ur brain and talk.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
      • John May 9 Nangis on Aug 17, 2018 at 4:34 pm

Rapid KL is the same like Putrajaya….just give jobs irrespective whether the person is capable or competent. This is why we have the largest civil service int he world at 1.6 million civil servants.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
      • I hope 1 day john or his family will be in the bus with these kind of bus driver, then only he will only feel the pain.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
        • I ride Rapid bus on days when Im not using my car, and I can tell that Rapid drivers r much much better manners than 99% of other road users. Most dun gip way when bus wanna demerge/ merge into lanes, and so many misuse bus lanes and dun gip a fak when bus drivers horn them to get out. I & my famili feel much safer in a Rapid bus than besides these maniac road users.

• Ben Yap on Aug 17, 2018 at 2:12 pm

reminds me of those days video game, Need For Speed, where players can race with a bus.

• Lanjiao on Aug 17, 2018 at 2:49 pm

You siao ah? Since when NFS can race with bus.

• have u played grand thief auto?

• v-tec fan on Aug 17, 2018 at 3:43 pm

you mean GTA is it??

• John May 9 Nangis on Aug 17, 2018 at 4:12 pm

remember the Inter city busses….half of them were on drugs before.

Same type of people who believe in bantuan and not interested in improving their lives and getting out of drugs

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 15
      • Isobel Chin on Aug 17, 2018 at 4:37 pm

Why you discriminate against drug users? They really do need help to kick that addiction and now you look down on them for asking help. Real heartless person.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
        • Dear John, please grow up on Aug 17, 2018 at 9:04 pm

in what capacity do you say this? Could u please explain how u suggest helping them

• Isobel Chin on Aug 18, 2018 at 11:52 am

Why do you use a different name just to backup your heartless comment above?
            We can help them by giving them medical & moral support and not to ostricise them like what you just did.

• anti-john on Aug 20, 2018 at 1:56 pm

you use big words like ostricise, i just worried john cannot comprehend and start retaliating like the clown he is…

• Edwin L on Aug 17, 2018 at 7:54 pm

Woah! Real heartless dude. Drug abuse is just a symptom of modern society’s disease. They need help and blaming them just makes them sink even deeper. Is this how society have become, uncaring and cruel?

• Dear John, please grow up on Aug 17, 2018 at 9:07 pm

Another Good Samaritan to the rescue of druggies… so what do you plan to do for them? If u really worked with them , treated them then talk, if not don’t just pass such comments

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
        • Rightwinger on Aug 17, 2018 at 9:28 pm

Yes! Decriminalise drug usage but not dug trafficking, like what Portugal did. It’s a health issue

• This is the same guy who tells the disabled, the old, the sick, and the infirm to walk longer distances to get to their transports becoz “its gud for them”.

• Yusof on Aug 17, 2018 at 4:30 pm

Most human beings get up 6am or 7 am. When you get up 4.30 am, this what happens. Lack of sleep.

Bus drivers should get up 6am or 7 am and get a good nigh’s sleep

• azrai on Aug 17, 2018 at 2:25 pm

I put half of the blame to the menacing rempit guys. If you are in the driver’s shoe. You will surely be panicked chased by hooligans after the first accident. Even the driver being beaten up and ended in hospital now. The Rapid driver has 24 hours to lodge a report in any traffic police station. Guys, we in Malaysia and we have law. There’s rule of law.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 5
    • Rush hour traffic where got rempit dude. Pls show where u got that story from.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 35
      • u tak tgk orang share kat facebook ke ? driver tu kena kejar, memang la dia lari.

• kl fella on Aug 17, 2018 at 3:44 pm

john, you should be the one who needs to read more.. a lot of news about this.. after the first incident the bus was being chased by the keramat locals on bikes.. if you were the driver i bet you’ll be pissing off your pants.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
        • PJ fella on Aug 17, 2018 at 3:54 pm

That was what as ALLEGED by the driver. We don’t know. It certainly wasn’t mentioned in this article, so take what was said on social media with heaps of salt. John was correct to indicate that nothing in this incident have been proven yet.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 7
          • hondaman on Aug 17, 2018 at 4:50 pm

Driver already half dead & can’t talk… how can he alleged? Those so called allegation was from reliable eyewitness & that flat area is a well known gangsta paradise

• jamal on Aug 17, 2018 at 7:42 pm

Betui. my gang live that flat area.

• Bruno Mars on Aug 18, 2018 at 3:57 pm

PJ fella was spot on! To many FBookers that trusted unverified fake news!

• Bruno Mars on Aug 18, 2018 at 3:54 pm

It was reported in TheStar that the motorcyclists were chasing the bus AFTER the incident had begun, and that they were trying to warn others of the danger coming. Again Malaysians jump to conclusions, no thanks to FB, and blamed innocent parties yet again. John was right about that, so are you ignorants going to apologise to him?

• Kadir Salleh on Aug 17, 2018 at 4:16 pm

john as usual gives fake news. No substance. 3 years giving us fake news, PT readers are fed up

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 10
        • Bruno Mars on Aug 18, 2018 at 3:55 pm

TheStar report today backed up John’s stand about this. Clearly we can see who is telling the truth and it’s not you.

• EL SABAH EL YAH on Aug 17, 2018 at 2:39 pm

LOL Spooky events happen on the month of seven lunar, unintentionally offended the road side passing spirits maybe?

• Zoro Astro on Aug 17, 2018 at 4:01 pm

Simple solution for the bus driver can claimed he is disturbed by devil or possessed by demon, perform a cleansing ritual by oostas then closed case.

• azrai on Aug 17, 2018 at 6:36 pm

He can say he hear voices at the burger stall..maybe hantu kak limah one..

• The burger stall is on the road, a busy one at that….everyone involved is guilty of something , unfortunately, even recording while riding a motorcycle and speeding and chasing the bus

• Rapid KL drivers are driving in dangerous and rude on road not the first time, i have encountered few times almost knock my car. They driving in Fast speed and just stop on the road in sudden without signal light. The drivers attitude really is a main concern!

• another F1 driver wannabe on the road…

bet when he usually drives his own car, he like to stick very close to the rear bumper of the car in front

• Chai KL1 on Aug 17, 2018 at 11:43 pm

The RAPID KL drivers attitude need to be changed and not to follow any cars too close, especially during the time of heavy traffic.Keep some distance if possible, just to avoid any unwanted matter to be happened.